Rogers 8642 & 9865 HD PVR External SATA Drive discussion - See Post 1 First - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-09-29, 08:42 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
That is simply because Rogers only supports the Rogers PVR Extender, which doesn't have a 2TB model...
alebowgm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-13, 09:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
8642 PVR - external hard drive OK – but no space added

I tried to follow up all recommendation from this group so …Vantec NexStar3 NST-360SU-BK (Black) …Western Digital Caviar Black (WD1002FAEX) 1TB.

8642 PVR ask to format the drive …and after a few min the validation message come up …”The external storage connected works with this DVR”.

8642 PVR was rebooted a few times …the message come up…”The external storage connected works with this DVR” …but the space was not increased.

Any idea what can I do so 8642 PVR to see the additional space? Thanks

Joe
syneco is offline  
post #63 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-13, 09:52 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,186
Depends on the space % shown. As has been discussed in this thread and the 8642 owner's thread, when the space used is relatively low, the 8642 does not accurately report the space used. Try recording a lot more material. If about 3-5% is used for each hour of HD, then the drive is not seen, but if about 1% is used for each hour, then the drive is seen.

Most people with the 8642 replace the iHDD rather than add an eHDD. Works better.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #64 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-13, 12:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
The box is still under warranty so I tried to find another solution .
syneco is offline  
post #65 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-13, 03:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Just for the future use … 8642 PVR was able to detect the hard drive and report correctly the space only after the external hard drive has been pre formatted as fat32.
syneco is offline  
post #66 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-13, 04:14 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,186
Thanks, added to post 1.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #67 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-15, 11:11 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 462
So, can i say, and I really hope I can, that the lost recordings that are plaguing the 8300 box are not happening with this box? I have used externals for years. NEVER had an issue until this year. I am getting sick of the monthly loss of all my recordings. I work shift work, and not around when prime time tv is on. I count on the PVR.

I even changed my case to the nexstar 3 and upgraded my drive from the hitachi to the Western Digital black drive.
viper359 is offline  
post #68 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-18, 07:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Hi, very imformative site! I just wanted to confirm that the 1) Vantec NexStar3 NST-360SU-BK (Black) USB2.0 3.5" Aluminum External SATA Hard Drive Enclosure and 2) Western Digital Caviar Black (WD1002FAEX) 1000GB (1TB) SATA3 7200RPM 64MB Cache (OEM) is still working or are there better combinations for the 8642hd? Is it necessary to format into fat32? The 160Gigabyte fills up fast with all the new primetime shows lol.

Thanks!
freevu is offline  
post #69 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-18, 07:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
Its not Fat32, its a proprietary Linux based format.

The Vantech + WD Caviar combo seems to work good for everyone who has used it. That plus an internal upgrade is the way to go.
alebowgm is offline  
post #70 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-18, 07:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Hi, thanks for the quick response. I was referring to post #65 where it was said the drive needs to be pre-formatted in fat32. So I guess adding the external hard drive and formatting it with the 8642hd is what they meant?
freevu is offline  
post #71 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-18, 08:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,776
FAT32 isn't a prerequisite in all cases. I for one just plopped my drive in and went from there. Some have found that formatting the drive to Fat32 and then reformatting again will help kick the drive in gear.
alebowgm is offline  
post #72 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-23, 10:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks, I just plopped it in also and it seems to be working fine. The only issue I'm having is the screen is blacking out intermittently. When I change channels it seems to go away. Any idea what may be causing this? Thanks
freevu is offline  
post #73 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-24, 12:03 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,186
Check your signal strength and S/N ratio and report back. Are you talking about an internal or external HDD?

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17719


Useful Post: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #74 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-27, 01:14 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UNI0NVILLE ONTARIO
Posts: 364
I just lost my recordings again the last time was Thaksgiving. Seems to be happenning more often. A spontaneous reboot occured of my DVR and my other STB at the same time (11:30 a.m.) with no power outage. Rogers CSR confirmed that I am going to go to the Rogers store and exchange the 8300 for an 8642. Is the Thermaltake ST0005U WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX combo the best one to attach? I have also seen the Thermaltake ST0014U mentioned I have also seen a Vantec enclosure mentioned in this thread. Is it more stable. Since I am renting changing the iHDD is not an option. Or should I stick with the 83000 and just purchase the Thermaltake ST0005U WD Caviar Black WD1002FAEX combo? What is the latest thinking in this regard.
Thanks
ANDYA is offline  
post #75 of 225 (permalink) Old 2011-10-27, 04:50 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UNI0NVILLE ONTARIO
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
Record a couple of hours of HD. If it says roughly 5% more was used, then it's only 160 GB, if it says only 1% more was used then it's using 1TB+
I exchanged the 83000 for the 8642. I connected it at about 3:30 p.m. After booting up w/o the eHDD I checked the recording space used. Without any recordings the 8642 shows 0 space used. As soon as I start recording the recording space used immediately jumps to 12%. I deleted the recordings and the space used is back to 0%. Start recording and it immediately reads 12% used. Just for kicks I connected the eHDD. After the usual rebooting and reformatting and the message that the external works with the PVR the space used reads 3%. The 8642 records to the PVR ok.
I disconnect the eHDD rebooted deleted all recordings so space used is 0%. I started recording again and it again reads 12% space usage.
ANDYA is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome