Bell 6400 HD Receiver. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Thumbs up Bell 6400 HD Receiver.

As I said a while ago Bell are going to release a new HD Receiver, the 6400.








ORS = Outright Sale
RCP = Rental Choice Plan


Edit by 57: Link for Cap replacement photos:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...54#post2517754

Last edited by 57; 2015-05-27 at 12:29 AM. Reason: Link added
Pinza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 07:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
Good news. Its about time Bell went HD receivers only. The 4100 should have been gone 2 years ago. I noticed it said under new features that the 6400 has an updated guide. I wonder how exactly is it updated? As all MPEG4 models currently have the same guide anyway?
Blackloz is offline  
post #3 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 07:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
When I get my hands on one I will try to get some screen shots of the Guide.
Pinza is offline  
 
post #4 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 07:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,780
Wow! This is a completely new model from Echostar. Dish Network has nothing like it.

I guess Bell will now support HDMI officially since this box does not have component.
peano is offline  
post #5 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 08:27 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 292
Pinza do you forsee any problems with the lack of component input from an instalation point of veiw.

"The quality of your question will directly effect the quality of your answer"
Installer is offline  
post #6 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 08:31 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 520
Old (dvi only equipped TV's) and new equipement (ie. Projection monitors) will not allow audio to be delivered through HDMI of a device. What does a customer do in this case? FL and FR analog for surround sound?

Most of the time, HDMI Splitters will not resolve these issues either. I've seen brand new projectors disable the audio off HDMI because it cannot use it. The only solution was optical.

Anyway, HDMI still has major handshaking issues, I don't think its a right time to make HDMI the only option for HD Video and surround sound.

Everything
Costa is offline  
post #7 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 09:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
Old (dvi only equipped TV's) and new equipement (ie. Projection monitors) will not allow audio to be delivered through HDMI of a device. What does a customer do in this case? FL and FR analog for surround sound?
Pick up extra 6131's while you can before all the existing stock is sold off. Even if they are not activated right away. I made this mistake with the 9242 and only bought 1 when I should have got a few extra.
Blackloz is offline  
post #8 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-26, 09:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,780
Bell technical support:

"Sorry Mr. Customer that HDMI is not working. Please hook up your 60" plasma with the yellow, red and white connectors. Thank you for calling Bell. Is there anything else I can help with?"
peano is offline  
post #9 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 09:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,340
Yikes...now that is one very scary thought.
dm_4u is offline  
post #10 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 01:41 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,448
And yet another receiver with no UHF remote. Sad to see that trend....
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #11 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 07:48 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Is it just me, or is this essentially a downgrade with the possible exception of whatever the "improved channel guide" is?
Corizzle is offline  
post #12 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,090
If you really need the component or optical outputs I guess you could consider it a downgrade, but other than that it should do everything else the 6131 does. I'm curious to hear what they have in mind for the 2nd USB port for "future functionality".

More and more newer TVs are coming out without component inputs. A lot of them only have a coax input and 3 or 4 HDMI inputs, plus a dongle to use composite or component. But in my experience the dongles are garbage and I usually recommend picking up an HDMI cable instead.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #13 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-27, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
"Future Functionality", hmmm, sounds like the expansion port on the rear of the 5100, 5800, 5900 models, that was never used.
Pinza is offline  
post #14 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-28, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by peano View Post
I guess Bell will now support HDMI officially since this box does not have component.
They have it covered Peano......

Pinza is offline  
post #15 of 436 (permalink) Old 2012-01-28, 01:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,233
I assume this receiver will be sold at the same price as the 4100, i.e. $99? It seems easier to me just to drop the price of the 6131 ( I would prefer Bell stick with identical hardware to what Dish sells, so bugs get caught and fixed quicker).

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is online now  
Reply

Tags
6400 , bell

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome