Videotron Data Transfer Packages - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-21, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Videotron Data Transfer Packages

So I found myself going over the 50GB that Videotron gives me. I have the $55 8 Mbps package. For occasions like this they offer an extra 30GB for $12.50. I only wanted it for this month as it was not normal for me to go over my cap. I had the package added but soon found out that you cannot just get it for the month. The catch is you have to call back just before the end of your billing month to cancel it or it will continue indefinitely. I was under the impression that this was for occasional overages. After all, I can just get the 15Mbps package with 90GB for $1.50 less than I pay now if I wanted it to continue. Cheap tricks like that really don't help build customer loyalty.
Jake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-30, 09:24 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 302
I agree.

I really never rebounded from having a unlimited data cap account removed a couple of years ago and changed to 100GB without so much as a call or rebate to my bill.

I like Videotron, but not the stranglehold they have on the cable market (ISP) here is Quebec. Other companies like Teksavvy or Acanac cannot compete so what motivator is there for Videotron?
dunlop is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-30, 12:42 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Thumbs down it gets better

Just an update. You can ONLY remove your data transfer package on your billing date. Not before. So if your billing date is the 1st and you call on the 2nd to request the 30GB for the month you have to pay for that month and the next one too. Another cheap trick.
Jake is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-30, 01:51 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
This happened to me too, but I complained that their 'GB block advertising' was misleading....as it states clearly on their website, that you should 'obtain a spare block if you plan on going over your Gb limit in a given month'. It does not explicitly state that you have to 'keep the block for 30 days', from the day of purchase, which causes the typical carry-over. After I explained why this is dishonest marketing, they reversed the charges on the second month.
Tanta is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-09-30, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Thanks Tanta. How many calls back did it take to get your bill sorted out? I mean from the time they said they would apply a credit. I know from experience these corrections take 2 months and 3 pages of calculations to sort out. Toss in a rate change in the middle of it and you have yourself a good mystery.
Jake is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-10-03, 12:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 18
I've used this a few times, and there is a way to do it that is much more favorable to the customer.

Let's say your billing date is the 1st of the month.

If, during the month, you realize that you are over your limit, you should wait until the last day of the month (i.e. the 30th) to purchase your transfer package. You will only be charged 1/30th of the monthly cost of the transfer package for that month, even if you use the full amount of download capacity.

Then you need to wait the 30 days before you cancel the package, so you cancel it on the 30th of the next month. You pay the full amount for that month.

You end up paying 1.033 times the transfer package cost, but you get 2.0 times the download capacity!

Just be extra careful not to forget to buy and cancel the package before your billing date!

You can also buy and cancel transfer packages during an online chat with customer service, you don't really need to call.
pata is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-10-03, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,101
Quote:
You end up paying 1.033 times the transfer package cost, but you get 2.0 times the download capacity!
I wonder if that is an oversight on their part? I imagine the pro-rated price for the full 30GB will go away as soon as it gets popular.
Jake is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-10-11, 09:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 20
That surprises me as well, if I look at how they do data plans on their wireless service (phone), they do charge pro-rated but you also get pro-rated data block... I would expect the same from cable internet data plans.
maturmel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome