While this thread is now 5 years old, I would like to add a comment about viewing archived films on an unauthorized PVR. Last week I replaced my 1st generation PVR with a second generation PVR and I wanted to make sure that I could still occasionally view my movies recorded on the older PVR. In spite of initially being told the incorrect procedure, I have since confirmed that the old PVR must be disconnected from the cable before it is unauthorized by the cable network. The unauthorization can take place after cable disconnection and the PVR will still remember that it was authorized at the moment of disconnection. If ever the PVR is newly connected to the cable by accident, it will immediately receive a deauthorization signal and my access to the movies will be lost. I asked tech support for how long the PVR would remember that it is authorized while never being connected to the cable. The answer I received was "forever". Whether you watch your archived films at home or take the PVR to a friend, by never connecting to a cable, your PVR doesn't care where it is operating.