New SARA Firmware 1.93.16.1 for SA8300HD Discussions - Summary in Post 1. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-11, 07:29 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 410
New SARA Firmware 1.93.16.1 for SA8300HD Discussions - Summary in Post 1.

SARA version 1.93.16.1 was pushed through to our boxes this morning. Will not have time to check it out until later today!


Edit by 57: Here's a link to the previous thread/firmware:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=157432


As we find what this firmware addresses, we'll create a summary in this post:

Summary of New Firmware Differences:

As far as I could tell, the only (major) item outstanding was the IPG issue - only populating the "info" for 2-3 of the 7 days instead of the 7 days we had before September's update. Unfortunately, this latest update doesn't seem to have addressed the issue.


There has been a change in the IPG - now accurate to the minute and descriptions have changed (mostly) for the better including years for most programming - a new IPG provider.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...29#post1711729

Last edited by 57; 2012-12-11 at 11:06 AM. Reason: Edited
Hooter is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-11, 09:59 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
It appears Rogers pushed out a firmware again and corrected boxes stuck on Boot Screen
nabate is offline  
post #3 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-11, 11:24 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,979
Something was also pushed out to both of my 4250 STBs. Both had been rebooted and came up on Ch 1 this morning.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
 
post #4 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-12, 10:56 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,241
Looks like the IPG issue has not been solved. I (currently) have info for Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday. Shortly after midnight, 9 hours ago, I had info for Wednesday, Thursday, (next) Monday and (next) Tuesday (days 1, 2, 6, 7). Monday and Tuesday are missing 9 hours later, which is typical of the way it's been since September. Normally I would not have had (next) Monday - right after midnight it would have only been Wednesday, Thursday and (next) Tuesday (days 1, 2, 7) and then only days 1, 2, just like STBs by the time morning came.

This is part of the reason that I like to do my programming shortly after midnight because the data is usually (but not always) there and any recordings then have the info available instead of being blank when I go to watch them later and wonder what they are.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-12, 11:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
Take it for what you will, but a friend of mine who works for Rogers tech support (he says he does outgoing calls when issues cant be resolved and they say they will call back), said the reason this IPG issue came to being in the first place is because Rogers has been trying to implement 14 day IPG and somehow messed it up.
alebowgm is offline  
post #6 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-13, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: GTA, Toshiba 50HM66, SA8300HD, Sony BDP-S550, HK-AVR135, Klipsch RF25,15,RS3
Posts: 71
I woke up this morning 6am to both my 8300HD's displaying h and 3 digit number count up. Neither will power up.
Whats this all about?

Thanks
microft is offline  
post #7 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-13, 08:09 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 87
I have the same issue. Do you have an external SATA drive?

Last edited by 57; 2012-12-13 at 10:55 AM. Reason: UQR
Blahzay is offline  
post #8 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-13, 08:30 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 68
im assuming firmware update, but its taking a hell of a long time.

sidenote: thought it was an issue and unplugged the box. Hope i didnt screw something up and thats why its taking so long.
PannyPlasmaMark is offline  
post #9 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-13, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: GTA, Toshiba 50HM66, SA8300HD, Sony BDP-S550, HK-AVR135, Klipsch RF25,15,RS3
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by microft View Post
I woke up this morning 6am to both my 8300HD's displaying h and 3 digit number count up.
Just a follow up...just got home 6pm and both 8300HD's are working now.
Guessing it was Rogers doing.

No external drives.
Yes i unplugged one during its update and it caused no faults.

Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2012-12-13 at 08:02 PM. Reason: QS
microft is offline  
post #10 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-14, 12:19 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
Had an owned 8300HD try to take the update this morning only to display ER53. Had to pull the drive out of the unit, wipe it, and reinstall it to force the update, just as had to be done for ER99 when the 8642 units rolled out their firmware... sigh...
alebowgm is offline  
post #11 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-14, 12:45 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,241
Is it possible you have an issue with a return signal to the head end? Perhaps when the unit's don't communicate back properly, they don't boot properly.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...39#post1166439

The fact that you've had issues on two different STBs at different times leads me to believe that there's something at your location that's causing the problem, not the STBs and not the firmware. I can't remember if it was you I mentioned this to before, but if it was, I strongly then suggest you look into the connections/devices upstream of your STBs, either inside your home downstream of the demarc and if there are no issues there, then upstream of the demarc to the node.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #12 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-14, 12:49 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
Had a Rogers tech here in the summer check all the signal and boxes. Everything is within the acceptable +/- 10 range and all boxes are in 'normal' mode. SDV and on demand works fine, all units able to record/rewind without problem. Just something with these updates these two units did not like.
alebowgm is offline  
post #13 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-15, 01:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto - Rogers 8300HD PVR
Posts: 3,644
There's certainly no change to the IPG problem only showing the next 2 days of detailed information reliably.

Has anyone seen ANY differences between this version and the previous version, other than the version number?
nfitz is online now  
post #14 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-17, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 60
Two things I've noticed after the most recent update.

1) A couple of my recordings were recorded with blank program descriptions. They were major network primetime shows. I think I was recording two things at once. Don't think that has happened before.

2) Am now unable to return to my viewing location in a currently recording show.

Example scenario: recording a long sporting event. Select it from the recorded List, start watching it until I'm a significant way in. Select another program from List, watch it for a minute. Select first program from List again (still recording). Only options are watch from beginning, or watch from "current location" - which dumps me into the live program, not where I left it.

Own a SA8300 HD PVR, renting a NextBox 3 (Navigatr). Panasonic 42" & 50" plasmas. Rogers. North York, Ontario
Willowdale is offline  
post #15 of 170 (permalink) Old 2012-12-17, 07:34 PM
PFD
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,207
Willow....it's always been like that. a frustrating feature, but not new.
PFD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome