OTA on BELL Receivers Without BTV Subscription? - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-09-23, 10:27 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
yeah,I am also receiving a partial guide but has none of the channels I receive on OTA.I tried an old 2700 that was deactivated for years and had the same partial Guide.My guess is that BEV deliberately gives us this partial guide(seems to not contain Canadian OTA) .I think they could have a complete guide but OTA folks would have benifited from it something they probably didn't want.
Voodoocobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-09-23, 06:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,090
Bell hasn't sold the 9242 in years, and it's been discontinued for a while now. There is no reason for them to support an OTA guide, when they don't support any receivers with an OTA input.

The partial guide that you're seeing on receivers used only for OTA is exactly what you'd see on any non-activated receiver.
JoeLouie is offline  
post #78 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-09-27, 08:04 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
I just grabbed an old 6100 at a yard sale for cheap.Wanted to use it for OTA but asks for smartcard.I was under the impression that it didn't need one.Anyhow it does and is there a way around this or is it good for the garbage man.
Voodoocobra is offline  
 
post #79 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-09-27, 08:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Garbage. Sounds like it had a Smart Card and the last owner probably kept the card because of the mistaken idea it can be used in another receiver.
Pinza is offline  
post #80 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-09-27, 08:29 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
Ok,thx Pinza
Voodoocobra is offline  
post #81 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-10-24, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
One of the OTA channels I was receiving on Bell 9200 changed thier channel decimal,Ex 15-1 to 15-3 and now I cannot receive it any more.However if I plug Coaxial directly to T.V it will receive it.I have tried several digital scans on 9200 without success.When I try to add single local channel on channel 15,I do get a strong signal but it will not memorize it for one reason or another.
Voodoocobra is offline  
post #82 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-10-25, 11:15 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
Found my answer for this:

Why does my digital TV show channels with decimals or dashes?
On a digital cable television system, the “physical” channel numbers have decimals or
dashes. However, some systems are designed to also provide “virtual” channel numbers
(VCNs) that present the channel as a digit whole number. Unfortunately, different
model digital TVs have different types of channel tuners and not all tuners can pick up
the VCNs.

If you have a digital HDTV that will not recognize the whole number virtual channel
after a channel scan, be sure to check the settings in the set-up menu – including setting
the clock if your TV has one. If this does not work, your TV tuner is probably not
capable of presenting the virtual channels.
Voodoocobra is offline  
post #83 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 03:14 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
Is it possible to put an ordinary splitter on Satellite coax to feed signal on Bell receivers for OTA.I am aware that I will be able to watch only one at a time of course.I don't want to install second dish for more satellite feeds.
Voodoocobra is offline  
post #84 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-11-19, 07:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Interesting question. I would hazard a guess at yes but I am not sure.

If you have 2 lines from an old Legacy LNBF, why not just add a cheap multi-switch ($5 to $10)?
Pinza is offline  
post #85 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 12:33 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Quebec
Posts: 275
I will give it a try this commeing weekend and let you know.
Voodoocobra is offline  
post #86 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,099
Yes it does work, as long as both tuners are on same polarity, 18V or 13V. If you tune both to 271 it will work.

If Life is a Highway,...then why is there no end to this dirtroad?
dirtroad is offline  
post #87 of 143 (permalink) Old 2013-11-20, 06:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
That makes perfect sense. Now as long as it is only used for OTA there should not be a problem but if you still want to pick up the Free Preview Channels, you will need full access to both 91 & 82.
Pinza is offline  
post #88 of 143 (permalink) Old 2014-05-14, 10:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Any way to get fta or ota channels through a cancelled Bell TV sub

I recently cancelled bell tv, but still have the dish pointed where it should be with all the wires intact. My question is, would i be able to get any channels if i bought a ota receiver and plugged it in the place of the bell receiver.
New to this kind of thing, so please guide me through it.

Thanks

Last edited by 57; 2014-05-15 at 12:49 AM. Reason: Moved to existing thread, please read earlier posts
mob123 is offline  
post #89 of 143 (permalink) Old 2014-05-14, 11:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
No you would not get any FTA channels on Bell satellites.
capersx2 is offline  
post #90 of 143 (permalink) Old 2014-05-15, 12:09 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 1,319
You would get the OTA channels if you had a OTA box(9242, 6141, 9200).
jdevlin is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome