illico TV New Generation - Page 12 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #166 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-10, 10:54 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
I have read this entire thread and was hoping to learn more about Illico TV New Generation.

This is what I understood if I'm not mistaken.

Illico TV New Generation= Illico 2.0 will only be available to Cisco boxes 4642 and 8642 and the Samsung boxes.

Illico 2.0 will have Mpeg4 but not Illico 1.0

Illico 2.0 will have Whole home PVR capabalities, record more than one show, as well as pause, rewind Live TV

Boxes that are older like the Scientific Atlantic will only be able to get Illico 1.0 so they will not be able to benefit from the inprovements that Illico 2.0 will have.
Example SA 4250 and the SA 8300

Is this right or have I misinterpreted something?


Is there anything that I missed?
rogue17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #167 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-11, 12:27 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,321
The 8300HD can record two programmes at once, while watching another prerecorded programme, since it has two tuners. It can also pause live TV.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #168 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-11, 09:21 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Ok thanks forgot about that. What about the other statements.

Rainey can you clarify on illico TV New Generation.
rogue17 is offline  
 
post #169 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-11, 11:43 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
All the comments about illico 2.0 are correct, except it can record 2 programs simultaneously while watching a recorded show.

Pause and rewind live programming works fine.

Cisco 8642 and Samsung are the only terminals capable of illico2.0.

If you have older terminals illico 1.0 still works and is not being fazed out at this time. You can have both illico versions in the same home, the terminal determines which version you have.

Multi-room capability to come by end of year (they say) same regarding mpeg4.
rainey is offline  
post #170 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-12, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Thanks Rainey,

So the SA 8300 can record 2 programs at the same time but can not get illiico 2.0. No whole home PVR and no mpeg4.

The Cisco 4642. Can it get the illico 2.0? And be able to do mpeg4. This model I imagine is the single tuner so it can not record 2 shows at the same time thus can not be used as whole home PVR.
rogue17 is offline  
post #171 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-12, 02:40 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,321
The 4642 is a STB, not a PVR. It is used in conjuntion with the 8642 in a WHPVR application - to watch programming in another room from the 8642 for example.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #172 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-13, 09:49 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 149
Wouldn't the inability of New Generation to connect an external hard drive for expanded storage be a deal killer for many people? I would be dead in the water without it on my SA8300HD.

Phil
Phils is offline  
post #173 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-13, 01:32 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
Illico 2 was released early 'to stem the flow'; without mpeg4 and the whole home PVR, it is not much of a deal at all. The Illico 2 guide scrolls slowly on the 4642. In contrast, Illico 1 is blazingly fast on my SA8300. For the moment, I prefer the simplicity of Illico 1.
Bell's equipment is in another superior league altogether.
Tanta is offline  
post #174 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-13, 01:52 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 339
Tanta I agree. I can not say I "dislike" illico 2.0 however after having it since June 1st, if I had a choice I would not have migrated and stayed with illico 1.0 until more things were worked out. For me is it faster but honestly aside from a colorful guide, 15day guide there is nothing really "new" about it.

That being said, what the new illico did give me is a way to compare to bellfibe which honestly is heads above anything videotron has to offer currently.
rainey is offline  
post #175 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-13, 02:12 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 186
I agree with both of these comments above from Tanta and Rainey. As far as I am concerned Illico II is just a marketing ploy to stop customer erosion to Bell. Illico II is no match for the technical advances that Bell Fibe already delivers today.

Samsung HL-S7178, Panasonic TCP50ST50, OPPO DV-981HD, PS3 40gb, Onkyo TX-SR674, Videotron 8642HD PVR, Harmony One
Gillest is offline  
post #176 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-21, 10:10 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 74
Anyone notice that sometimes the time display on the Cisco boxes isn't correct?
It screws up the recorded programs somewhat.
Bri in Mtl is offline  
post #177 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-22, 07:46 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
Yes! A cold reboot (unpplugging/replugging) resets to the correct time.
Tanta is offline  
post #178 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-22, 10:40 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
Gillest,
Quote:
As far as I am concerned Illico II is just a marketing ploy to stop customer erosion to Bell. Illico II is no match for the technical advances that Bell Fibe already delivers today.
You hit the nail on the head.

I agree with rainey and Tanta. Illico 2.0 is meant to stop the bleeding. But the thing is at this point I don't see Videotron catching up to Bell. P.K Peladeau is not willing to put money into innovation but rather publicity.

Bell was quiet for a long time but now has invested 6 billion in content in just 11 months. Something Quebecor would never do I would bet the house on this.

I hope I am wrong for the sake of all those people that bought hardware outright at $500.
rogue17 is offline  
post #179 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-08-29, 08:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Email sent to CS in regards to New Gen

My Cisco 8642 terminal software has been modified. As a result of this modification I have now less options and services then before.

Issue 1:
I have the PVR set to show only my package channels but when i turn off the PVR, it resets to all channels when i turn it back on.

Issue 2:
i am not able to browse the guide while watching a recording.

Issue 3:
Since the upgrade, the secondary power outlet no longer turns components connected to it on or off

Issue 4:
The up conversion 1 or 2 for picture format is no longer available, we may now switch manually by using the zoom option.

These options were available to me before the upgrade and are now removed without warning. My enjoyment has now been reduced and force me to reconsider my decade plus relationship with your company.

Even worse is that these problems are simple to have corrected and show a lack of customer concern and reeks of a product released before it is ready.
Phalk is offline  
post #180 of 199 (permalink) Old 2012-09-07, 08:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Playback problems since upgrade

I can no longer view programs that were recorded prior to the upgrade. When I contacted Videotron, they said this occurred with 3% of PVRs and their only solution is for me to reformat the drive.

I logged a formal complaint because this is not a solution to the problem!

The programs are on the PVR but cannot be viewed, anyone have any suggestions for me on how I can copy the programs to an external hard drive. My terminal is a Cisco 8642HD.

Thanks!
ldcgreen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome