SA8300HD Remote Code Discussion (New Remote) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 2006-10-14, 05:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
SA8300HD Remote Code Discussion (New Remote)

Hi,
I have just got illico 8300HD pvr with UR5U-8400A remote.
But there is no 3 digit code listed in the manual for an LG TV (want to use the UR5U-8400A remote to operate the TV.).

Does anyone know it ?.
thanks.
kpa1973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 11:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Remote lost code

I have a SA 8300HD with the remote. I also have a Panasonic TH42PD50U TV as well.

I wanted to program the SA remote to control the TV (power on/off, channels, video inputs and volume). I found the best code for it, which is 222 and it works with almost every touch for the various things. The problem there is that as soon as I change the device to CBL, DVD or others, the programming is lost so I'm wondering if it is a issue or there is a extra step I need to do to retain this code ?

Last edited by Xilikon; 2007-01-17 at 11:32 AM.
Xilikon is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 11:41 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Reread the instructions carefully to "finalize" the step of programming the code. It sounds like you're not completing something.

Try reading the instructions to someone else, or having them read them to you, or find a 14-year old.

Also make sure that the instructions are for your particular remote model. There are minor differences between the 8400 and 8500 for example. See the Digital Home FAQ (under help) "Tips for SA STBs" for links to the various remotes.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 01:57 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
I read everything and I'm a techno junkie (senior IT technician) so please remove the 14-yo comment.

The issue there is that I followed the instructions in the book included with my 8300HD. Mind you it's in french version and custom written by Videotron. I never saw any "closing" step to confirm the code and the various remote guides I read in the SA ExplorerClub part doesn't tell this as well. That's why I'm asking... If you see this when I don't see, please indicate where

However, one thing of interest : The code I got for this remote and TV is 222 when in the SA guides, all i see is 4 digit codes ??? This may explain why it didn't work well.

To make sure I did correctly, here's the steps as outlined in the guides :

1- Press and hold Select + TV buttons till the TV button light up.
2- Enter the code and if the code is valid, the TV will power off. This happened when I entered 222.
3- I pressed Power to power on the TV.
4- Toyed with the various buttons to make sure it works. It does work correctly.
5-___________________ (This may be what's missing but i don't think it's needed). Something tell me to hit CH+ to confirm but it's unclear. I already used this to change channels to make sure so it obviously saved the code if it is the case.

As soon as i press CBL then back to TV, it doesn't work so I must reprogram again to make it work. For the remote model, it's home and I'm at work so I'll post this when I get back home but it's the one included with the 8300HD from Videotron (silver with black backside).
Xilikon is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 02:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Quote:
please remove the 14-yo comment.
That had a smilie behind it, so if it doesn't apply to you (which it appears it doesn't, but I didn't know your background) please simply ignore the remark - it has been handy for some people - technophobes and many older people.

It appears you are doing nothing wrong. Perhaps rather than trying other buttons, simply change to CBL after entering the code?

Also, there's a button sequence to "reset" the remote. You may want to try that before programming the TV button again.

Make sure that the "light" at the top of the remote when you press buttons, reflects the item you're trying to control, as this will confirm the programming. On my father's remote, it also recently forgot some codes and I had to do a reset to get things right. I believe several lights were flashing instead of just the one for the TV which he was trying to control with the volume button.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Ok, I'll try the reset thing and reprogram. I was posting this in case there is something missing in the guides and someone know this.

About the lights, the tv is lit but it's so strong that it spilled on CBL and the other one (AUX or VCR, forgot which). Maybe it's not supposed.
Xilikon is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
I reread the guide and noticed the remote model is different from all the guides I saw. And the guide provided with the 8300HD got a small error and the proper step is the same as others, but it's necessary to save the code by pressing "TV" after making sure the code is ok. When done, it blinks 2 times and it retain the code... That's exactly what is missing for me.
Xilikon is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 02:06 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Am I hearing that the correct operating manual for the remote contained the correct instructions? If true, then I guess post 2 contained the answer? Thanks for the feedback.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Correct operating method but put under the wrong remote (there is 2 models with 2 methods). No guide in SA match my remote so it's a special one. it is similar to AT8500 but not 100% identical. that's why the codes is 3 digits for me instead of the 4 digits of all guides.
Xilikon is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 02:48 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
It's none of these?

http://www.urcsupport.com/#

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 04:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Not even there... I'll get the exact remote model, look around for a guide then post here for future reference. I bought the 8300HD last weekend so it may be one of the newest models.

I just remembered the code and searched in Google and I found the infos :

http://www.universalremote.com/produ...l.php?model=90 for the remote details
http://www.newnanutilities.org/suppo...00A(Rev02).pdf for the guide
Xilikon is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-18, 11:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montréal
Posts: 18
Arrow

You may find extra codes in this pdf file:

http://www.videotron.com/services/st.../guide_enp.pdf

It's available on Videotron Web sites in the Technical Support section.
bergo is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-22, 11:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
same thing here

I have the exact same as you since last weekend.
Did you ever figure out what the code was ?

Thanks
Chaotik is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 2007-01-23, 01:21 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
I've moved your post into this thread, please read the first few posts and posts 10, 11, 12 to see if that solves your problem.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 2010-01-06, 11:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
EXPLORER 8300HD remote code for Haier TV

Hi,
I have a illico 8300HD pvr with UR5U-8400A remote.
But there is no 3 digit code listed in the manual for an haier TV model HL42XD1 want to use the UR5U-8400A remote to operate the TV.

Does anyone know it ?
thanks.
robadam4 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome