8300HD -Does it allow Component and HDMI output to 2 HDTVs at the same time? (No) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Arrow 8300HD -Does it allow Component and HDMI output to 2 HDTVs at the same time? (No)

I would like to use both component output from 8300HD as well as the HDMI at the same time.

1. Here is what my setup is:

Cable box->HDMI->going to receiver->HDMI out to TV

This will enable me to watch my TV using the Home theatre setup including receiver and speakers etc.

2. Here is what I would also like it to do:

Cable box->component out->TV

For Simple TV watching

Here is why:

Scenario 1 is for using the full HT setup.
Scenario 2 is for simple TV viewing

I tried hooking up component cables while HDMI was plugged in, and it would only send out Audio. No picture.
As soon as I take out HDMI cable, I can see the picture via component.

Is this achievable? Any simple workaround that does not require cable unpluggin?
parry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:05 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,026
I believe you need to unplug (or "terminate") the HDMI cable. Why not simply connect the HDMI cable to the TV (or component video to the TV) and have a digital audio connection to the AVR. You can then either use the TV only or the AVR. You may need an analogue audio connection from the STB to the TV for audio. If using HDMI you need to use the analogue audio connection "associated" with the HDMI input on the TV.

You didn't mention the make/model of the TV or AVR, but the above should work with most. Also, a Harmony remote may come in handy so that you can do the switching automatically. One activity could be "watch TV" while you set up another activity for "Watch TV with AVR". I have set up a lot of people to do just this without two video connections to the TV.

The following thread goes into additional details. Apparently it is possible to have CV and HDMI connected if the HDMI is "terminated". Perhaps turning off your AVR does not terminate the signal.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71825

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
I do have the Harmony 880.
TV is LG with one HDMI port only
AVR is Onkyo.

The reason I wanna use this is less cables as the TV is mounted on wall. Plus, also be able to use my Oppo DVD player with HDMI. So 2 HDMI in the AVR, 1 out to TV scenario..
parry is offline  
 
post #4 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:11 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
parry, its very frustrating but no it can't be done. I would like to do something similar. HDMI to my projector and component for my SlingPlayer.



hugh is offline  
post #5 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks for the speedy replies. I was just wondering if this is possible..

Is there a HDMI splitter available that is reasonabley priced? I saw one at Monoprice and its like $70 something http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
parry is offline  
post #6 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:19 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,026
Parry, but one component video connection (with analogue audio cables, which you'd need as you discussed in post 1 anyway) from the STB to the TV and one HDMI connection from the DVD player to the TV directly accomplishes the same thing. Please reread my post and I've added a paragraph at the end. Most people simply turn on the AVR all the time. After all the sound is better.

Hugh, see the link in the last paragraph of my previous post.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:27 PM
Digital Sage
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burlington
Posts: 24,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
I would like to do something similar. HDMI to my projector and component for my SlingPlayer.
Does the SlingPlayer support HDMI?

If so, you can get a HDMI switchbox that has more than one output.
james99 is offline  
post #8 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
FYI- When I switch off the AVR, it terminates the HDMI signal connection as well.
parry is offline  
post #9 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 01:04 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,026
So, you can do what you laid out in post 1?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #10 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 01:25 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
Hugh, see the link in the last paragraph of my previous post.
57, My HDMI cable goes to my projector and the component goes the SlingBox. When the projector is off, the component video is still not active.

Quote:
Does the SlingPlayer support HDMI?
James99, no it doesn't. The SlingBox pro and Solo only have component inputs.



hugh is offline  
post #11 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 01:53 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,026
Quote:
When the projector is off, the component video is still not active.
The linked thread discussed having something between the STB and the TV to terminate the signal, like an HDMI switch, or an HDMI AVR (essentially the same as unplugging the cable). I would guess that powering down the FP fully may achieve the same? Perhaps you could check by unplugging the FP and if that works, connect it to a switched outlet or power bar? Don't know if that would have any adverse affects on the FP.

Considering the quality of the picture typically required on the Slingbox, you could perhaps consider S-video, composite video or even RF-coax, which are always active on the STB?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #12 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 02:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
So, you can do what you laid out in post 1?
Didn't think it that way, I'm gonna try it and see how that goes..
parry is offline  
post #13 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 04:00 PM
Cap
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 497
I have mine setup this way 8300HD hdmi to tv + optical cable to Rec. now I have home theatre setup.
Than I have component from 8300HD to tv for simple viewing.

So yes you can run both at the same time.

50PX75U, (rogers') 8300HDPVR, 42PD50, Macbook Pro
Imac 3.2ghz, Apple TV2, Iphone4, Time Capsule, VOIP Line,
Cap is offline  
post #14 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-08, 02:15 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap View Post
I have mine setup this way 8300HD hdmi to tv + optical cable to Rec. now I have home theatre setup.
Than I have component from 8300HD to tv for simple viewing.

So yes you can run both at the same time.
Thanks everyone. It works.

While HDMI is plugged into the AVR(with AVR off). My AVR terminates the connection with it being off. It lets you use component output.

I can now use both scenario's 1 and 2. Thanks folks
parry is offline  
post #15 of 44 (permalink) Old 2007-12-12, 07:00 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,154
I tried this last night and it doesn't work for me. If I use the HDMI, I get a blank screen from the Component.
becks is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome