Can you reprogram a 5900 pvr? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-06-10, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Can you reprogram a 5900 pvr?

I have a Bell 5900 pvr and am not with bell anymore. I am with shaw now and I am wondering if there is anyway I can reprogram it to work with shaw.
zoemel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2008-06-15, 10:23 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
Nope, it is a hardware preventing such, mostly.

Nobody is openly re-writing software for provider DVRs.

The hardware can only tune satellite, and it does not use DCII security.

You cannot use the DVR as a standalone with a Shaw box either, it has no A/V inputs or video encoder.
classicsat is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-09-17, 12:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Hi would it be the same for a shaw gateway pvr? was hoping to hook it up to vmedia?
stitchery is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-09-17, 12:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
As already stated, it's not possible in most cases due to hardware limitations. Even if it was possible, Canadian TV BDUs usually do not allow it and refuse to authorize a box they did not originally sell. The best bet is to sell the unit locally and put the money toward one designed for the new service. It might be possible to break even or come out ahead if buying used.

A few TV BDUs sell Android based boxes that can run apps and be used for other purposes. Even those are often modified in ways that make them useless for anything but the company's own service. A lot of BDUs now support other company's media players such as Apple TV or Android TV units but usually require at least one of the own proprietary units on the account. Third party boxes often have reduced functionality as well.

One company that does not require a proprietary device is Teksavvy TV. They use an app on generic Apple TV, Android TV or Amazon Fire Stick devices.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome