DVI activation SA8000HD - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-02-20, 10:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
SA 8000HD DVI activation...

Hi,

Just wanted to mention for all interested that per my conversation with a higher-up Videotron tech today, they plan to have the DVI activated at some point in March. He said that the reason for the delay in getting the DVI activated is that since the OS upgrade is not reversible should there be a problem, they are doing significant testing to ensure that there aren't problems with certain brands/models of TV's before pushing out the upgrade.

When I asked him why Rogers has the upgrade out already, he implied that they don't test the updates to the same extent that Videotron does - that they pushed it out extremely quickly after SA sent the updates out to the various cable companies.

So anybody waiting for DVI - it shouldn't be too long now. And if you want to be an "early adopter" of the DVI OS upgrade, just call Videotron and ask to have your name added to "the list".

Cheers,
Ken.
Debaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-02-21, 12:46 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Debaser
...the OS upgrade is not reversible...
This statement makes no sense to me. If they can overwrite the current firmware, they can overwrite the "new" firmware.

What they could mean is that once people have DVI, if there were a problem, people would be upset if they had to go back to component video?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-02-21, 09:25 AM
stx
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 121
I just called Videotron and they are not aware of any "list"...

What's strange is before the technician put me on hold, he was interested and asked for what TV I have and if I already have a DVI cable. After waiting 5 minutes on the line he said, no, there is not such tests. Looks like they have enough testers already.
stx is offline  
 
post #4 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-02-21, 10:06 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 226
I have a DVI cable sitting right next to my component cables and can switch back and forth at any time. My HDTV is a Toshiba 46HX83. It is a RP CRT so I don't expect to see much improvement. I will try it though.
distox is offline  
post #5 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-02-21, 10:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
8000hd Dvi

Quote:
Originally Posted by 57
This statement makes no sense to me. If they can overwrite the current firmware, they can overwrite the "new" firmware.
This is what I thought too but maybe the updates are all designed to upgrade from "Y" to "Z" and are not full "Z" installs. And perhaps Videotron was stupid enough not to keep the original "X" version of the software which would be required in order to reinstall version "Y" back onto the boxes?

Or, more likely, they are just not making a priority of getting this upgrade out and are feeding me a load of baloney. But in any case, they do expect it to be out in March.

Thing is, calling a Videotron tech won't likely result in any further information, since only about 3 of their employees know anything about the HD PVR. I can only theorize, based on the discussions that I've had with various techs, that this guy did have a bit of an idea...
Debaser is offline  
post #6 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-01, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
I know its only the first day in March but does anyone have an update on the status of DVI?
dynot is offline  
post #7 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-03, 02:41 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Quote:
If they can overwrite the current firmware, they can overwrite the "new" firmware
Not true (at least not for users or vendors). My DVD player has firmware that once installed does not allow you to roll back to the previous vesion. I cannot guess as to why this is but the newer firmware does enable macrovision and some region coding stuff. So maybe they are required by law have some sort of mechanism that prevents users from rolling back once they impliment a security feature (like DVI HDCP) in firmware.
Jake is offline  
post #8 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-07, 02:57 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Debaser
Hi,

Just wanted to mention for all interested that per my conversation with a higher-up Videotron tech today, they plan to have the DVI activated at some point in March.

Cheers,
Ken.
Ken,

Did they mention if there are any bug fixes or other added features as well?

-Tony
distox is offline  
post #9 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-07, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Re: Other features

Quote:
Originally Posted by distox
Did they mention if there are any bug fixes or other added features as well?
Tony,

They didn't mention much about the update, other than to say that functionally it's the same one as was provided to Rogers. Videotron is still just "testing" it, whatever that means. So you can expect the same functionality out of it that Rogers people got - which is to say that pass-through and DVI will be activated (some other things were fixed for Rogers subscribers that weren't problems for Videotron subscribers, so they won't be relevant to us).
Debaser is offline  
post #10 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-24, 11:08 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Debaser,

Any update on a possible date for DVI?
Jake is offline  
post #11 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-24, 11:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lasalle, Qc H8R 2A3,
Posts: 87
I talked to a videotron tech support who told me tat for the 8000HD they were still waiting for an upgrade from Scientific Atlanta and they was no ETA as to when the DVI would be activated
apilon is offline  
post #12 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-26, 10:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Videotron techs...

They frequently don't know what they're talking about, and just say whatever they need to get you off of the phone. I know, I've been dealing with defective SA8000HD boxes for the last 10 months, and most techs are ridiculously incompetent.

My main point here is that they most definitely have received the upgrade from scientific atlanta. SA sends the updates to all their cable providers at the same time, and the 8000HD has had the DVI active for some time now in Rogers locations. Videotron has just not been putting much effort into getting this box going, so we're stuck waiting for them to "review" the functionality of the upgrade. It's been at least 2 months since DVI was activated on the 8000 by SA...

I'd recommend to call Videotron back and keep asking for a tech who is familiar with the 8000HD until you get one who is aware that they have received the update from SA. And then you can let us know if there's an actual ETA.
Debaser is offline  
post #13 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-26, 10:37 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
Perhaps we should apply a little pressure to get this done. An e-mail campaign could show them that there are people waiting for this. Otherwise they'll take their time if they percieve little interest from customers.

BTW, how would we know when this is done (other than reading it here)?
dynot is offline  
post #14 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-03-29, 05:45 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,210
I just joined this Forum and am pleased to see all of you Videotron cable members.

As for the DVI for the SA8000HD, this is what I wrote in another Forum on March 15:

"Following intense discussion with a Videotron CSR this morning and insistence that some technical supervisor, familiar with DVI/HDCP, contact me with answers...

I did receive a phone call this afternoon from the technical dept., and was assured that my DVI connection will be activated in approximately 30 days. I will be contacted again, before said activation, to be appropriately advised."

So that I would expect to be advised on or about April 15 that the update incorporating DVI is about to be made...that is if they keep there word.
mfabien is offline  
post #15 of 165 (permalink) Old 2005-04-01, 10:23 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfabien
I did receive a phone call this afternoon from the technical dept., and was assured that my DVI connection will be activated in approximately 30 days. I will be contacted again, before said activation, to be appropriately advised.
Whatever. Videotron has been saying 30 days now for over a year. Its a lost cause...
Raven_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome