HiDef Only Subscription - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-11-09, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 58
HiDef Only Subscription

I've found that ever since I bought my HiDef TV I am watching HiDef almost exclusively. I very rarely ever watch any of the SD channels any more.

So I was wondering what the most cost effective subscription package might be if I only want the HiDef channels (all of them except TMN HD). Can I just get the basic package (which I believe is mandatory) and then add the HD Extra package? Do I need the US channels package too?

Also, if I go this route, can I still receive basic analog on my other TV for free?

Thanks.
Flavius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-11-09, 02:41 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
I think your best bet would be to get the 30 channel package. That includes the analog signal. Then you would have to pick 30 channels that have an equivant HD version, add on the HD extra and you are at the lowest price possible. Which is mostly likely quite high. If you could ditch the analog then pick the 20 channel package + HD extra. Or buy another used STB for $50. If you can save $50 per year then you are ahead at the end of the year.

Don't forget the $3 fee for 2 STBs. HD Extra is $6/month. 2 STB = $3/month, 3+ STB = $5/month

Edit: 30 for $30 = $51/month
20 for $20 = $43/month
Jake is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-11-10, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 58
But what if I don't get any of the extra packages (20 ch. or 30 ch.). Can I still get the HD channels?

Thanks for the reply.
Flavius is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-11-10, 02:54 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
No you can't because you have to subscribe to the SD version to be able to purchase the HD Extra package. They have their back doors covered, that is for sure. Plus if you take '20 a la carte' you must pick 50% Canadian channels.

You may be better off waiting for OTA HD then get your HD fix that way. A lot of people in Toronto-area already have that luxury.

If you could Get the HD Extra package without 'a la carte' channels you would not have access to ABCHD, NBCHD, CBSHD, PBSHD, FOXHD, TSNHD, RSNHD, Discovery HD since you would not be subscribed to the SD version. If this is not right somebody please correct me.
Jake is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-11-10, 03:24 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
The combinations are endless so I suggest you use the Illico tool to figure out your final monthly fee. Click on the LINK and select RATES in the left side column.
Jake is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-12-17, 06:49 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18
Flavius,

Basic(12$) + US(5$) + Movies(4$) = 21$
This will get you 7 free HD.

Mike50
Mike50 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-12-17, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 58
I don't see a Movies ($4) choice? Is this one of the theme choices?
Flavius is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-12-17, 09:41 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius
I don't see a Movies ($4) choice? Is this one of the theme choices?
Yes, its listed in their leaflet. You must add 2 themes to the basic.

Mike50
Mike50 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-10, 12:31 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gatineau, QC (Videotron)
Posts: 69
i thgouht you needed at least 20 channel package or anglo to get access to free analog televisions in the house..

Panny 34WX15, BenQ FP241VW, Yamaha YHTB5570, Pace 551, Toshiba A30, PS2, Wii, Xbox 360, Harmony 680, HD-PVR, PS3
BerinG is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-10, 01:40 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
You need at least the 30 channel package or iTelemax to get free analog cable.
Jake is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome