HD options (videotron and others) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-11, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

HD options (videotron and others)

HI all,
I am new to the HD world. Got a beautiful Samsung 42 plasma (delivered yesterday). Im planning on upgrading to HD tv in the fall (in the summer I pretty much only use my tv to watch dvds and gaming (PS3).
Im with videotron (illico digital) for tv, internet, and phone.
Ive looked at the HD stuff on the videotron website. Im just wondering
if videotron HD is good, if there are other options open to me, etc.

Thanks in advance for any information and advice.
Cheers,
Max
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-11, 10:09 AM

In addition to the services you already have, it all depends if you want/need analogue cable or not, on any other household TV's. Like you, I have 'everything' with Videotron, and my monthly bill (128$) is 5$ less than when I had Bell+Videotron and that includes 1000 monthly anytime minutes of North American long distance calling (I have never exceeded 500 minutes...comes to $0.02/min...cheap to keep your mother in law happy!). If you still use multiple analogue TV's, a good package is the 30 la carte channels package, because analogue is included. If you recycle your existing STB on a second TV, and need only two TV's, the 20 la carte channel might be better and less expensive. If you live in a city, where HD OTA coverage and reception are interesting in your area, that provides another avenue to explore through the Hovermann threads in the OTA forum.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2008-07-11, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

Hi Tanta, Thanks for the info.
Right now I have the 30 channels la carte, because I wanted to get basic cable on a second set. I live about 50 clicks east of quebec city (in St-Ferreol-les-neiges). I dont know what the OTA is like here.

Cheers,
Max