Videotron 2010 New Channels Discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-02-23, 06:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Just tried ch. 625 to check out APTN in HD and the channel number is not recognized, at least in Gatineau.
piques is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-02-23, 10:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 32
We can't get any new HD channel in Gatineau since their network is full.
mcbg1 is offline  
post #18 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-08, 08:19 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 103
A new french language cooking channel - Zeste

they are already showing the preview channel on 047 and 647 in HD channel launching on march 22nd
WestAust is offline  
 
post #19 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-27, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal Qc, Vidéotron SA 83000HD
Posts: 296
Yoopa will be added on channel 029 (SD) and 629 (HD) on April 1st, 2010.

Al-Jazeera English will be added on channel 173, also on April 1st.

Canal Indigo barker currently on channel 29 will either be removed on moved to another position. It will remain at channel 300.

Gatineau/Hull network is "full", but SDV is being deployed in that area, so expect the missing new services (LCN HD, Planète HD, APTN HD, Zeste) to be added soon.
InMontreal is offline  
post #20 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-29, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Yoopa!

That is great for TVA (Conflict of Interest) and the kids. What about the clients that have been paying and are still paying for Movipix, History, Movitime, Mexcess,Mfun etc. When do we get to see these in HD? I guess the anglophone, alophone and perfectlly bilingual market is of no interest to Videotron. Sooner or later some provider will come in and fill that void.
Mozzarella is offline  
post #21 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-29, 12:52 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal Qc, Vidéotron SA 83000HD
Posts: 296
The promo loop for Yoopa (only 45 seconds in lenght) was added this morning on channel 629 (HD) and 029 (SD).

Indigo barker channel at 029 moved to channel 048.

Avis De Recherche at 046 moved to channel 049. Suspect move... another Video On Demand barker channel coming on 046? (one for french, one for english)? Oh well...
InMontreal is offline  
post #22 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-29, 06:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 10
Why the hell is videotron adding Al-Jazeera before Fox News????
Canuckistan is offline  
post #23 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-30, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 280
Quote:
Why the hell is videotron adding Al-Jazeera before Fox News????
Higher demand?
Lower fees to carry the channel?
01 Boxer is offline  
post #24 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-03-30, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
What I'd like to know is why we don't get SyFy here, or is it a case of an American specialty channel being blocked by a Canadian one (Space)?
Haggisboy is offline  
post #25 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-08, 08:09 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 55
Mozzarella states:
Quote:
Sooner or later some provider will come in and fill that void.
have you looked at the number of posts here regarding new channels ? There are hardly any because new channels, especially English ones are rare at Videotron. As Canuckistan asked "Where's Fox News ?" One can also ask "where is TCM, AMC, free time shifting, twice HD programming, free TMN ON Demand, Peachtree TV, WGN, WSKG, HLN, Wpix 2, CNN International, etc etc etc - and more? Where - at BELL. They are providing these and more. Being national rather than regional, Bell is more open to providing new English channels than Videotron ever will be. Believe me - I know - I've been with Videotron for 25 years and just switched when Bell offered "a la carte" and couldn't be happier. No more lame excuses why certain channels are not being offered. Yeh, Al Jazeera over Fox News ??? Yep - demand by limited anglophone base at Videotron !! Only natural because in Canada nothing, but nothing is worse than hearing any American conservative views !
SARPEDON is offline  
post #26 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-08, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Unhappy Videtron and english Channels.

I do not know what the capacity of Videtron's infrastructure is to add more english channels in SD or HD. I was told by people at ASTRAL Media that band capacity is the reason we do not get the whole Movie network in HD. The only thing that I could think of is that they are saving their capacity for future french channels such as the 24 hour TVA sports channel (another conflict of interest.) Unfortunately for me I rent an apartment and I will not install a bell dish that is not on my property. I would encourage anyone else who is frustrated with Videotron to switch to Bell, espsecially now that they have a la carte as an option. I will be stuck with Videorton for the forseeable future.
Mozzarella is offline  
post #27 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-11, 10:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by SARPEDON View Post
Mozzarella states:
have you looked at the number of posts here regarding new channels ? There are hardly any because new channels, especially English ones are rare at Videotron. As Canuckistan asked "Where's Fox News ?" One can also ask "where is TCM, AMC, free time shifting, twice HD programming, free TMN ON Demand, Peachtree TV, WGN, WSKG, HLN, Wpix 2, CNN International, etc etc etc - and more? Where - at BELL. They are providing these and more. Being national rather than regional, Bell is more open to providing new English channels than Videotron ever will be. Believe me - I know - I've been with Videotron for 25 years and just switched when Bell offered "a la carte" and couldn't be happier. No more lame excuses why certain channels are not being offered. Yeh, Al Jazeera over Fox News ??? Yep - demand by limited anglophone base at Videotron !! Only natural because in Canada nothing, but nothing is worse than hearing any American conservative views !
Couldn't have said it better myself Sarpedon.

Since Bell came out with their a-la-carte option they have closed the gap considerably. Its hard to ignore their vast HD offering. I personally am also fed up with the on-screen guide being so slow and archaic and the inability to display only the channels I subscribe to. I realized how much I was missing after doing some research and all for roughly the same price. Haven't done all the math yet but I'm sure I'll see more savings bundling it with my internet and phone service.

I doubt Videotron can remain competitive anymore especially with the anglo/allo community. It seems they don't mind losing all that revenue and I for one am glad I'm not a shareholder!
dynot is offline  
post #28 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-12, 09:28 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by InMontreal View Post
Yoopa will be added on channel 029 (SD) and 629 (HD) on April 1st, 2010.

Al-Jazeera English will be added on channel 173, also on April 1st.

Canal Indigo barker currently on channel 29 will either be removed on moved to another position. It will remain at channel 300.

Gatineau/Hull network is "full", but SDV is being deployed in that area, so expect the missing new services (LCN HD, Planète HD, APTN HD, Zeste) to be added soon.
Hi InMontreal...

I live in Gatineau and I'm really annoyed by the fact that we can't get all the new channels (even non-HD and while they are free)...by Videotron.

You said that they where deploying "SDV"...can you explain what is that ? That's their new network ? Also, any ideas when is "soon" ?

I'm really fed up and thinking of going towards Bell HD...

Thanks !

Last edited by jeeep; 2010-04-12 at 09:37 AM. Reason: Update de la situation
jeeep is offline  
post #29 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-12, 09:54 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal Qc, Vidéotron SA 83000HD
Posts: 296
Since there's 250 channels on the network and each "cell" (group of 500 customers in an area) are not watching all 250 channels at the same time, SDV (Switched Digital Video) will allow the less-watched channels to be available automatically "on demand" when you tune in.

Each QAM contain either 2 HD channels or 12 regular channels. Currently in use in Montreal-West area, they can deliver 103 regular channels using 6 QAM instead of 9 using SDV. They could offer 6 more HD channels using the 3 spare QAMs.

"57" provided 2 good links in another thread. Happy reading!
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=51559
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=88296
InMontreal is offline  
post #30 of 123 (permalink) Old 2010-04-12, 10:04 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 28
Thumbs up

Great and interesting info ! Thanks

Do you have any inside news as to when we can expect the new channels to be available in Gatineau ?
jeeep is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome