Eastlink Programming and Packages Discussion - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 10:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 940
That is not good news, ran94, and I am sure it will only be a matter of time until the caps are introduced to Halifax. I wonder if the caps will also apply to the lowest tier Internet package?

With Bell Aliant in my area offering faster internet speeds and no caps, I wonder if I should not have said "no" when the Bell Aliant rep was going door to door the other day? He was quite horrified when I told him what I was paying for my bundle, over $300, with the channels that I subscribe to.
David1953 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 11:46 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,634
http://www.deltacable.com/internetusage.aspx

Additional Monthly Internet Usage at 20¢ per GB, up to a maximum of:
$10 for Bundled Video customers
$30 for Telephone and Internet & Internet Only Customers

High Speed Internet Edge 150 GB
High Speed Internet Evolution 250 GB
High Speed Internet Eclipse 400 GB
High Speed Internet Ultimate 400 GB
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #63 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 03:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 940
Not good news at all, Dr. Dave, and thank you for your information.

I watch anywhere between 1-2 hours of Netflix on most days, HD streaming. I wonder how quickly that would use up the planned 150 GB cap for the Edge tier?

At least there is a maximum overuse charge in bundles, but that still means an increase of $10 per month depending on usage.
David1953 is offline  
 
post #64 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,325
When I was an Eastlink customer in Timmins, we always had caps on bandwidth except for the 20Mb package regardless if it was bundled or not. It was 250GB/month. According to their page, none of that has changed for ON yet.

We also had a lower upload speed for the 40mb service. Apparently 1s and 0s are more expensive in Ontario.

$10 extra a month max is pretty darn good really. Better than getting a bill with a $200 overage charge, as an example.
denben73 is online now  
post #65 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by David1953 View Post
I watch anywhere between 1-2 hours of Netflix on most days, HD streaming. I wonder how quickly that would use up the planned 150 GB cap for the Edge tier?
NetFlix usually streams around 3-4 Mbps (for HD). So 150 GB would allow for about 80-100 hours. (rough numbers)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #66 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-06, 07:48 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Delta, BC
Posts: 88
Anyone know about PC Gaming/Streaming? What type of usage am I looking at? I have the 40Mps unlimited package bundled with my TV services. Wonder if 250 GB is enough with the kids gaming and streaming.

Currently paying $132 after taxes for 4 TV outlets and 1 Internet outlet.
ran94 is offline  
post #67 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-07, 01:55 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by David1953 View Post
Not good news at all, Dr. Dave, and thank you for your information.

I watch anywhere between 1-2 hours of Netflix on most days, HD streaming. I wonder how quickly that would use up the planned 150 GB cap for the Edge tier?
Here is the info from the Netflix FAQ based on the Playback settings in the Your Profile section of your Netflix account:
Quote:
Low (0.3 GB per hour)
Medium (SD: 0.7 GB per hour)
High (best video quality, up to 3 GB per hour for HD, 7 GB per hour for Ultra HD)
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #68 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-31, 05:57 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 50
Eastlink HD Question

I was looking on the Eastlink website and no where could I find the price for their HD channels.

Does anyone know what it cost to get Eastlink HD.

For Halifax.

Thanks
Ellery is offline  
post #69 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-31, 06:43 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,325
I believe as long as you have an HD-capable receiver, you get the HD channels that correspond to your package/subbed channels. I know that is how it is if you are bundled with another service. I'd recommend calling, it's possible you might be eligible for a deal or such by upgrading to HD.
denben73 is online now  
post #70 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-03-31, 07:48 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Nova Scotia *Eastlink HD DVR (Motorola 6416 III)
Posts: 938
You have to call them and "upgrade" your package even if its to one you already have. Eg. "Variety Choice" upgrades to "Variety Choice with HD" as anything going forward automatically includes HD channels

It will cost you 10 bucks more a month, so beware...

RCA 26" HDTV - (ATSC/QAM Tuner) - 720p/1080i
leaffan1967 is offline  
post #71 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 09:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Halifax (Motorola HD DVR DCX3400-M/DCX700M 50" Plasma)
Posts: 694
Just got yet another notice of another price increase in services.They really like to gouge us subs dont they..

Once you go Plasma you will never go back.
jimbo42 is offline  
post #72 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-07-01, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 940
Ah, yes, par for the course, jimbo42.

Also, could it be my imagination, but has Eastlink internet become less reliable lately? (More buffering while watching Netflix during the past month, etc., etc.)
David1953 is offline  
post #73 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 05:01 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 920
David1953: it is not your imagination. I've been seeing the same thing. At first I though it was my Wifi, but then I noticed it happening on my (wired) desktop too.

Jimbo42: This is why I keep paring back my Eastlink services. I cut cable TV two years ago and haven't missed it. I switched my home phone to a Voip provider last month so now I just have internet. When I cut the phone they called me to ask why and my answer was $$$$$. I said that I wasn't switching internet yet, but was considering it. They then offered me a good discount for the next 6 months which I gladly accepted. When the 6 months are up I may still switch. I don't want to have to threaten to move every 6 months just to get a reasonable price for service.
smallmj is online now  
post #74 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 05:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 940
I'm relieved to know that it's not just me noticing this, smallmj. I like Eastlink as a company in general, but those steady speed increases over at Aliant FibreOp keep tempting me. I believe that they're at 300/30 now in their best bundle, or something similar.
David1953 is offline  
post #75 of 84 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 920
The trucks were here last month to run fibreop cabling in my town, so it is may soon become a viable option. Unfortunately I have had so many atrocious dealings with Aliant over the years that I am leery of even signing up for any of their services. The options that I was considering were Netfox (great reviews at $57) and City Wide (terrible customer service reviews but $48).

I've always found Eastlink to be a great company, but those price hikes are out of hand.
smallmj is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome