SA8000/8300HD - Internal Hard Disk Upgrade Works (Cloning too) See Post 1. - Page 8 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #106 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-07, 12:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North York, Rogers Cable, SA8300HD
Posts: 167
Quote:
I determined that the WDC drive came from the factory with acoustic management disabled and when I set it to quiet mode the seek noise dropped dramatically with no apparent impact on performance
lonetreejim

did you just change setting to Enable (Automatic) or Enable (User-defined) option and put the slider to the far left position for the quietest setting ?
Ghost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #107 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-07, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 91
All the way to the left. Quietest.

Jim
Kitchener, ON
lonetreejim is offline  
post #108 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-10, 03:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North York, Rogers Cable, SA8300HD
Posts: 167
Quote:
All the way to the left. Quietest.
Thanks

If somebody needs to get T10 tamper proof bit in downtown Toronto, I got one in the small hardware store (don't remember the name) on Queen/University (South side of Queen street, just west of Simcoe, can't miss it). They sell them individually, paid $2.79 including tax
Ghost is offline  
 
post #109 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 03:38 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North York, Rogers Cable, SA8300HD
Posts: 167
lonetreejim

Did you check acoustic management setting after you enabled it and rebooted the PC ? I enabled it (didn't hear any difference though, drive is very quiet with AM disabled), rebooted PC and setting is back to disabled, even every time you enable it, it says "sucessfully enabled", but somehow the setting is not being saved after reboot. So, I guess I'm not going to bother with it.

Last edited by Ghost; 2007-12-13 at 03:43 PM.
Ghost is offline  
post #110 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-13, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North York, Rogers Cable, SA8300HD
Posts: 167
My upgrade is done, followed instructions from this topic and everything went smooth. After new drive was installed it took 10-15 minutes and couple of reboots for everything to work.
I'm a happy camper now, thanks everybody for the great topic !!!!
Ghost is offline  
post #111 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-14, 12:17 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost

lonetreejim
Did you check acoustic management setting after you enabled it and rebooted the PC ? I enabled it (didn't hear any difference though, drive is very quiet with AM disabled), rebooted PC and setting is back to disabled, even every time you enable it, it says "sucessfully enabled", but somehow the setting is not being saved after reboot. So, I guess I'm not going to bother with it.
I did not, but the drive is unquestionably quieter.


Jim

Jim
Kitchener, ON

Last edited by 57; 2007-12-14 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Pricing Deleted.
lonetreejim is offline  
post #112 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-18, 10:19 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghost View Post
My upgrade is done, followed instructions from this topic and everything went smooth. After new drive was installed it took 10-15 minutes and couple of reboots for everything to work.
I'm a happy camper now, thanks everybody for the great topic !!!!
Your welcome. I'm happy to report mine has been running smooth for 18 months now. I'm happy this thread helped people do the upgrade. With so much HD programming available it is a must.
Phatboyc is offline  
post #113 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-27, 10:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Rogers, SA3200, SA3250HD, SA8300PVR, SA8300HD-PVR, Samsung 46" LCD, Infocus 4805 Projector
Posts: 142
Thanks for the guide! I haven't upgraded yet, but will probably do it soon. In the meantime, I picked up a 33 piece "security" bit set for 1/2 price today at a store near Victoria Park and Steeles Ave. Here is a link to info for the bit set: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=77006

All I need now is the 500G Western Digital (WD5000AAKB) drive.

Last edited by SuperGoop; 2007-12-27 at 10:34 PM.
SuperGoop is offline  
post #114 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-28, 10:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Rogers, SA3200, SA3250HD, SA8300PVR, SA8300HD-PVR, Samsung 46" LCD, Infocus 4805 Projector
Posts: 142
Job done! Thanks for all your help. I upgraded to the Western Digital 500GB (WD5000AAKB) IDE drive today successfully. I also took some detailed step-by-step pictures to share. Is there anyway to post it here to compliment this thread?

I have the 8300HD and I think there are some differences how to remove the hard drive (e.g. the number of screws, where they are located, etc.) between the 8000, 8300, or 8300HD.

I find this internal HDD upgrade to be very easy and clean. No need for extra cables and power of an external drive. No need to worry about powering up the external enclosure first after a power failure, etc.

The cost, time and difficulty is very minimal. My only cost was a Torx10 security bit, a 500 IDE HDD, and 30-45 minutes of my time (even including taking pictures). I'd highly recommend this internal upgrade over an external upgrade, IMO. Also, the process is completely reversible without leaving any evidence of the mod (as far as I can tell).

BTW, what's the best way to confirm the new HDD size? I went on the diagnostic screen and on page 33, it says I now have 469GB, but on page 3, it showed some crazy file size like, 93,354,453,353

Last edited by SuperGoop; 2007-12-28 at 10:14 PM.
SuperGoop is offline  
post #115 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-28, 11:27 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Scarborough,Rogers Cable
Posts: 199
469 (TRUE) GB is more like the Real McCoy. HDD makers consider a GB to be
(1000)**3 bytes, whereas a TRUE GB is (1024)**3 bytes.

500*(1000/1024)**3 = 465.7 GB

Sharp LC40E77UN, SONY STR-DE685 AVR
SA8300HD PVR, Pioneer DVR-543HS DVDR
romulus is offline  
post #116 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-29, 07:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Carleton Place, Ontario, Rogers Cable
Posts: 1,748
SuperGoop, the power up sequencing for the external drive is no longer a requirement. The issue was solved a while back with a Firmware update. You can power up both at the same time.

SA9865HD; Panasonic TH-50PZ850; Denon AVR-X4000; Tannoy: Arden, S8C, S8LR; SVS 16-46PC+; Oppo 971; Harmony 659/680
jlet is offline  
post #117 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-30, 09:19 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 343
SuperGoop, to post pictures, you must have the photos hosted on a separate site such as photobucket. Then you just use the [img] tags. I'd love to see your photos on the internal installation. It may sway a lot of people to tackle the job.
WayneH is offline  
post #118 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-30, 11:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Rogers, SA3200, SA3250HD, SA8300PVR, SA8300HD-PVR, Samsung 46" LCD, Infocus 4805 Projector
Posts: 142
I don't think this site allows pictures so I posted the pictures at another forum with detailed step-by-step commentary and provided a link here. However, my post was deleted by someone. I assumed it must be against forum rules. If you want to see my pictures, just google my name and this topic.
SuperGoop is offline  
post #119 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-31, 01:48 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,254
Most people use some sort of picture hosting site, like Flickr for their photos. Then you simply need to post the URL into your post.

Your previous link was against forum rules and was deleted following discussion by several mods and the admin. We would appreciate it if you were to post a (direct) link to your photos.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #120 of 1014 (permalink) Old 2007-12-31, 10:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto, Rogers, SA3200, SA3250HD, SA8300PVR, SA8300HD-PVR, Samsung 46" LCD, Infocus 4805 Projector
Posts: 142
I can host the pictures, but I want my step-by-step commentary to go with the pictures to make them meaningful. It will make more sense with the captions above each picture, rather than simply linking a bunch of pictures. Plus, it is easier to read with all the pictures (and comments) under a single link.

Anyways, my guide is up. Feel free to google it.

I abide and appreciates all forum rules, so it is ok. I just wanted to help.
SuperGoop is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome