Videotron Changes HD Sources From Buffalo to Plattsburgh NY/Burlington VT - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
Videotron Changes HD Sources From Buffalo to Plattsburgh NY/Burlington VT

It's been reported elsewhere that Videotron has switched over to Plattsburgh/Burlington for their American HD feeds.

I was this close to switching to satellite due to Videontron's botched HD simsubs. So let's see if the new channels come in simsub- and glitch-free.

Please post in this thread any comments/problems with the new HD channels.
morden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 05:59 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Has this been confirmed that they have switched?

Of course another option is OTA for those channels and Videotron for everything else:

QC - City of Montreal - OTA
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=53294

QC - Laval/West Island/Ste-Eustache - OTA
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=53298

QC/ON - South Shore/NE of Montreal/Province of Quebec/Cornwall - OTA
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=53296

Montreal/Burlington, VT: OTA Status/News/Changes/Updates
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=51210



stampeder is offline  
post #3 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
Yes, it appears they have switched.

Patiently waiting for primetime so we can compare HD programming.
morden is offline  
 
post #4 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-15, 06:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,465
http://www.videotron.com/services/en...es-chaines.jsp

Updated on Website

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #5 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-16, 08:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
Well finally! And we now have DD 5.1 for ABCHD and NBCHD.

I'll be recording 2 hour shows at PBSHD and CBSHD starting at 9:00 AM. I will then calculate the Bitrate and report.

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #6 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-16, 09:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
Just calculated bitrate for program "Justice" last night at FOXHD. It was 15.6 Mbps. Could be better. Wonder what else Videotron has in that QAM. I was hoping for 17 Mbps.

The fact that HD was not turned on does not impact bitrate... it's the same "broadband hose".

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #7 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-16, 10:12 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 204
Hi Mfabien !

I've got some bitrate for you. Be careful, the video and audio bitrate are separated. By the way, for all those channels, its exactly the same bitrate as we received it OTA. If a channel bitrate is not higher than this, it's because the OTA station isn't broadcasting higher than this and, most of the time, it's because they waste bandwidth (and quality) for the useless subchannel.

For FOXHD, this is the only station that the non-hd bitrate is completely different than the HD bitrate because their network feed is already pre-compressed at a lower bitrate.

ABCHD :
Video : 14.4 Mbps in 1280x720P - Nice quality, better than Buffalo's
Audio : 384 Kbps in DD5.1 - Yes the sound is finally in DD5.1 but there is a lot of break in the stream. I hope they will fix that soon...

NBCHD :
Video : 16.2 Mbps in 1920x1080i - The picture is a lot better than the one from Buffalo (14.2 Mbps).
Audio : 384 Kbps in DD5.1 - Another problem here, the sound is, specially with the local feed, not always synchronize with the picture.

CBSHD :
Video : 14,8 Mbps in 1920x1080i - For CBSHD, now, there is a drop in video bitrate because the Buffalo station was using 16.4 Mbps lately. The picture is a bit more pixelated but, overall, it's not bad.
Audio : 384 Kbps in DD5.1 - Nice sound quality, switching from DD2.0 to DD5.1 when needed.

PBSHD :
Video : 13.8 Mbps in 1920x1080i - The Mount Mansfield station would have a been a little better with a video bitrate around 15.2 Mbps but it's still better than the Buffalo's OTA.
Audio : 384 Kbps in DD5.1

FOXHD Local only broadcast (I didn't catch a HD show yet...)
Video : 14.6 Mbps in 1280x720P. Good for a 1280x720P station.
Audio : 384 Kbps in DD2.0 (quite normal for local).

So, for now, I think those stations are a bit too "young" to be considered "stable". Since the unappropriated HD substitution forced by Rogers, Videotron has no choice to switch their HD source earlier than expected.

Kaphyr
http://illico2.tripod.com/
Kaphyr is offline  
post #8 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-16, 10:44 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
Thanks for the report, Kaphyr.

Will check PBSHD and CBSHD in a few minutes after they were both recorded for 2 hour programs.

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #9 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-16, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 204
I've combined my reading with the one that MFabien just send me (Thanks!).

For CBSHD, the average video bitrate is around 15.0 Mbps, which is quite good for a HD OTA form the USA.

For PBSHD, the new value is a little higher. The video bitrate is around 14.6 Mbps instead of 13.9 Mbps.

Those variations in video bitrate are quite normal. With more and more values, the average result will be more precise.

Kaphyr
http://illico2.tripod.com/
Kaphyr is offline  
post #10 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-17, 02:45 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 138
I complained 3 times over the past 2 months to the CRTC, about Videotron's simsub of HD channels (with Global/CTV Toronto or Ottawa). I got a letter, a week ago, from the CRTC, asking Videotron to see to it. Apparently, it worked.
jfdube is offline  
post #11 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-17, 10:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal/Ottawa
Posts: 1,029
I noticed on Videotron's list that they made a mistake with the WVNY listing. They identified it as coming from Plattsburgh, even though that station is licensed to Burlington.

Is the PBS feed being used the MountainLake one as well?

Also, does anyone know how Videotron is receiving the stations at their headend? I assume they are getting CBS, FOX, NBC, and PBS over-the-air since their signals are so strong and easy to receive in Montreal, but I wonder if they have a fiber link to receive ABC since the OTA signal on channel 13 is so weak and unstable.
foxfan is offline  
post #12 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-18, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montréal: Akai PDP4273; Bell 6131, Xbox 360, Philips Soundbar
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxfan View Post
Is the PBS feed being used the MountainLake one as well?
Yep they are.. I would of chosen the Burlington feed for consistency!
craigstar is offline  
post #13 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-18, 03:34 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal/Ottawa
Posts: 1,029
Well, MountainLake, which is a single local station has a greater focus on Montreal than VPT, which has stations throughout Vermont.

Like Fox, ABC, and more recently NBC, MountainLake IDs itself as a Montreal station.
foxfan is offline  
post #14 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-18, 09:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 9
Has anyone noticed that, so far tonite, none of the network (NBC) programming on 652 (WPTZ?) has been streamed in HD? Also did anyone (besides me) complain to Videotron about the Survivor HD simsub (with Global's SD pillarbar content) on Thursday Night?
MisterEd is offline  
post #15 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-19, 12:07 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
NBC's game shows are not in HD. Survivor isn't broadcast in HD either.
themanfromvlad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome