NextBox 3.0 (Cisco 9865) Discussions - Read Post 1 - Page 161 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 28Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2401 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 12:35 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Smile Nextbox 3 PVR Recovered

It became mine after a rent-to-own contract matured.

FYI - Its display began showing endless BOOT cycle(s). I wasn't in a hurry and let it be. A few more days passed with ongoing BOOTs. I thought about renting a replacement or replacing the internal HDD. Then I caught the display showing HDDF - hard disk drive format? I optimistically left it alone. Then the display settled on PEND for 2-3 days. Finally the clock appeared.

I don't know the technical details of this self-healing, whether internal logic did it, or some server noticed the problem and coaxed it along, but I'm impressed.

As expected all (7%) recordings/settings were wiped but everything is working again.
zforgetaboutit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2402 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 06:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
It might have done an extended disk format or disk analysis. That shouldn't take more than a day but the processor in the 9865 isn't very fast. Internal disk checks using SMART typically take a few hours.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2403 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2018-03-27, 04:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
This morning it went back to BOOT. I'll give it another few days.
zforgetaboutit is offline  
 
post #2404 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2018-03-27, 05:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
Mine rebooted early this morning. It's not unusual, especially when new firmware is being released. If it happens more than once a day then it could be a problem with the 9865 or the firmware.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2405 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-02-16, 11:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Need HELP! I just bought a used Nextbox 9865 but it's on a constant loop. it shows 'boot' then '---' then 'boot' again ... what could be the problem?
roche0304 is offline  
post #2406 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-02-16, 12:20 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
Did you follow all the steps in post one of the following thread including activating the unit by calling Rogers?

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/37-...l-ontario.html

Do you have a good signal at your home/neighbourhood? You can call Rogers and have them check this remotely.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2407 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-02-16, 12:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
yes, i called Rogers and activated it. signal is very good in our area. i was trying the connection that is used with my other nextbox 4k. there seems to be a problem with the box itself. it will not boot at all. can this be fixed by replacing the HDD or is this box garbage?
roche0304 is offline  
post #2408 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-02-16, 12:45 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
Did you try out the 9856 before purchase?

Even if the iHDD is shot, a box will usually boot anyway, or show something like "HD er". Check the signal using your other box at the location of your used box.

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-...also-pace.html

Quote:
For 9865 (NextBox 3.0) & 8642 (NB2.0) & 4642 with latest firmware using the remote:
1) Press and hold the Exit key for two seconds until the power LED flashes on the front panel of the PVR
2) In quick succession, press the down arrow button twice, then press the 2 button. This will get you into the diagnostics section where you can browse all kinds of information.

The "level" should be between -10 and +10, with zero being about optimum
The S/N ratio is good if it’s at about 35 dB or higher,

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2409 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-05-29, 03:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 487
More "interesting" stuff on my NextBox 3. Sometimes (more and more frequently) when I press STOP, after watching a recording, in order to delete it, my PVR just decides to refuse the command and goes for a reboot. If any programs are in the process of recording, it used to save whatever was recorded to that point, and would carry on recording when the boot up sequence is complete. Now, it gets worse. Yesterday, after watching a recorded show, I pressed STOP, in order to delete it. I had 2 more recordings which were in progress. The PVR went for a reboot, which took about 3-4 minutes, as per usual. Once it came back online, my recordings in progress were there no more, just lost completely.

EDIT: While my PVR rebooting by itself is a definite problem, the good thing is that the recordings were not lost. I found them (incomplete, of course, because of the reboot) in the list of recordings on my other PVR (WHPVR system). I suppose that they were not showing at all in the list of the PVR which recorded them, because it probably needed another reboot to refresh that list. Oh well...

Last edited by DonR; 2019-05-30 at 01:51 AM. Reason: New information
DonR is offline  
post #2410 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-05-30, 12:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
It's a good idea to reboot all NextBox units once a week, especially with WHPVR. Pick a day and time when there is no TV viewing or timer recording taking place. Allow at least an hour for timer recordings and recorded program lists to reinitialize and repopulate.
DonR likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2411 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-05-30, 01:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 487
One of my PVRs (luckily the rental) does it on its own anyway. :-) It happens at least once every 3-4 days, and is always following a manual command from the remote, usually when I press STOP, wanting to delete a recording, that I just viewed.

The other PVR (the one that I own), almost never has any issues. I don't remember that it ever rebooted by itself. Truth be told, the one with these issues is the one that does most of the recording, probably 80% at least. The "good" one I use almost exclusively to watch these recordings. I should probably replace the one I'm renting, but I don't want to lose my recordings...and you never know what you might get. The new rental may be even worse.

Last edited by 57; 2019-05-30 at 01:22 PM. Reason: UQR
DonR is offline  
post #2412 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 06:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
9865HD Nextbox Acting Up!

Its been working well for many years! While I watching the F1 Race it froze on me! I tried it back on and I'm pretty sure I heard a clicking sound. It did the usual bootup and was fine. This morning I could hear this regular clicking sound. I turned it on today (it was fine) and tried to get into the diagnostic screens well it won't turn on now! Its stuck displaying boot and clicking away maybe every few seconds stopping and clicking again. At one point it no longer displays boot and shows ---- and brings back the word boot. It seems to be stuck booting up, did the hard drive just fail? I've read that any 1GB sata drive will do as a replacement (no worries about my potentially lost recordings) and I'm not shy about opening up electronic devices. I will leave it unplugged for now. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
joe2k1 is offline  
post #2413 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 09:35 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,192
Certainly sounds like a bad hard drive. Here's the thread on replacing:

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/61-...box-3-0-a.html

If you can get it to boot, you should check the signal on it to ensure that's not the problem, but it certainly sounds like a bad hard drive. You could also call Rogers and have them check the signal to your home. If you have another box, you could swap locations of the boxes to see if that does anything.

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-...also-pace.html
joe2k1 likes this.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2414 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 01:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
The clicking sounds suspiciously like a bad hard drive. The rebooting could be just about anything. Switching power supplies are a common cause of failure that can mimic other failures.
joe2k1 likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2415 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 08:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks for your replies! I can confirm it was not a signal issue nor was it a power issue. I went to buy a Western Digital Purple 1TB. After a few attempts to get the plastic case off and one threaded torx on the shield, I was able to swap out the dead drive! This drive is quieter than the previous Seagate. The instructions are perfect! Many thanks for the assistance and keep up the great work!
joe2k1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
audio , digital box , rogers , sound , television

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome