Eastlink Programming and Packages Discussion - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 85 (permalink) Old 2013-10-05, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,329
I'm just guessing but it may have been migrated to digital only. Do you have any digital boxes and if so does it show there?
denben73 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 85 (permalink) Old 2013-10-05, 06:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 949
TV5 is still on channel 20 in Halifax, as part of the Value Pak. It is a discretionary channel here, but anyone who has full cable would get it.
David1953 is online now  
post #33 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-02-04, 10:45 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 158
Bundle pricing

Hi Folks,

My deal with BA will soon be up and I expect they will not extend my discounts.
i therefore might be calling Eastlink.

Can I get some feedback on bundle pricing . Are others doing better then the website pricing. Are they offering $99 FOR 2 or 3 years like BA is in NB and NF. Is anyone seeing pricing like that in NS?
maritimer555 is offline  
 
post #34 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-02-04, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
No, they don't do contracts and they don't do 2 and 3 year bundles.
capersx2 is offline  
post #35 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-09, 06:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Billing

I'm thinking of switching to Eastlink.

Can anyone tell me if eastlink requires that you pay for each month in advance?
bloated is offline  
post #36 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-09, 06:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 949
Eastlink does require payment of each month in advance, but as far as I know, that is the situation with all cable and satellite companies in Canada. Eastlink does not require a contract, though.
David1953 is online now  
post #37 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-27, 06:25 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Springhill, NS
Posts: 68
I noticed on Eastlink's website that the Home Essentials package is gone. The cheapest option in the bundles is now Home Essentials HD. So therefore they are forcing new customers to pay the $12.95 for HD channels. I wonder if they will tell us we need to upgrade or if we are grandfathered in with this package. With their quirky Maestro DVR and not so great service I am thinking of switching to Bell FibreOP which just rolled out in our town.

Haier L40F1180, Bell Aliant FibreOP PVR w/ 2 Wireless receivers, PS3, Wii, Galaxy S4
Anubis is offline  
post #38 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-28, 07:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bridgewater, NS
Posts: 97
I was just looking at that and I see that under the tv section it says 65 HD channels included, access to over 170 in total. I subscribe to the Home Essentials HD pkg so I can't check but I don't think there were ever 65 HD channels included. I'm pretty sure I'm paying extra for most of those.
eastcoast gal is offline  
post #39 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-28, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,329
Even when I switch my locale to anywhere in N.S. I don't see any of this.

EastLink has been WAY too quiet on many things lately. I'm worried it means they are looking to grab the money and run (AKA sell).

They say on their site in the HD area of the TV section that they add more HD every month....yeah....we'd had nothing new since December and still no sign of anything else coming.

They need to up the internet speeds especially the upload speeds. Bell is wiping them away with that.
denben73 is online now  
post #40 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-28, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Posts: 40
I don't think we've gotten anything new in The South Shore since last April? We're still waiting for The Weather Network in HD, Halifax has had it for a while now.
meldome is offline  
post #41 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-29, 04:31 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 949
Ah, yes, denben73, Eastlink has been very quiet lately, and are simply not as aggressive about adding new channels lately as they used to be.. Normally, they would be one of the first to offer the new FXX channel, but so far, nothing. Also, as you say, BA is wiping the floor with them as far as internet speeds go. BA's introductory level internet speed offered with their bundles is 4 times as fast as Eastlink!s, and I know that BA is playing catch up as far as HD content goes.

Eadtlink still continues to increase prices every year, though.
David1953 is online now  
post #42 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-29, 07:54 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Windsor, ON
Posts: 1,329
To be fair though, FXX may show up on Tuesday for us. However you know Eastlink, mum is the word on ANYTHING new always.

They say this is for competitive reasons. Really though? Everyone else announces new stuff even if it is only a few days before. Wouldn't that maybe help a few customers towards if they knew a certain service was coming just as they sub or very shortly thereafter?

Anyways, back on topic...

I can see this shift happening with adding some HD as part of a basic service. The HD charge should drop then and only be applicable to higher tiered services and the digi-nets. HD is the way it is going. When was the last SD channel they added?

Also there are some services (at least for us) that are only available in HD and you get automatically for subbing to it. For us that would be CTV2 West (607), OMNI2 (612), CBC Montreal (616) and (ick) Sun News (663).

Last edited by denben73; 2014-03-29 at 07:56 AM. Reason: Added missing spaces.
denben73 is online now  
post #43 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-03-29, 09:12 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
Eastlink is currently concerned only with their new baby, Cell Service and could care less about the rest. Rural NS, PEI and NL used to be their bread and butter but have since left them high and dry: no high speed internet, phone service or any HDTV!! They have now become just like their competition with no care for rural areas at all.
capersx2 is offline  
post #44 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-05-13, 05:58 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 50
No more BET

Why has BET been removed from the line-up on Eastlink.

Plus a friend of mine does not get Spike channel 14 or Speed channel 45 anymore either.
Ellery is offline  
post #45 of 85 (permalink) Old 2014-05-13, 06:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia(Maestro whole home PVR with two terminals)
Posts: 949
I totally missed this one. I seem to recall another member mentioning that it had been removed from the extended tier, and moved to digital only, and is only now only available as part of the music pack.

That's interesting about Spike as well, and perhaps they are moving some analog channels to digital only to free up channel capacity.
David1953 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome