Videotron Loses Only Advantage Over Bell - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-03-25, 11:16 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 302
Quote:
BUt wait....did you know that Videotron forces us to give them a one month notice before you can cancel ? Odd eh ?? One can switch phone companies in one day but Videotron seems to have this clause that one must wait a month ? oh well ... after waiting 20 years, I guess we can wait an extra month.
Bell does this to (standard practice in the industry I assume), I had the same problem when I left them and then to rub salt in the wound, they intially told me I could not sell my receivers until the billing month was finished even though I had paid in full on my account (small threat about the better business bureau fixed that mighty quick )

I think if I could find a way to offload my videotron hardware to recoup the cost of buying the Bell HDPVR, I would take the plunge...but I am just too swamped (and lazy at the same time) atm.
dunlop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-06-28, 12:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gatineau, QC
Posts: 321
I moved back to Videotron just over a year ago as I was saving about $50 a month for more or less the same things. Granted, the HD offering is smaller with Videotron, all the channels I usually watch are offered by Videotron except for Oasis and HD net which I only miss when there's actually nothing on TV. The internet service with Videotron has been a lot more stable than Bell's since I joined back and the phone, at least for me, is cheaper and I like the free long distance from Videotron to Videotron feature too. I'm a happy Videotron customer even though I don't really like the owner.

It would definitly be nice if the hardware was cheaper although I got a HD receiver for $150 taxes included at Brault and Martineau when they had a promotion which is not bad at all.
hamstercaster is offline  
post #18 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-26, 11:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
Long-time Videotron client and I just recently switched to Bell. Never going back! A world of difference from the much better on-screen guide to vastly better channel choices. Very happy with their internet service and I have yet to experience any unreliable service.

I heard Bell is kicking V's butt since they started offering a-la-carte and I can understand why.
dynot is offline  
 
post #19 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-27, 09:56 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NCR
Posts: 799
I wonder what is going to happen now that TSN launched TSN-Habs that is available exclusively on Bell. Nice move from Bell and CTVGlobeMedia. Now they force Videotron to negotiate on TSN's terms or some of their customers will move to Bell. A win-win position for BCE.
hercules130 is offline  
post #20 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-28, 12:14 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 51
The main advantage of Videotron for me is that you never lose the signal in bad weather and that was the main reason I returned several years ago along with an la carte menu.
I know Bell have increased their signal since, but I believe you still get outages in extreme weather, right?
trapper38 is offline  
post #21 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-29, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 51
Well, do you still get a loss of signal with Bell in extreme weather conditions?
trapper38 is offline  
post #22 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-29, 11:05 PM
U
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,491
Yes, in extreme weather conditions you can lose the signal. Frankly though I have been with Bell for 9 years now and I can't even remember the last time it happened. It's probably happened to me 6 times (that I noticed) during those 9 years. I must admit I don't watch much TV, probably 10-15 hours a week or so.

Put it this way... If something like losing my satellite reception bothered me, I think I would have to start reassessing my priorities...
U is offline  
post #23 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-29, 11:10 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapper38 View Post
Well, do you still get a loss of signal with Bell in extreme weather conditions?
Yes, I can't speak for everyone but I certainly do. However their channel choice and superior on-screen guide more than make up for this occasional problem. Now Bell also offers 1080P movies which only adds to their advantage.

When their fiber optic service rolls out, the signal outage will no longer be a problem. Plus I hear its a huge leap forward.
dynot is offline  
post #24 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-10-30, 10:32 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 51
Thanks for the info. I was curious as to whether there was still a fall out in bad weather. I know it was a problem when I was with Bell and the only solution then was a larger dish, so I switched back to Videotron. There was also problems with internet and for me Videtron internet is superior to Bell.
So I guess Bell have got there act into gear now.
trapper38 is offline  
post #25 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-11-05, 09:36 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: RDL, Quebec
Posts: 47
Even in nice weather you can lose the signal...Bell = crap...
Stereomike is offline  
post #26 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-11-06, 12:18 AM
U
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereomike View Post
Even in nice weather you can lose the signal...Bell = crap...
Oh my, I hope you are not trolling but just in case...

Everything is a trade off. Losing the signal is certainly one of the disadvantages of Bell TV. There are however other advantages such as a modern interface, a better PVR, more HD channels to chose from etc. BTW, did you know that you can lose the signal with Videotron too? Ever heard of a cable cut? Yeah, they happen, even in nice weather...

It comes down to a matter of what is more important to you. You have to accept that other people have different priorities and needs and it doesn't mean that they are wrong.
U is offline  
post #27 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-11-06, 07:27 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: RDL, Quebec
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by U View Post
Oh my, I hope you are not trolling but just in case...

Everything is a trade off. Losing the signal is certainly one of the disadvantages of Bell TV. There are however other advantages such as a modern interface, a better PVR, more HD channels to chose from etc. BTW, did you know that you can lose the signal with Videotron too? Ever heard of a cable cut? Yeah, they happen, even in nice weather...

It comes down to a matter of what is more important to you. You have to accept that other people have different priorities and needs and it doesn't mean that they are wrong.
Trolling? This is the Videotron forum...

I was with Videotron for 4 years before switching to Bell, just so I would get the Golf Channel HD. I lost the signal once during a Paula Creamer interview, I was pissed off big time! I went berserk!

But it's not that bad, it's just frustrating when it happens at a bad moment.
Stereomike is offline  
post #28 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-11-16, 06:57 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Québec city
Posts: 42
I was with videotron 2 weeks ago. What made me change? Price, a free PVR for 2 years, and a second sd box free for 2 years too, more HD channel, quality of the image, and finally, when I was with videotron, when I lost TV (even during sunny daya ) I could not event call them or chat with an agent, becaause everytime, all my services shut down!

My set up:

Before ( videotron) :
High speed internet
Phone line with call display and long distance unlimited in quebec
Sur mesure 20, super ecran, TMN
Price : around 135$ plus tx

Now (bell)
Fibe 7 internet
Home phone choice line( with call display, call wating, call answer, three way calling, call forwarding) and unlimited LD call in quebec
A la carte 20, les favories, super ecran, TMN, and 4 HD thematique( with oasisHD! , tsn/2. HD, discovery HD , national geographic HD, etc)
Price :around 129 plus tx


I regret? Not at all! More services, cheaper!
Paskal1991 is offline  
post #29 of 30 (permalink) Old 2010-11-16, 07:07 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Québec city
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by SARPEDON View Post
...
BUt wait....did you know that Videotron forces us to give them a one month notice before you can cancel ? Odd eh ?? One can switch phone companies in one day but Videotron seems to have this clause that one must wait a month ? oh well ... after waiting 20 years, I guess we can wait an extra month.
It's is normal that they ask you a one month notice, it's only because, as any telecom's company bill you one month in advance. So the one month notice is only because you have already paid for that month.

Last edited by 57; 2011-02-12 at 10:38 AM. Reason: quote shortened
Paskal1991 is offline  
post #30 of 30 (permalink) Old 2011-02-12, 09:35 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 57
30-day notice? Yea more or less because you are billed in advance, but not neccessarily.
silverdragon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome