Videotron Changes HD Sources From Buffalo to Plattsburgh NY/Burlington VT - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-21, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
Agreed. I'd love to see western feeds. But outside of football season I don't really need it as I have the dual-tuner 8300HD recorder so I never miss shows.

For now, at least Global carries an HD game each week (usually a simsub of one of the Buffalo stations games). With the exception of last week, we're likely to gain another HD game each week until season's end.
morden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-21, 02:40 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mtl,PQ,Can
Posts: 260
Thats what I do brother.

Panasonic VT-60,LG 55LW5700,Playstion TV, Fibe Pvr+wireless,YAMAHA RXV-467, .HARMONY 520,XBOX360#5+HD-DVD.PS4

Last edited by 57; 2006-12-21 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
newf is offline  
post #33 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-23, 04:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 321
My AV receiver displays changes in the audio format whenever my cable box changes channels.

Whereas CBSHD used to be DD5.1, this afternoon it is coming in as 2.0 just like NBCHD. PBSHD used to be 2.0, and now it is 5.1, like ABCHD is now.

RC remains 5.1, even though I have seen it carry 2.0 programming which only comes out of the front left and right speakers inspite of the 5.1 feed being permanently enabled.

It is nice to see more and more channels now carrying 5.1, but why must CBSHD be downgraded from 5.1 to 2.0?

I also imagine Videotron in Montreal is picking up these cross-border HD stations in Vermont and New York State using line of sight antennae, which must be a lot cheaper than paying a royalty to access Buffalo stations via satellite links.

Montreal

Last edited by montreal; 2006-12-23 at 04:43 PM.
montreal is offline  
 
post #34 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 321
UPDATE TO MY PREVIOUS POST.

I've noticed since posting that PBSHD can toggle between 5.1 and 2.0 depending on the program, just like ABCHD.

But I've yet to see CBSHD come in as 5.1, even last night during primetime.

Perhaps all the kilobits are allocated on Videotron for 5.1, but the station is not re-transmitting the network feed in 5.1?

Montreal
montreal is offline  
post #35 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
I was at a buddies and saw a college basketball game on CBSHD with 5.1 sound. I guess it just depends on the programming.

Check out the NFL games today and see what kind of sound you get. I personally don't have an AVR so I can't check for myself.

PS. Merry Christmas everyone!
morden is offline  
post #36 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 321
morden, you are correct. CBSHD (football) is now showing as 5.1 and NBCHD, ABCHD, and PBSHD are all back at 2.0.

This all means that it is completely program driven, although as I mentioned earlier, Radio Canada leaves the audio channel on at 5.1 even if only stereo is passing through it.

Thanks for you holiday wishes.

Montreal
montreal is offline  
post #37 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-25, 12:11 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Has anyone else noticed that HD content from WPTZseems to have a lot of noise ("static") in red areas? I first saw this in last week's broadcast of "Studio 60 on The Sunset Strip" but it was really only noticeable as speckling in darker areas, and almost only when I was going through it frame by frame (after I first thought I was seeing things), but Sunday morning's broadcast of "Today" showed it much more clearly. I haven't yet asked Videotron about this but the other HD channels seem to be free of this...
htom is offline  
post #38 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 12:12 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
See the Digital Home FAQ (under help) "What's available in DD5.1".

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #39 of 65 (permalink) Old 2006-12-27, 01:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: montreal
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57
See the Digital Home FAQ (under help) "What's available in DD5.1".
As you state there, if only stereo is being supplied on a DD5.1 channel, the affilate is not (re) encoding properly.

Suppose that only stereo is available to the network source or affilate relay. Who in this case should be synthesizing the 5.1 from 2.0?

If I let my AV receiver do it, sometime there is so much phasing problems that the audio quality is deteriated. I then have the option of just letting the 2.0 come out without any distortion, and forget about surround.

Perhaps the networks know that if they try to fabricate 5.1 from 2.0 on behalf of their viewers, they are going to end up botching the job as much as my AV receiver.

Some 2.0 programs convert easily to 5.1 when the original 2.0 was mixed-down well in the studio. Other times, the audio engineer has placed the different sources in a non-coherent way within the pan between left to right.

Personnally, I would rather the networks did not encode 2.0 to 5.1 and leave me with final choice based on how well my AV receiver sorts out this mess.

Montreal
montreal is offline  
post #40 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-01, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brossard, PQ
Posts: 276
Cool SuperBowl in HD with American Ads

If I understand correctly the CRTC requires that to request a SIMSUB the requesting service; GLOBAL or CTV for instance, MUST offer an OTA signal that matches in quality the originating service; ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX or PBS.

I do not believe that GLOBAL or CTV currently offer OTA HD digital feeds in the Montreal region.

I anticipate An American SuperBowl with NO SIMSUBs this January!

An observation
SonyWE610Owner is offline  
post #41 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-01, 04:05 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal/Ottawa
Posts: 1,029
I would still have a cheap loop antenna to watch it from WCAX just in case.
foxfan is offline  
post #42 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-01, 07:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,139
I don't think Videotron customers have anything to worry about in terms of the Superbowl.
bigoranget is offline  
post #43 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
Or just get the western CBS feed (unsubstituted last year) and flip over to see the ads. That's what I did.
morden is offline  
post #44 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brossard, PQ
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by morden View Post
Or just get the western CBS feed (unsubstituted last year) and flip over to see the ads. That's what I did.
Videotron doesn't offer the western feeds.
SonyWE610Owner is offline  
post #45 of 65 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pointe-Claire
Posts: 150
I was referring to the western SD feeds.
morden is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome