Illico"learning remote" has learning disability - HELPPP - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-11-25, 02:09 AM Thread Starter
MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Illico"learning remote" has learning disability - HELPPP

I'm going insane here with this. I've got an Illico remote (model RC-U49C - 15+) and the learning function is beyond screwy. Videotron's manual claism that for setting the function for, say, the TV control, you should simultaneously push the "select" and TV" buttons, wait for the LED to flsh two times and then enter the product code as indicated in the big manufacturer list. Easy enough BUT... pushing these two buttons simultanously doesn't cause anything to flash twice, instead it causes the target button (in my example case, the "TV" button) to light and stay lit until another key is pressed. The second I try entering in the manufacturer code, the "CBL" button inexplicably lights up as the other key goes out, and nothing happens at all!

Is the Videotron guide giving outdated or inaccurate programming information, ir is my remote defective?
MD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-11-25, 06:15 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
The User Guide may help:

http://www.timewarnercable.com/Media...ol%20Guide.pdf

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-11-25, 11:40 PM Thread Starter
MD
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 101
Nope, sadly. Has anyone using Videotron been able to program this remote?
MD is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-11-26, 05:47 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
The instructions say:

Turn ON the TV,

Press the TV button THEN the Select button together until the TV button illuminates
(you must first press the TV button)

The Press CH up for as long as it takes for the TV to go OFF. As soon as the TV is OFF, release the CH up button.

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-11-29, 01:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
I could not program mine by entering the numerical codes, I had to use the 'scanning' technique and so far i've only 'found' the TV code, not the DVD.

As pointed out by the previous post; after getting the light which corresponds to the right peripheral on, you alternately click on the Power and CH+ or CH- keys until the peripheral shuts off.
Hopes this helps
Tanta is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-12-06, 01:09 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 195
Press Mute and Select until the light goes around at the top, after press Channel+ until the TV shutdown, when it dows, remove your hand from ch+ and test it with Mute, if the the TV doesn't open, press channel- one time and wait, if the TV doesn't open, hit again channel- and wait, do that until the tv open, after that, press Select...

If no code is working or that isn't working, just call Vidéotron, we have other code that may work
SyStEm[666] is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 2006-12-29, 11:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Gatineau QC
Posts: 30
Question RT-U49C-15+ aka Checkmate IV+ codes?

Can someone post a full list of ID codes for the Illico Remote that comes with the PACE 551 HD?

Using the search function (Setting+MUTE CH+ ) I've found a few unlisted codes that are not listed anywhere. I'll post the details later tonight but in short, the code for my Toshiba TV is listed under an entirely different brand and the code found for my Yamaha receiver is unlisted altogether.

I am still looking for the code for a Toshiba RD-XS32 DVD/HDD recorder.
Stavr0 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 2007-01-02, 12:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 195
SyStEm[666] is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 08:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Another Method

I tried lots of methods posted on this site for programming the RT-U49C I got with my Videotron cable. I was about the give up but noticed on the back of the battery case instructions that worked.

Press and hold SELECT and MUTE
6 buttons will light up in sequence and continue to dance around...
Hold down channel up until the set shuts off
When the set shuts off press MUTE.
If comes back on press SELECT to Lock your code
If it does not come back on press channel down one at a time until the set come back on, then press SELECT to lock your codes.

The 3 digit code method is similar to the other methods except it uses the buttons in this instruction instead of SELECT AND TV like the other instructions.

Good Luck
bezarah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome