NextBox 3.0 (Cisco 9865) Discussions - Read Post 1 - Page 156 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 28Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2326 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-10-09, 09:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bowmanville
Posts: 4,056
PIP

I'm going to need PIP tonight.....I've never tried it on this box till now. I see you can't move the small PIP window completely to the side....too bad. Is there a way of hearing the audio from the small PIP window?
otown47 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2327 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-10-09, 10:48 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,270
No, you can't hear the audio from the small (PiP) window, unless you swap it to make it the large window, or do PoP (side by side) and make it the left side window.

My understanding is that the PoP will be a bit different with the new October firmware update. (see Navigatr thread - slightly larger picture?)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2328 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-10-19, 05:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
Something screwy is happening with this update and probably with previous updates. The 9865 was completely unresponsive yesterday morning at about 11:30AM. The screen was completely blank and it would not turn on. Tried a few things with the remote and power button but it was comatose. Eventually had to unplug and restart. Then it sat there for 10 minutes with an 'installing new software' dialogue. When it came back up the firmware was unchanged. I rebooted using the menus but still no change. Then, at 9:55PM it rebooted again, which messed up two recordings. Later, I noticed that another recording had fired almost 12 hours late, at about the time the 9865 had frozen. I guess those stability fixes rolled out a few weeks ago are not that good. Either that or the firmware update process is seriously broken.
ExDilbert is online now  
 
post #2329 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-10-19, 08:24 PM
PFD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,207
^^^^

I woke up this morning and noticed by box was blank (not showing anything on the display screen, no clock, no power button light). I thought it might be the power supply but I could hear the fans/drive spinning. It was unresponsive to the power button. I unplugged it and plugged it back in and went to work, assuming, like you, it was the new update. I came home, box booted/ works fine, but no update, still the same firmware (at least as far as I can tell.) So it's not just you. Where are you? I'm in Durham.
PFD is offline  
post #2330 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-11-03, 05:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,270
I don't know whether it's always been this way, but normally I click the FF button 4X to get to the FF speed I want for skimming through commercials. I can now "hold" the FF button down and watch as the arrows on the screen "fill" and when the arrows get to the third FF speed, I let go of the FF button and it goes to the 4th FF speed. It takes a bit of practice, especially since I'm used to "clicking" but this "Tip" may be useful for others.
AVphile likes this.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2331 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-11-04, 11:21 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
I programmed the skip ahead button on the Harmony remote to send 3 FF commands.

It's still nowhere as good as the skip feature on Shaw Satellite TV remotes. Just enter a number followed by skip and it skips that many minutes. It's one of my favourite features ever for a PVR. It's too bad Rogers omitted the skip ahead button completely. That's got to be the biggest example of short sighted design I've ever encountered.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2332 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2016-11-04, 11:36 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,270
Rogers does have a skip (ahead and back, using Page+ and Page-), but it's fixed at 3 minutes. The reason this came about was due to the rights holders threatening the major service providers in Canada many years ago when PVRs first had this feature. Rogers wanted to keep the FF functionality, etc, so they didn't include the 30 second skip that other providers had. That story was discussed probably 10+ years ago.

...but that's OT for this thread.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2333 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-18, 10:34 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Post

Are the USB ports on the back of the box powered? I'm adding a Chromecast to my receiver, but have no free ports or even a free outlet on the power bar. Being able to plug the USB cable into my NextBox would save me a hassle!

If this has been answered, my apologies. I did try to find the info in the thread.

TIA
Elle Fredrix is offline  
post #2334 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-18, 11:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,592
I don't have a Netbox but when I lived at my parents house who have rogers cable, I plugged the USB charging cable from my phone into the Front facing USB port on their Rogers HD Non PVR, Non Netbox box and it charged up my phone no problemo.
17671 is offline  
post #2335 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-19, 08:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,002
Quote:
Are the USB ports on the back of the box powered?
Why not just plug something into it and see if it stays powered up when the box is off?

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #2336 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-24, 02:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 487
Nextbox 3 longevity

Based on your own experience, how long can one expect a Nextbox 3 to last. I am on a rent-to-own program and soon I'll be a proud owner of my box (after 3 years rental). Can I realistically expect it to run for another year, or two?
DonR is offline  
post #2337 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-24, 03:05 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,270
Depends on how much it's used, the luck of the draw, etc. Many SA8300HDs are running after 10+ years, some requiring iHDD replacements. It is "typical" for a HDD to fail after 3-5 years, so replacing that may be in your future. I purchased my 9865 late in 2013, so my amortized cost is currently around $10/month.
DonR likes this.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #2338 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-24, 05:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
Longevity also depends on the installation. If incoming cables and the electrical panel are properly grounded and 9865 is protected from surges, the electronics should last 5-10 years. We had two 4642 wrecked by a nearby lightning strike and improper grounding on the incoming cable (now fixed.) Fortunately, the 9865 was spared.

The hard drive is the most likely failure. Our 9865 has a 1TB WD drive. WD drives have been terrible the last few years. I've had a 50% failure rate on drives made since the Thailand flood. 1TB drives made before then have been very good. A good replacement would be a 1TB HGST drive since they have a very low failure rate. They are pricey but are rated up to 1M hours of operation.
DonR likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2339 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-03-24, 09:16 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 487
Thanks for the feedback, guys.
DonR is offline  
post #2340 of 2415 (permalink) Old 2017-04-15, 09:32 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 72
Is a sign of failure the box not booting in Docsis?

I reboot it, checked signals, everything is perfect but it keeps saying in diagnostics DHCP failure - Davic Fallback mode.
adjjb is offline  
Reply

Tags
audio , digital box , rogers , sound , television

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome