Bell 9500 Receiver - Page 11 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 21Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #151 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-09, 09:25 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 328
So I read some people say the 9500 had PIP brought back, but I don't see that listed on Bell's specification page or on the new remote control. I've talked them into giving me a free replacement for my 9400, but if it doesn't have PIP/channel swap brought back, I'm not even sure I want it. Can anybody confirm this?
mondoguitar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-10, 09:59 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by mondoguitar View Post
So I read some people say the 9500 had PIP brought back, but I don't see that listed on Bell's specification page or on the new remote control. I've talked them into giving me a free replacement for my 9400, but if it doesn't have PIP/channel swap brought back, I'm not even sure I want it. Can anybody confirm this?
The Bell 9500 Receiver does NOT have PIP...but neither did your 9400 so what is the issue?
dm_4u is offline  
post #153 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-10, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by dm_4u View Post
The Bell 9500 Receiver does NOT have PIP...but neither did your 9400 so what is the issue?
The issue is that their 9242, which melted to my TV stand 3 months ago, had PIP and channel swap and I'm trying to figure out why Bell likes to go backwards in features. The 9400 is a free rental they gave me that I'm not happy with.
mondoguitar is offline  
 
post #154 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-12, 11:53 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,341
I feel your pain...I still have 2 9242's along with a 9400 and a 9500.

Much more recording space on the latter two...but pip is really hard to replace.

I believe it's not only Bell that has eliminated pip...no tv manufacturer that I can think of has pip either and at one time it was common place.
dm_4u is offline  
post #155 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-24, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
This is a problem for me too coming from a 9241 and UHF remote. I split the signal to two TV's and simply want a way to control the 9500 from both rooms. Networked, UHF doesn't mater anything will do!

Thanks
Chinook82 is offline  
post #156 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-24, 10:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,274
Try doing a search for Wireless IR Repeater or Remote Control Extender. A Logitech Harmony Hub is another option. It works with a companion Harmony Remote, smartphone app, Amazon Alexa or Google Home.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #157 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-09-26, 12:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks ExDilbert, I was busy browsing Monoprice and others after I posted above. I've had a Harmony remote in the past, the Hub looks like a winner to me!
Chinook82 is offline  
post #158 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-26, 09:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Parry Sound, ON
Posts: 18
IR extender

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoff View Post
Has anyone had any luck purchasing an ir remote extender that they know will work with the bell 9500 receiver? I tried one and could not get it to work with this receiver. I do believe the remote extender was working as the lights would flash when I would hit buttons on the remote. Not sure why they got rid of the uhf with this remote and receiver.
For anyone who will do IR extenders, on the picture below i highlighted the place of where you would stick the extender LED, there are barely visible three holes for IR eyes
PorkySlutter is offline  
post #159 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-27, 02:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,274
There are two IR frequency bands commonly used for IR remotes. Some third party IR equipment and remotes do not support the band Dish/Bell equipment uses. IR repeaters and remotes should specify what frequencies or equipment they support. If they don't, assume Dish/Bell equipment isn't supported.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #160 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-28, 10:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 114
Is there any way to transfer recordings from a 9400 to a 9500? (is it possible with an external hard drive?)

Also, since I'd be replacing my 9400, are there any changes that need to be made to the satellite dish/lnb itself?
DialgaChampion is offline  
post #161 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-29, 02:53 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,574
@DialgaChampion There are earlier posts on the LNB and Duo hub, depending on what other equipment you have. Here's an earlier post on external hard drives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by emac View Post
My 9242 died yesterday so decided to upgrade to 9500. Got the 9500 swapped in and all's well except my 9242 ext HDD doesn't work on the 9500. It has to reformatted and I'd loose a pile of movies and documentaries that I've archived. Tried it on my 9241 and no problem, works fine. Asked the Bell installer and he said yup that's the deal. How could Bell be so stupid to bring out a new receiver that isn't backwards compatible with its previous PVR's ext HDDs ?? Maybe a software update would fix this?? Perhaps I should have went with a 9400 which apparently is compatible.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #162 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-29, 04:31 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by DialgaChampion View Post
Is there any way to transfer recordings from a 9400 to a 9500? (is it possible with an external hard drive?)
No. See the following thread:

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/58-...ive-facts.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #163 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-10-30, 12:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,274
It might be possible by copying the program files from the existing drive to a new drive formatted on the 9500. This procedure requires a Linux PC or live Linux distro to access the raw partitions. It works for 9200 series PVRs. Haven't tried it on 9400 or 9500 receivers.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #164 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-11-22, 08:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 135
PorkySlutter how are you using a Hybrid Duo Hub with a DPP Twin/Quad dual LNB? I thought that "hub" was only for the hybrid LNBs like the 1000.2!
HiroPro is offline  
post #165 of 173 (permalink) Old 2019-11-24, 01:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Parry Sound, ON
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiroPro View Post
PorkySlutter how are you using a Hybrid Duo Hub with a DPP Twin/Quad dual LNB? I thought that "hub" was only for the hybrid LNBs like the 1000.2!
Seems like the hub is just a high pass/low pass filter, 9500 works without it same as with it. Basically it only needed if you have 7500 installed as well.
PorkySlutter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome