Cogeco HD Channels using Built in ATSC/QAM Tuner - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-05, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario
Posts: 295
Do you have TVGOS? I was able to map all the channels to the appropriate channel in TVGOS making it seamless.
Kevin S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-05, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1234Aquos4321 View Post
I guess it's different in Milton than in Oakville....

It's just frustrating to scan through all the digital channels and not knowing what channel you are viewing...

Anyone have a complete channel list for straight COAX into the TV tuner for Oakville? Thanks in advance.
1234Aquos4321,

I agree - it can be a pain since you don't have the option to label the DTV channels like you can for analog channels (at least not on the Samsung). That's why I decided to keep this as an Excel file in case I have to reprogram.
Also, I don't know about your Sharp, but the Samsung when you perform auto-scan it picks up about 500 channels, most of them are blank (probably the DCR tuner picks up the subcarrier signal, but the channel is encrypted) so you have to filter the channel list manually after the auto-scan and remove the blanks from memory, which can be a daunting task )

All in all it's not too bad, and while the SD channels are not as good as HD, some of them are significantly better than analog, probably due to different Mpeg-2 compression ratios. I'm definitely happy with the DCR/QAM option, which is rather rare from what I saw.

Rogers is coming to Milton, probably Oakville too, so it's a good thing, Cogeco's monopol is almost over )

Good luck with the channel list.

C.
coleus is offline  
post #18 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-06, 01:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Hi Kevin, what is a TVGOS?

Coleus, I guess I can go through all the channels and remove the blank channels, but this will defintely be a tideous task. thanks for your help guys
1234Aquos4321 is offline  
 
post #19 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-06, 08:20 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario
Posts: 295
TVGOS is TV Guide On Screen - a built in program on some TVs. www.tvgos.com for more info.

Basically I scanned for digital channels, went through and wiped out the blank ones and attached the channels to their corresponding logos in the TVGOS menu and now I get all proper programming info and select the channel though the TVGOS - I don't know or need to know that a particular channel is now84-273 instead of 31 for example. A bit of work to initially set up, but well worth it.

I agree, having to flip through them manually would be painful since the channel #'s are all screwy.

Last edited by Kevin S; 2007-02-06 at 08:29 AM.
Kevin S is offline  
post #20 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-06, 08:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oakville, Cogeco
Posts: 3,211
Would Rogers really operate somewhere where Cogeco was operating?
asif9t9 is offline  
post #21 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-19, 09:05 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 162
Roger's will not be coming to a Cogeco service area. Sometimes I read some really funny stuff up here

Any opinon expressed are my own and should be viewed as such
Bucknet is offline  
post #22 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-02-24, 11:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgeway, Ontario
Posts: 295
I got a Cogeco flyer today with the channel listing which enabled me to find/label the music channels as seen below:

Music Channels

Genre / Channel / Channel No.
Rock / Gold Rock / 98-311
Rock / The Edge / 79-314
Rock / Rock / 79-312
Rock / Adult Alternative / 62-315
Country / Country Classics / 69-320
Country / Franco Country / 65-321
Country / CMT / 69-319
Pop Hits / Dance / 98-303
Pop Hits / Pop Adult / 62-301
Pop Hits / The Light / 66-326
Pop Hits / Hit List / 63-302
Pop Hits / Max Trax Party / 69-305
Pop Hits / The Beat / 98-306
Pop Hits / Franco Relax / 66-307
Pop Hits / Top Détente / 84-325
Pop Hits / Franco Energie / 84-324
Pop Decades / Memories / 80-336
Pop Decades / Swingin' Standards / 76-337
Pop Decades / Rock and Roll / 79-308
Pop Decades / Flashback '70s / 63-309
Pop Decades / The '80s / 62-310
Pop Decades / Souvenirs / 65-322
Pop Decades / Nostalgie / 64-323
Jazz Blues / Jazz Masters / 64-335
Jazz Blues / Jazz Now / 64-334
Jazz Blues / Blues' Street / 66-316
Jazz Blues / Jazz Café / 69-333
Classical / Pop Classics / 65-328
Classical / Baroque / 81-330
Classical / Chamber Music / 91-329
Classical / Masterworks / 76-331
Specialty / Ambient / 62-304
Specialty / World / 81-332
Specialty / Jammin' / 63-317
Specialty / Folk Roots / 81-318
Specialty / Nature / 79-338
Specialty / The Spa / 84-327
Specialty / Treehouse / 76-340
Specialty / Mousses Musique / 80-339
Specialty / Musique Bout'choux / 80-313

Last edited by Kevin S; 2007-02-24 at 11:45 PM.
Kevin S is offline  
post #23 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-04-02, 12:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 13
It's been a few weeks, and there are new channels added to Cogeco's lineup.

Does anyone have a list of the Cogeco channels frequency assignments?

I've seen the list from the person in Milton, but it doesn't correspond with what we get in Oakville.
FiguredMaple is offline  
post #24 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-07-09, 12:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
I've done a scan of qam channels with my Sanyo DP50747, and saw cogeco has started to increase the number of free qam channels in my area (around 48 tv channels) which is kinda nice. i love the free hdnet & discovery hd... but i've noticed two things though, most of A&E HD shows are window boxed (effectively 480p?), is this what everyone else gets? Also a lot of the qam SD channels are also not quite as clear as their analog counterparts, is that everyone else's experience?
jmdsdf is offline  
post #25 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-09-03, 11:04 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario,Canada Cogeco Cable St.Kitts, LG 42PB4D
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Hi I'm new here ....

Sorry for the reply title, I have just purchased a new hdtv this one http://ca.lge.com/en/products/model/...v_42pb4d.jhtml
and I have taken advantage of the cogeco offer in my area(St.Catharines). I noticed that without the rental box I'm getting all the channels Kevin S has posted here thanks for that list. The question I have here is since my new set has a built in DVR when I use the rental HD box I cannot set my DVR to record from the TVGOS since my set is now on channel 3 and cannot watch TV without the cable box on. I have the 6200 unit from Cogeco. I don't think an A B switch would work.

Any tips would be great.

InCaRnAtE is offline  
post #26 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-09-18, 11:16 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Sound

I am getting plenty of the QAM channels through my Sony HDTV from cogeco. But there are 2 or 3 that have no sound but perfect HD picture. Is there anyway to get this sound? I believe when I had the tv do a scan it came up with 50 analog and over 100 digital channels. All but a few have the sound. Of course the one I want the most Fox Sports for the baseball games has great picture but no audio.
Any help appreciated.

Thank You
jgravel is offline  
post #27 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-09-19, 01:25 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 74
I've been configuring MythTV for the available QAM channels via the HDHomeRun. My Cogeco cable results for (East) Oakville are:

Code:
Cable	Sub	XMLTV	Call Sign	Station Name
78	057	10125	 'CITY'	 'CITY'
78	059	11182	 'TSN'	 'The Sports Network'
78	070	17615	 'NEWSNET'	 'Newsnet'
79	004	10105	 'CFMT'	 'CFMT (OMNI 1)'
79	008	34227	 'CKXT'	 'CKXT - Sun TV'
79	029	31558	 'CJMT'	 'CJMT - Omni2 Television'
79	030	10170	 'CWEA'	 'Weather Network (CWEA)'
80	003	10130	 'CIII'	 'CIII (Global - Ontario)'
80	005	10124	 'CITV'	 'CITV (Global - Edmonton)'
80	006	10091	 'CBLT'	 'CBLT - CBC Toronto'
80	007	10125	 'CITY'	 'CITY'
80	009	10108	 'CFTO'	 'CFTO'
80	010	10112	 'CHCH'	 'CHCH (Global - Hamilton)'
80	013	10128	 'CKCO'	 'CKCO'
80	024	11953	 'WUTV'	 'WUTV'
80	031	11709	 'WNED'	 'WNED'
82	025	10135	 'CKVR'	 'CKVR - A Channel Barrie/Toronto'
82	028	10094	 'CBNEW'	 'CBC Newsworld'
82	073	17639	 'TREEC'	 'Treehouse TV'
83	002	10119	 'CICA'	 'TV Ontario (CICA)'
83	075	17610	 'OLCC'	 'Outdoor Life Network Canada'
84	090	24525	 'FOODC'	 'Food Network Canada'
88	095	10106	 'CFPL'	 'CFPL - A Channel London'
90	094	18808	 'MOMUSIC'	 'Muchmore Music'
92	171	26783	 'DISCH'	 'Discovery Health Network Canada'
102	274	54356	 'HDNTCAN'	 'HDNET Canada'
102	289	44794	 'TDCHD'	 'Discovery Canada HD'
105	098	16557	 'WNYO'	 'WNYO'
111	273	51529	 'AETVHD'	 'AETVHD'
Hope this helps...

Craig
PVR4Me is offline  
post #28 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-09-20, 10:59 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 30
I guess I can safely get one of those TiVo HD units and use it to record OTA HD via ATSC and Clear QAM too. I'm in North Oakville (Glen Abbey).

Oakville, ON - Cogeco Digital Cable and Internet
gmark2000 is offline  
post #29 of 149 (permalink) Old 2007-09-20, 11:25 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
I'd recommend reading this article before buying a Tivo HD unit to use in Canada.

http://daledietrich.com/imedia/2006/...s-3-in-canada/

Rick
rickyb is offline  
post #30 of 149 (permalink) Old 2008-09-03, 05:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 100
Clear QAM Channels in Kingston?

So I just picked up an HVR-1600 for my Cogeco connection, and I was just wondering if anyone knows what clear QAM channels are available through cogeco. The card seems to be picking up signals but they all say "locked" so I can't get anything. I was reading around before trying this and lots of ppl said that there were lots of clear QAM channels on Cogeco, so just wondering if I'm doing something wrong, or if they encrypted their signals?


Thanks
240SX is offline  
Reply

Tags
2013 , cogeco , dtv tuner , hd channels , qam channels

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome