Getting a second illico terminal - Splitters - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 12:05 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 102
Getting a second illico terminal - Splitters

Hi
My Videotron currently has a 3-way splitter (1 in, 3 out):
1-Videotron phone
2-Videotron internet
3-Videotron illico

I want to get a second illico terminal for the basement. Do I just replace the 1 in / 3 out by a 1/4 splitter?
Stefx73 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 12:57 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,227
That's not the way it's usually done if you have phone and internet. The internet should usually be the first split (own splitter) and the phone/cable signals on the next splitter.

Videotron will probably do this properly and also test signal strength since once you've got this many splits you could end up with issues on one or more of your connections.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 02:28 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 102
Thanks for the reply

That's odd, it's Videotron that did this install a year ago (all working fine).

I checked again... yes, one coax from outside, into a 1-3 splitter.

I guess I'll have them come over for the 2nd terminal then.
Stefx73 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 10:20 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,585
the 1-3 splitter you see is probably an unbalanced splitter, one leg has a stronger signal, for your modem, while the others are lesser signal, its exactly the same as putting a 2-way splitter at the main line, and splitting one leg with another 2-way splitter, just less wires.
17671 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-08, 12:41 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,107
Paola is correct about the -3.5 leg on the 3-way splitter. The exact configuration is not set in stone though and it depends on your incoming signal strength. I was having signal level issues and the tech decided to shuffle things around. They also put locks on the splitter so unless you have the keyed wrench you cannot remove them yourself.
Jake is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-11, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 102
Makes sense, thanks
Stefx73 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2010-11-17, 07:35 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Québec city
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
That's not the way it's usually done if you have phone and internet. The internet should usually be the first split (own splitter) and the phone/cable signals on the next splitter.
When the tech did the install for me, first splitter was for my tv and the internet and phone.
Paskal1991 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2011-01-16, 09:45 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 37
I suggest you call the tech and they'll install a better splitter and make sure, as it's been said, that the signal is strong enough.

At first, I only had TV (2 digital + 3 analog) and the tech installed a regular splitter (1 in, 4 out) plus another splitter (1 from the first splitter became 1 digital + 1 analog only).

When I also switched for phone + internet, he installed a powered splitter and since then the signal is incredible even with analog. They did not charge me anything to do that, and their work is guaranteed. Those splitters costs more than $50 so why pay for this yourself?
BingoRingo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome