analog service and splitters - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-09, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Arrow analog service and splitters

Hello,

I have the analog Videotron service (I know!!) and high speed internet. I want to split the signal to two TVs and to my TV card in my computer. How should I proceed?

Should I use a three-way splitter from my cable modem or a four-way splitter from where the cable gets in the house? Active or passive splitter?

Thank you
andromeduse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-09, 07:56 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
See the following thread on the topic. You should call Videotron to do the work, because they'll do it correctly and make sure you have a good signal at each device.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=78810

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 12:15 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
No problem in splitting your cable, but I would run all wires from the entry point, that way if in the future you want better or more services from videotron, the signal can be directed properly, meaning that modems and digital services require less signal loss with regards to the signals at the pole. If you split else where in your house, you may end up with a series split, which means down the line you will have split after split. There is more control and more flexibility with all cables ran to one central point. With the mac address from your modem, I can check your signal strength before and after you split. Yes, you should use a good quality splitter. The one furnished by Videotron is a good one, so, use that to split to your modem, then use others to split for your tvs. A poor quality splitter will have local pick up, meaning it will pick up signals from the air, causing fantom images on channels 2, 6, 10, 12 and 17 more so for the first two. Local pick up may also cause uncorr for your modem, resulting in packets lost. Not a huge factor, but still reducing the performance of your connection.
montrealer_m is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 06:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Excellent advice from a man who seems to know his stuff......
Pinza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome