Problem getting full HD 16:9 picture to display - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2007-09-16, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

Problem getting full HD 16:9 picture to display

Hi all,

I am complete newb when it comes to operating HD hands-on; after three years of reading, doing my research and waiting, I took the plunge and bought last week the Sony KDS55A2020 SXRD and hooked it up on Friday to a SA 8300 HD PVR via the Videotron Illico service here in Montreal.

My problem: While I can ostensibly view the HD channels I have in HD, for some reason they are all getting "clipped" so that no matter what I try with my TV or PVR settings, the HD image is getting cut off at the normal 4:3 sides. When I press "guide" on the PVR remote the full 16:9 HD image appears complete in the upper right of the channel listing, but when I go back to select it, sure enough the image is cut off in a 4:3 aspect ratio. In other words, watching the sports crawl for TSN HD at the bottom of the screen, the "TSN" logo at the lower right of the screen is cut off half-way into the "S" irrespective of whether I watch it in 4:3 or stretch it to 16:9, wide, wide zoom, or anything else.

The TV recognizes the PVR is sending a 16:9 signal (in theory), because it does automatically convert that channel to "wide" mode, but what it's actually doing is stretching an HD feed in 4:3 to 16:9; I need to cycle through the "WIDE" mode settings to return to 4:3 to view the HD signal, but with the missing image on the left and right.

I'm connected via component cables for now (waiting on HDMI cables from Monoprice ) and in my setup of the PVR, ran through the picture options and enabled everything (1080i, 720p, etc.). I also set the picture format to "Pass-through" on the PVR.