Scientific Atlanta 8600HDC DVR ? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-09-23, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 111
Question Scientific Atlanta 8600HDC DVR ?

Hi, I'm just wondering if Videotron (or even Rogers) are working on a new DVR. I just saw that SA (now part of CISCO) have Informations about a new DVR, model 8600HDC. This new serie enable MediaNet, a new Home Sharing DVR Experience that enable you to watch stuff you DVRed into any room. You can Connect multiple DVR inside a house and watch the programs on any Connected DVR OR with the other models from that series (1600 and 4600). Thoses two model can't record, but can browse the MediaNet library !!

That would be reallllllllly awesome because i'm pretty sure that i'm not the only one who think that our current 8300HD is too old, with the SD Guide and Menus and small HD. The DVR From Bell are really better for the UI (I'm not talking about Signal quality, but the DVR itself).

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps10348/index.html if you want to see the details of the 8600HDC.
GoldstarQC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-09-23, 04:57 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Longueuil, QC
Posts: 261
know nothing about it right now, althought i heard rumors about these, probably in test by the engineering

Vive le fun!
Rookie_One is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-09-27, 08:46 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 17
I called Videotron about this close to a year ago and they said they were testing this but "don't hold your breath" since it has not been working in their lab as planned.

Too bad because it would be a great added benefit !
lexar is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-09-29, 07:50 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 338
Probably 2015.
DanTou is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 04:10 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Longueuil, QC
Posts: 261
i would rather say december 23 2012

Vive le fun!
Rookie_One is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 111
lexar: Are you sure it was the 8600HDC because it's new. Maybe you saw the "dead" multiroom 8300HD that was never really released ?
GoldstarQC is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-02, 11:00 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 332
The Explorer 8600HDC DVR Series does exist...

http://www.multichannel.com/article/...e_Home_DVR.php
EnderWiggin is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-04, 08:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 111
Nice ! So it's not just vaporWare ! I hope Videotron will release it to beat the PVR offering of Bell TV. The signal is better with Videotron, but the Hardware is so old ! If a least they would enable USB for recording on the SA 4250HD receiver, that would be on Par with Bell and their 6131 + External USB HD.

Last edited by GoldstarQC; 2009-10-04 at 08:01 AM. Reason: typo
GoldstarQC is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-04, 04:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 332
I love my 8300HD (except for the occasional issue with dropping signals when using the HDMI) but don't see much incentive to switch to the Explorer 8600HDC.
EnderWiggin is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-04, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 111
Maybe for you, but here, I have 4 HDTV and I would love to be able to watch any Recorded Stuff on each TV. I would take 1 Big 8600HDC + 3 4600 (the model that doesnt record, but is HD). This way, I would be able to watch anything I want on each Tv, including the programs in the DVR.
GoldstarQC is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-05, 05:44 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
I don't know what it means but last week I filled out a survey for Videotron and most of the questions were related to hardware... What kind of features I would like to see; Of a list, which features I would be interrested in; etc. and multiroom was in there as well as streaming from the web and other great options.
choquettej is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2009-10-07, 09:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sherbrooke, QC
Posts: 111
I hope it means they are checking what new hardware to bring to the clients by choosing between different model based on request by the clients. They probably already exist better hardware than Scientific Atlanta 8600HDC PVR, but I don't know the other brand of PVR, except TIVO.
GoldstarQC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome