Videotron New Channels Discussion - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-18, 09:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 117
One of the articles (links above) mentions that the new channels are being distributed using MPEG-4. Does anyone know if Videotron will be switching existing channels to MPEG-4? Wouldn't the better compression rate mean smaller file sizes and thus allow us to store more shows on the PVR?

Sharp Aquos LC-70LE732U, Pioneer VSX-921K, Videotron x8 PVR, PS3, Wii
seanofnine is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 01:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 39
Today I got my two new receivers to replace the old ones so I can get the new hd channels coming December 4th
marjasmai is offline  
post #93 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 10:11 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
For those of you interested in getting the new Cisco / Samsung illico 2 capable terminals that can handle Mpeg 4 feeds, Videotron has the $0 for 2 years rental promotion available.

Here are the details.

Details from Videotron web site:

Equipment on loan (promotion)
This limited-time offer is for new residential customers and classic cable TV customers. A subscription to a Custom 30 TV package or to any other TV package of equal or higher value of $58.28 is required. The Multi-room HD PVR must be kept for the duration of the rental period, i.e. 24 months. After the first 24 months, the regular rental fee will be $8.85/month. To use the feature, you need two illico TV new generation terminals, at least one of which needs to be a Multi-room HD PVR. The feature must be installed by a technician. The installation costs $59.95.

Last edited by expressmoria; 2013-11-20 at 02:45 PM. Reason: Additional info
expressmoria is offline  
 
post #94 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 11:39 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Tried going on their site but could not display page. I bet there is a ton of conditions for it to be $0.

Must have 2 other services which the other competitors do too.
-But I bet they state one must also spend a certain amount on tv.

-Kind of like their $10 unlimited internet which is not available on their smaller plans.

-These are restrictions that their main competitor (which they don't like using their name ) don't have.
rogue17 is offline  
post #95 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-21, 07:12 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjasmai View Post
Today I got my two new receivers to replace the old ones so I can get the new hd channels coming December 4th
Did you get a deal?

Phil
Phils is offline  
post #96 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-22, 09:46 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
I read in another forum that Videotron is planing to launch 2 Fireplace Channels in HD. No word on what date (maybe 4 December?), if they will be broadcast in Mpeg2 or Mpeg4 and what will be the difference between them.
expressmoria is offline  
post #97 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-11-22, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
Having switched to Bell early this year I have the two fireplace channels. The reason there are two is one plays english music and the other plays french music.
rainey is offline  
post #98 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 07:15 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
The 36 HD channels are now available, enjoy!

See this article for the channel numbers.
expressmoria is offline  
post #99 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 09:25 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Also, next year Videotron will launch TVA Sports 2 with its HD equivalent.. Sometime in the summer or before the 2014-2015 NHL season....
rogue17 is offline  
post #100 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 01:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brossard, PQ
Posts: 276
There's nothing new on my Cisco 8642 this morning.
Haven't checked the Samsung yet.
SonyWE610Owner is offline  
post #101 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 186
nothing new for me also on all my cisco boxes

Samsung HL-S7178, Panasonic TCP50ST50, OPPO DV-981HD, PS3 40gb, Onkyo TX-SR674, Videotron 8642HD PVR, Harmony One
Gillest is offline  
post #102 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 02:02 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
I checked this morning and both my Cisco 8642 HD PVR and my Samsung 8340 HD PVR were accessing the new HD channels. They are both running illico 2 and have the multi-room functionality.

Not sure if a reboot is required to enable the new HD channels.

I had rebooted both terminals the night before.
expressmoria is offline  
post #103 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 02:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brossard, PQ
Posts: 276
I have the same terminals, rebooted the Cisco no go.
Maybe later....
SonyWE610Owner is offline  
post #104 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 03:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 252
As I remember correctly the new Mpeg4 HD channels are not available for all areas served by Videotron.

Greater Montreal should be covered but not sure about Laval, the South Shore and other off island municipalities.

Best to call Videotron and find out if your location can access these channels.
expressmoria is offline  
post #105 of 166 (permalink) Old 2013-12-04, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 311
i didn't get all the new hd channel because i am a resident of rural gatineau. So for us it could be a couple years before we do get those new hd channel because all the system are not modernized yet.....
julie_rose_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome