Videotron's internet security suite - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 08:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gatineau, QC
Posts: 321
Videotron's internet security suite

Anyone using it? is it recommended or should I stay away from it? I'm currently using the free version of AVG but am looking for a paying more complete version of a security suite. The Videotron option seems like a no hassle solution but not sure who's behind that security suite and some quick google research did not give any good results.

If Videotron's suite is not a good option, which Internet Security Suite would you recommend?
hamstercaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 08:09 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Quebec
Posts: 700
If you are behind a router, that is firewalled, and you have changed the default user and password logins ('Admin'), and use WPA, you should not need anything else, except maybe MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials, free). Security suites tend to be overkill. Do you have a specific security problem?
Tanta is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-07-20, 08:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gatineau, QC
Posts: 321
No problem that I know off. Just wanted to get something safer or better I guess. Just not too sure how to set up my firewall on my router. I'll have to google it to see exactly what I have to do. Just tried it a bit and wasn unable to do anything. Might have to call my friend in.

Thanks again
hamstercaster is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-10-07, 09:46 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
I've been using it for a few months now. I used to have a free home PC security package from Trend Micro through my former employer (I often used my home PC to VPN into work). Since I changed jobs, when my Trend Micro access expired I had to find another choice. I've long loathed paying for this stuff, but I opted for the Videotron Internet Security package. It's not that expensive, you pay by the month (about $5) and it's not the bandwidth pig that Trend Micro was - Trend Micro would literally slow my system to a crawl when it was doing it's daily definition updates.
Haggisboy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome