CBC - Random White Dots On Screen - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
CBC - Random White Dots On Screen

Bought new 65" TV. Works great. I just noticed that on CBC channel (PVR recording ...and Live), I have little random white dots that flash on and off on the screen. I'm using a Pace PVR which I have never had a problem with. All other channels work fine. My satellite and Antenna signals are fine. Just CBC using Cogeco.

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 11:35 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Where exactly on the screen? Can you post a photo?



stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 11:38 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,325
Dots or squares?
denben73 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 06:25 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
All over the screen (maybe a dozen or so at any given time...random locations....quite small ,1 pix ?), flashing on and off every second or two. Dots not squares.I'll post a photo shortly

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 07:59 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
The photo is not very clear (phone camera), but I have circled the few dots you can see.This is just a small portion of the 65" TV you see (probably 10%)so there are several other dots other than what you see flashing on and off. I also checked the Cogeco Pace RNG-200N diagnostics page and have the following results.
On Tuner 1B1 - Channel 702 - the Signal Level is 4.2
The In Band Status - SNR - 39.1 Good
The 00B Status - SNR = 24.0 Good
I also tried the same CBC station on my antenna and there are no issues.
[IMG][/IMG]

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 08:56 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
It is most likely a low quality or defective video cable.

http://www.cnet.com/news/why-all-hdm...-are-the-same/
Jake is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 09:49 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,325
You're not alone...



I thought I'd check it out this morning. I'm seeing the same thing too. It must be something in the way they are processing the signal. I won't dare bring this up to Cogeco. I could see boxes getting changed for something wrong on their end.

I have a 50" TV and it is more noticable if you look for it. Pausing and going ahead frame by frame makes it more obvious.

Last edited by denben73; 2015-05-20 at 09:53 AM. Reason: Wrong TV size
denben73 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 11:43 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
Thanks denben...its good to know that its not just me (sorry its you also ).
Jake..I dont think its the cable because wouldn't that affect all the stations (not just CBC).Just curious if any other Cogeco users (in other areas other than Windsor) are having this issue with CBC. Thanks

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 959
I have Cogeco here in Peterborough and watch channel 702 (CHEX HD) a lot and haven't seen that problem. You should give Cogeco a call; after all, you are paying for the service. I assume what you're describing is not pixelation which can occur if the signal is over-compressed. I'll see that a lot on the Super Sport Pack channels, but I don't think that's Cogeco's problem.
waterug is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 08:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
weehaggis you are right. I did not read carefully your post.
Jake is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
CHEX is not CBC....its CTV, right ?

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 10:47 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
CHEX is currently a CBC affiliate but this is about to change:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...21#post2513521

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-22, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 56
I hope this means that Cogeco will finally let Cobourg subscribers watch CBLT-HD from Toronto on 702 rather than having to suffer CHEX local programming and infomercials outside of prime time.
martins is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-22, 04:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,830
The downside may be that the Toronto CTV feed will be replaced with CHEX or be simsubbed with CHEX.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 2015-05-22, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 246
i dont want to appear like a stickler for the rules guys.....but there is a wee bit of hijacking going on

LG-42PC5D,Antennas Direct DB8,CM0068C Preamp,CM9512A Rotor,CM 9537 Remote Control ,Tii - Gas Surge Arrestor
weehaggis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome