illico Caller ID now available - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
illico Caller ID now available

Videotron last week announced the introduction of illico Caller ID, a new feature that will enable customers who subscribe to both Videotronís cable telephone service and its illico Digital TV service to see the names and numbers of callers on their television screen.

Any subscriber to Videotron cable telephone service with the Call Display feature who has a compatible illico set-top box can sign up for the illico Caller ID option. All recent illico set-top boxes support illico Caller ID.
Flexible functionalities

Illico Caller ID adjusts to the customerís lifestyle. For example, subscribers can deactivate it while watching a movie, use it on several illico set-top boxes, or have two telephone lines and manage the numbers independently using the call log.

Illico Caller ID can be added to Videotron cable telephone service for $2 per month, with the first three months free. illico Digital TV subscribers who are also subscribed to Videotron cable telephone service with the 5-feature package can add illico Caller ID at no extra charge.



hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-08-12, 08:11 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winnipeg with MTS Ultimate TV, MTS Lightning 25 & VOIP Phone Service.
Posts: 3,309
The big question I would like to know is....is the caller ID data transmitted over the cable line, or is there a port on the back of the set top box that you have to plug a phone line into in order to use this service.

If its over the cable line...thats awesome and hope it comes to Shaw Land in the next 25 years.... I won't hold my breath.

Anyone know how this would work - I guess the DCT is coded to your account and phone number?

Shawguy

- User 'K from Canada' on the MTS Community Forums
- User '7825' on the Shaw Community Forums
- I do NOT work for Shaw or have any connections to the company
shawguy is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2008-08-15, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montrťal: Akai PDP4273; Bell 6131, Xbox 360, Philips Soundbar
Posts: 117
It's transmitted over cable. My friend has it.. it appears in a little box on the top of the screen in classic crappy Videotron fonts. On a HD channel with a nice SD quality caller ID. Looks pretty bad.

However, it's functional.
craigstar is offline  
Reply

Tags
caller id , illico , videotron

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome