New Member Videotron Cable Discussion Thread - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-09-15, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
New Member Videotron Cable Discussion Thread

In an effort to reduce spammers and to deal with one off questions, Digital Home Canada restricts new members from posting new threads until they have been with us for 3 days..

New members are welcome to post their questions into existing threads, however, if you have a question or comment that doesn't fit neatly into any existing thread then please post your question in this thread and you'll be sure to get the assistance you need.

If you're having any problems with using the forums or don't understand then please check out our Digital Home Canada Help forum where we answer Frequently Asked questions.

In the Help Forum, you will also find the Rules of the Forum. You are required to know and abide by them prior to posting.

Also be sure to check out the stickied threads at the top of this forum. Stickied threads generally answer many of the common questions or discuss popular issues.

We welcome all new members and hope that once you get your questions answered, you'll give back to others by answering their questions.




Last edited by hugh; 2005-12-24 at 03:44 PM.
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2005-12-08, 09:02 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
For new members here and new to HDTV, this link will provide a simplified presentation to HDTV and what you need with Videotron (and Rogers) to receive the HD channels.

http://www.scientificatlanta.com/Demo/HD/

Samsung LN52B750, SVS PB12-ISD, Harmony One, HD-A1, BDP-1400, Oppo DV-970HD, Yamaha RX-V371
mfabien is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-06, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Videotron CableCARD Support Redux

Hi Everyone,

I could not post in the existing thread for this since it has been closed.

My question is, does anyone have ANY inside info as to when/if Videotron
will support CableCARD.

I do not care if it is the One-Way CableCARD as the reason for wanting it is
only for the freedom of choosing which box i want to use for my PVR.

At the risk of offending people here, i think the Scientific Atlanta 8000HD/8300HD
suck big floppy donkey d*ck!

I bought a TiVo the year after it came out and it completely changed the way
i watched TV. When DirecTV came out with the TiVos built-in to the satellite
receivers, i switched to that.

After being totally out of touch with Canadian programming for so long, i came
back to a Canadian provider. I started with ExpressVu and got their PVR. It was
AWFUL! The TiVo interface and functionality was lightyears ahead of that PVR.

So i bought another TiVo and hacked it to work with ExpressVu. Then HDTV
came and i needed to be able to record shows in HDTV. The only one allowing
this at the time was Videotron. So i got a SA8000HD and realized it was even
worse than the ExpressVu ones! But i was stuck with it cause there were no
alternatives. Even when ExpressVu came out with their HDTV PVR, i tried it
at a friend's house and it it nowhere near TiVo.

So right now, i have the SA8000HD connected to an HDTV in the living room
and a PACE HD connected to a TiVo. The pace downconverts the HD channels
to the TiVo and i have TiVo goodness in the bedroom with excellent SD quality
on an SDTV.

Problem is i want to do to the SA8000HD what the guys from Office Space did
to the printer that always had the paper jams.

The only way for me to do this, is to have Videotron support CableCARD and
then i can get an HDTV TiVo Series 3. That would be heaven. And once you
guys who have never seen a TiVo and think they love their Scientific Atlanta
get your hands on one, you will praise the heavens!

The HDTV TiVo Series 3 will come with 6 Tuners.

2 For Digital Cable
2 For Analog Cable
2 For ATSC Over-The-Air

All the goodies you can think of will also be there. I can't wait!

I just need to know i am not getting my hopes up for nothing.

If you want to read something about the just announced TiVo and see some
pictures, point your browsers to http://www.tivolovers.com/252572.html

In the meantime, can someone give me an answer? Will Videotron support
CableCARD?

Thanks for reading this convoluted post!
Pr.Sinister is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-06, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 238
Mfabien pourait tu ecrire a ton contact a propos des cables card? J'ai appelé le soutien et le sevice a la clientell pour aider Sister mais ils semble pas savoir de quoi je parle lorsque que l'ont parle du Cable Card.

Merci

JC

Jean Claude
Jean Claude is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-06, 04:37 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 238
Sinister

J"ai trouver ceci apropos des cable card chez videotron c'est la 2e question dans ce petit video et date de mars 2005

http://www.videotron.com/services/st...t_05-03-14.wmv

Jean Claude
Jean Claude is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-07, 01:42 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks Jean-Claude.

Nice to see they at least know what it is... Although her explanation wasn't
totally accurate.

If it's true what she says about watching where the market is going, then it
could be considered good news.

In the US, the FCC is mandating that EVERY cable operator MUST provide
customers with CableCARD technology. If Videotron finally accepts the fact
that people love choice and not being forced into buying sub-par hardware,
we should see CableCARD support in the future. How near? Probably not that
near but at least there is hope.
Pr.Sinister is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-23, 05:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
I've been wondering some things about tivo, cablecard and videotron and maybe you could clear some things i have in mind.

From what i know, tivo isn't officially supported in canada and you need to get the tv listings from tivo for a cost per month. Is it still possible to do that here?

I've been wondering about going the hd way with videotron and i too don't want to use their box. I either want to build myself a mythtv/mce computer with a SD tuner for now and when the cablecards get out buy a hd tuner or buy a tivo series 3 when they get out.

If you simply give me advice about those subjects, i would be really happy.

Thanks
Vincent
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-23, 10:24 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,076
If you do a search for "cablecard" you'll find several threads on the subject and that they may not come to Canada for a while.

If you search for TiVo (in the subject line - Title) you'll find threads discussing how to "TiVo".

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-23, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]
From what i know, tivo isn't officially supported in canada and you need to get the tv listings from tivo for a cost per month. Is it still possible to do that here?
TiVo is supported here so yes you can get your Videotron, ExpressVU,
StarChoice, Cogeco & Rogers listings.

I say don't go for the HDTV PVR if you can wait. It sucks. MCE is way better
even if it is SD. But if you are gonna build it from scratch, you might aswell
get a TiVo and sell it when the Series 3 Comes out.

Just my biased opinion (I LOVE TiVo!)

-Pr.
Pr.Sinister is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2006-01-23, 02:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
What i don't get is that with tivo you have yo pay to get the listings even though they are available freely on the net.

Also, correct me if i'm wrong but aren't the videos created with tivo drm protected?

I'm only trying to decide what to do and what's the best.

also, if videotron doesn't come out with cablecard, the tivo3 won't be usefull.

Last edited by [email protected]; 2006-01-23 at 02:58 PM.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome