Rogers 8642 HD (Nextbox 2.0) PVR Owners Thread: Read post #1 ) - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-26, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 415
True, it could be EPROM memory and therefore retain its setting after power is removed. I suspect though that the flags are stored on the hard drive, as is the directory of recordings. Either way, the important thing is that the spot you leave off in each program is remembered.

Panasonic 65ZT60 | Pioneer Elite PRO-730HD | Marantz SR8200 | Elite DV-59AVi | Mirage OM series | Custom HTPC
slyboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-26, 06:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 415
Other Observations

The IR sensor on this new unit is not as "strong" as the 8300HD was. Now that I've got the 8642 positioned in the same spot I had the 8300HD in I realize that this new box is not picking up the IR signal when bounced off a side wall (my equipment sits at a 90 degree angle to my sitting position). If you aim the remote directly at the 8642 it gets the signal fine, but again I'm used to bouncing the signal off a wall opposite the equpment rack. This could be a little problematic so I might finally need to buy something to receive and repeat the IR signal.

Vibrations... the shell of this unit, again installed in the exact same place the 8300HD was previously, vibrates MUCH more than my 8300HD did. I added inexpensive rubber stick-on feet onto the feet of the 8642 and it's improved this issue a fair bit. Note that the 8642 has false front feet... the box actually sits on four smaller rubber feet, not the wide ones you see when you look at the unit face on. Overall I'm not sure the build quality is as "good" as the 8300HD, but the case is black and there ARE a couple improvements so please don't take that as me saying it's a worse model.

Panasonic 65ZT60 | Pioneer Elite PRO-730HD | Marantz SR8200 | Elite DV-59AVi | Mirage OM series | Custom HTPC
slyboy is offline  
post #18 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-26, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 91
Slyboy, how do you feel about the brightness of the clock display?

I found it so bright I put a neutral density filter over it to darken it down.

Jim
Kitchener, ON
lonetreejim is offline  
 
post #19 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-26, 10:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 415
Jim,
The irony for my setup is that the same thing that is causing me issue in my last post is what is assisting me with the display brightness. As it turns out, the tinted glass door on my electronics tower is both dimming the brightness that you're not pleased with, and also causing issue with the IR signal from the remote being aimed in any direction other than directly at the unit.

With more testing after my last post I found out I could still get the 8642 to pickup the IR signal bounced off walls if my cabinet's glass door was open, but not with it closed in front of the IR sensor. This was not the case with the 8300HD, as the 8300HD was able to receive bounced IR signals through the same glass. Strange.

Also, I don't notice the brightness thing as much as you because my equipment is sideways to where I usually sit. I think your solution is an excellent one... I don't like bright displays in my viewing room either - I usually set all my gear up to have their displays off if the equipment supports that. So we've both dimmed our 8642 displays - you with a filter and me with tinted glass. LOL

Panasonic 65ZT60 | Pioneer Elite PRO-730HD | Marantz SR8200 | Elite DV-59AVi | Mirage OM series | Custom HTPC
slyboy is offline  
post #20 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-28, 06:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
I picked one up today and this is my first experience with an HDPVR.

I have gone through the HD setup wizard and enabled 1080i and the nP settings. The PVR is connected to the tv with an hdmi cable.

I find that some of the HD channels are not shown in full screen. If I toggle through the HD Zoom settings it reads Normal 1080i but appears to be like a 4:3 ratio. e.g. standard City TV and HD City TV. The tv itself is set for 16:9

When on these channels the onscreen guide also shows in a reduced ratio.

Anyone else experience this behaviour? Is it normal for this unit?
Dave2525 is offline  
post #21 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-28, 07:54 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,073
Dave, please see the following FAQ on HD programming, Black Bars:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76068 What's on in True HD

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76089 Black Bars


And the following post, useful for those new to the forum and HD - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

The IPG is 4:3. If it fills your screen on SD signals, it's because you've set the TV to stretch SD. What's the make/model of your HDTV? If it's an LCD, there's no reason to stretch 4:3 - watch it as 4:3 for better picture quality and no distortion.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #22 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-28, 07:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,545
sometimes the show being broadcast is not an HD show, its taped (or i should refraise that, hard drived) in SD, just because its an HD channel, does not make it automatically show hd aspect ratios, lots of city tv shows are in SD, like rachael ray, tyra, judge judy, and some of those vh1 shows. you will see black bars on the side.. if you go to an sd channel, you will see GREY bars, thats how you tell the difference.
17671 is offline  
post #23 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-28, 10:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks for the feedback guys. Much more helpful than the Rogers staffer I spoke to earlier.

That'll teach me to make better use of the search. I thought the issue was unique to this PVR but it looks like it is HD in general.

I guess I've just hit on upconverted 4:3 channels which also explains why I was seeing black bars even though I had set the PVR to grey.

I had set the tv (LG 32LH30) to 16:9 (stretch) mode previously to avoid burn in from the bars on 4:3 shows which is why I never noticed a discrepancy with the IPG.

I'll make sure I do better research before the next post
Dave2525 is offline  
post #24 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-28, 11:55 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,073
It's off topic for this thread, but your TV is an LCD and you can't get burn in on LCDs. See the following FAQ on the topic.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=21270

We now return you to the topic of this thread.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #25 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-29, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 91
I have noticed that if I play a program in FF (1 press of the >> button) the status bar comes on screen and can not always be cleared by pressing the Exit key. Actually, it goes away for an instant then reappears.

On the 8300 the status bar appears when you start FF, will stay on screen until you press Exit then will always clear it for the duration of the FF.

I have been able to clear the 8642 status bar sometimes but haven't quite figured out if there is a pattern as to when you can and when you can't.

Jim
Kitchener, ON
lonetreejim is offline  
post #26 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-03-31, 02:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by slyboy View Post
Jim,
The irony for my setup is that the same thing that is causing me issue in my last post is what is assisting me with the display brightness. As it turns out, the tinted glass door on my electronics tower is both dimming the brightness that you're not pleased with, and also causing issue with the IR signal from the remote being aimed in any direction other than directly at the unit.

With more testing after my last post I found out I could still get the 8642 to pickup the IR signal bounced off walls if my cabinet's glass door was open, but not with it closed in front of the IR sensor. This was not the case with the 8300HD, as the 8300HD was able to receive bounced IR signals through the same glass. Strange.

Also, I don't notice the brightness thing as much as you because my equipment is sideways to where I usually sit. I think your solution is an excellent one... I don't like bright displays in my viewing room either - I usually set all my gear up to have their displays off if the equipment supports that. So we've both dimmed our 8642 displays - you with a filter and me with tinted glass. LOL
you can get a IR prism from most any AV dealer, they are made by audioplex and distributed by a number of companies such as provo ..

they allow IR to be received from the sides (more off axis - even 90deg.) , about 1/4" in diam. and stick on over the "eye" (position is important) ..

if you cant find them - msg me and i'll mail you one at no cost.


I find the brightness of the display to be a major distraction - I think I am going to open one up and 'dull' down the window from inside to maintain a clean look ....
brian m is offline  
post #27 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-02, 02:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
I bought the 8300 320 GB last autumn, and was generously "grandfathered" to the 500 GB 8642, due to some issues. I run a simple set-up, HDMI to my Samsung 1080P, Insignia BDP on the side. TV for the most part, and multiple interests/recordings are always in play.

I agree that the interface/management system is much improved. No way of knowing that of the box, the remote is a fraternal twin to the old one, and comes with some fairly generic instructions.

So what can it do right now besides being quicker, and handier?
DeadKennedys is offline  
post #28 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-02, 11:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
I had my brother beat, On Demand, like the proverbial mule. Everything worked fast as you like, menus, play controls, the lot so far.

On my basic level, as one who has hated OD for the response times, it may now be a legitimate option....as always library withstanding.
DeadKennedys is offline  
post #29 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-08, 03:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 212
What's the latest on this ?
Still same price at that location and how's the stock ?
icemankent is offline  
post #30 of 884 (permalink) Old 2010-04-10, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 73
Very new to this and looking to finally get connection to my TV. Have no Rogers nor Bell thus far.

So to get this right - the box you guys are discussing here, if I buy that I don't have to pay rental for Rogers?
tDotinToronto is offline  
Reply

Tags
8642 , 8642HD , audio drpouts , cisco , cisco 8642 , closed captioning , download , firmware , freezing , hd-pvr , live , pause , pixelation , pvr , quality , recording , recordings , rogers

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome