Rogers 8642 HD (Nextbox 2.0) PVR Owners Thread: Read post #1 ) - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-14, 09:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
8642 Audio Behaving Badly

I recently upgraded from 8300 to 8642. Can't say that I am seeing anything, other than larger hard drive, that I currently find worth the cost.

Since upgrading I am experiencing one problem, however. For my HD CBC channels (514, 515, 544) most audio streams seem to play only through the L, R surround speakers, and not through the centre channel speaker. This happens for most audio streams, such as the National news. Luckily, hockey commentary plays through the centre channel speaker, although when it switches to a commercial, or even ice-level commentary, the audio switches to L, R speakers.

This only happens with CBC channels.

Can anyone shed any light on what is going on or what can be done to fix it?

Thanks in advance.
neils is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-14, 11:55 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,069
neils, please read the following FAQ on DD5.1 and improperly encoded DD5.1. This should also have been evident on your 8300, since it's been that way with CBC for years. (Possibly you didn't have your PVR or AVR properly configured for DD5.1 before and were getting "surround sound" instead of DD5.1)

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17870

Then check out the following post, useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #33 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-17, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Didn't see this mentioned yet, but the IPG shows unsubscribed channels in grey. I'd rather have the option to filter them out completely, but this is at least an improvement over the 8300.
ajkerr is offline  
 
post #34 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-18, 03:06 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 212
8642 HDMI handshake is slower than the 8300

I just installed my two 8642s today.

There was one glitch that I noticed - in comparison to my 8300.
I previously had my 8300HD working with my Pioneer Kuro Elite 151 such that (on the remote), when I pressed CAB, then PWR - it would turn on the TV, then the Rogers box.
This worked fine.

Now, with the new 8642, this same sequence does not work properly.
There seems to be an HDMI (timing) issue that is different than the 8300HD.
When the TV comes on, and then the Rogers box, there is seemingly not enough "time" for the TV to (see) the 8642 - leaving me with a black screen - as if the 8642 was not on.
Turning the 8642 off, then on again fixes it.

My only solution is to set up the remote to only control the power of the devices individually - rather than the multi device macro way - as I need to allow about 1 second more before I turn on the 8642 after my TV comes on.

What this boils down to is that the 8642 must start up a bit slower than the 8300 - and it sends its signals via the HDMI cable a bit delayed compared to the 8300.

Not a big deal, of course - but a noticeable difference between the two.
Maybe an upcoming firmware update would fix it....

In any event, the new features I like are:
- Color schemes (the guide themes) use richer colors - look better on screen
- FFW, REW, etc display the actual time on the pointer where you are
- Channels you don't subscribe to are in grey (finally)
- So far, the "quickstart" nonsense has not made its way onto the two units
- The hard drive seems to run MUCH quieter than the 8300
icemankent is offline  
post #35 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 223
Forgive my ignorance on the matter, but if I buy a PVR from someone other than Rogers, will it work with Rogers ?
thebone is offline  
post #36 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 10:30 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Posts deleted. From Post #1

Quote:
This thread is NOT for non-owners to ask questions about the 8642. If you would like ask questions then please post in the New 8642 PVR from Rogers discussion thread.

Non-owners posting in this thread will have their posts removed and will be issued infractions.


hugh is offline  
post #37 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 10:39 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 567
If you want it to work with the digital channels, you need to have a Rogers PVR. If all you plan to use are the analog channels, you could use a Tivo with it. Bell PVRs and PVRs from other cable companies will not work.
whitbyterry is online now  
post #38 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 223
Darn

Okay, thanks for the quick response !!!!
thebone is offline  
post #39 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Downtown Toronto
Posts: 40
Just to be 100% clear: if I buy an 8642 (not a TiVo, etc.) from a source other than Rogers, will it work with digital channels?
Blaq is offline  
post #40 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-19, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitby, Ontario (Rogers Cable), LG 42PC3D, 8642HD
Posts: 567
Yes, as long as it is an 8642 that is manufactured for Rogers. For example, if you bought one in the US that was set up for another cable company, it won't work here at all. Rogers will not activate it for you.

So you'd want to buy from an authorized Rogers reseller, of which there are many around the GTA.
whitbyterry is online now  
post #41 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-23, 10:07 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 212
Three other things I have noticed with the new 8642:
- The Quickstart guide has not loaded onto it (yet)
- The Call Display function does not work
- Scrolling in the guide is sluggish if a program is recording

Anyone else notice this ?
icemankent is offline  
post #42 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-23, 10:16 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Waterloo, Rogers Cable Internet, Panasonic 55" Plasma, Insignia 5101HD, Cisco 8642, Kaleidescape
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by icemankent View Post
Three other things I have noticed with the new 8642:
- The Quickstart guide has not loaded onto it (yet)
Haven't seen it here either. Others have reported the same thing earlier in the thread.
Quote:
- The Call Display function does not work
Haven't had an incoming call yet but it wouldn't surprise me if Call Display doesn't function since that would require an interactive app download (which I *believe* is part of the same file that the Quckstart Guide is part of).
Quote:
- Scrolling in the guide is sluggish if a program is recording
Anyone else notice this ?
As a matter of fact, yes. I was just lamenting the very same thing not ten minutes ago.

My HT equipment:Epson 4030 Projector, Pioneer VSX-1028, Kaleidescape 3U Server, M500 Player, Strato, Alto & Terra
MacTVJunkie is offline  
post #43 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
CBC HD Hockey

I am very pleased with my 8642 especially the bookmarks on part played recordings. My only problem is with severe glitches on playback of the CBO HD hockey recordings, Ch 514.
The video freezes for a half second and the audio is muted for maybe a second. This occurs roughly every 2 minutes.
This did not occur with my 8300 so is it my 8642? Anybody.
Thanks.
Gnormal is offline  
post #44 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-25, 08:24 AM
mgl
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30
I'm having random glitches too but i had those on my 8300 in the last month or two so I'm not too worried. I can't tell if it's worse but I had chalked this up to Rogers and not to the box. Overall I'm quite pleased with my 8642 500GB unit.
mgl is offline  
post #45 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-25, 03:19 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ottawa, Rogers cable
Posts: 60
8642 does not show analog lobby channel 998

A heads-up for anyone getting the 8642 box: unlike the 8300HD, it does not include an analog tuner, so if you live in a condo/apartment tower you will not be able to see the lobby channel (998) using the 8642. Rogers suggested workaround is to split the cable and feed it directly to your TV (assuming your TV has an analog tuner). This is inconvenient... they really should offer the Cisco 8652 box which includes an analog tuner.
BobFillmore is offline  
Reply

Tags
8642 , 8642HD , audio drpouts , cisco , cisco 8642 , closed captioning , download , firmware , freezing , hd-pvr , live , pause , pixelation , pvr , quality , recording , recordings , rogers

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome