9241 Internal hard drive replacement - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-01-12, 12:18 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
is there a current list of drives that will work with t he 9241?

Does the Seagate ST1000vM002 1tb work? I know I just put one of these into a 9400 and it worked flawlessly. I even created the HD replacement thread for the 9400.

The versions were

Old ES22
New SC11
coxwain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-03-01, 12:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Just got one today... Mine is an SC12?
Jerico is offline  
post #123 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-03-01, 12:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtroad View Post
When you installed & plugged your harddrive in and then plugged your pvr in, the pvr should recognize it, say data is corrupted on it and then format it. If it did not, is there any chance that the drive is not functional or a cable not connected properly.
If your pvr didn't recognize it, have you tried it in anything else, like a PC just to verify the drive works?
I also just tried an SC12 and on boot up the receiver says it has a hard drive error# 311

Nothing about it being corrupt and needing to reformat or the like.

Edit: Used Diagnostics for Hard Drive... laughingly says "This test will take between 0 and 0 minutes". Will keep updating post.

Edit2: Test failed "HD_NO_DRIVE_FOUND". F
Jerico is offline  
 
post #124 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-03-10, 08:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
I tried the sc12 drive in my 9242 and it did everything as expected. So I cleaned off the original drive in the 9242 and am going to install the new seagate into the 9242 and take the 9242 drive to put into the 9241. Wish me luck!
Jerico is offline  
post #125 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-10-25, 06:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
F.Y.I.

Spent numerous hours trying to replace the HD in a 9241.

I can confirm that ST1000VM002 with FW - SC12 will not work! It has to be a SC-11. The PVR will not recognize the SC12.

On a brighter note - We can add the Seagate ST31000424CS with FW - CA12 to the outdated list. It's a 1TB Pipeline.

Also, I can confirm the remedy that was posted earlier works. For those stuck with the RED blinking light of death, just plug in a working external drive(NTFS) into the rear USB of the PVR. A message screen will populate to ask for a FORMAT - obviously, disconnect the external drive but you can now return to the menu & erase the VRAM to eliminate the blinking red light of death.

Good Luck,
IPTV_Tester is offline  
post #126 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-11-30, 09:40 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Can someone please confirm that any Seagate ST3500830SCE will work in a 9242? Not sure if there are different firmwares for this model drive? I found a reasonably priced one on ebay and just want to make sure it will work in my dvr. Thanks
zcarguy is offline  
post #127 of 150 (permalink) Old 2017-12-13, 08:52 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Been trying for days to get ST1000VM002 to work in my 9241, with no luck. It is SC11. The TV works (fixed Caps), but it wont pick up the Hard Drive. The TV only works with the damaged Toshiba 1TB installed. But no PVR. When I use the Seagate, it gets to Satellite progress 2 of 5 and restarts itself. Taking me to Error 311. I've read this whole post multiple times. This is a frustrating issue.
BellSat4Life is offline  
post #128 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-03-07, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 104
Currently getting screen that says potential problems with record and pause on 9241. Also error code 05b1. Everything else works fine. Does this mean a HD replacement. Thanks
jacjames is offline  
post #129 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-03-18, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
If anyone needs a Hard Disk for there 9241 I have a couple kicking around for sale, collecting dust you can PM me and I can either help in the forum or through PM.
m3repair is offline  
post #130 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-03-22, 11:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by m3repair View Post
If anyone needs a Hard Disk for there 9241 I have a couple kicking around for sale, collecting dust you can PM me and I can either help in the forum or through PM.
Hey Im new guy, Seagate 1TB Internal HDD 3.5" SATA ST31000322CS will work my new 9241T tht Telus?? but looks like Bell yah I was searched over how works for HHD 1TB and keep low power, low 8mb, 5,900rpm but tht SATA has 3g/s, idk wat firmware SC13? but my old HHD 320GB tht fw: ES12 if i was think bout new upgrade for next to level up?? but im not skilled with technically things.. well idk? if does work? let me know thanks! lol
NewTelus9241T is offline  
post #131 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-04-01, 10:15 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
Provided the model number is exactly like mentioned it will work even for Telus 9241, they are the same as bells 9241 just the logos are rebranded in the receiver
m3repair is offline  
post #132 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-06-04, 04:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
I got a 9241 from Bell a number of years back as a "Good customer" deal where they gave me the machine for free, but I had to remain a customer for 2 years. At the end of the 2 years, Id own the 9241 outright. Well at the end of the 2 years, they sent a letter that said, if I did nothing, they would extend the warranty to 3 years, but I had to remain a customer and that at the end of the 3rd year, Id own the 9241 outright. Very near the end of the 3 years, the device died (don't remember / know exactly) and they warranty replaced the 9241. The original had a 500GB HDD, the replacement came with a 1TB HDD (woohoo!!). That was a few years back and now, the replacement 9241 has had a HDD failure, and there is no warranty. I've opened the 9241 and removed the HDD to get an exact model number off the HDD and I have sourced and ordered a used one from someone in Nova Scotia with 779 ebay sales and 100% customer satisfaction.. so I'll get back up a going in a few weeks..... What Im wanting to know, what size of HDDs are the current 9241s coming with and what is the exact model number? I want to source and store one for when this 1TB dies as its a used drive and I am skeptical of the 9241 and them with drive issues. Want to be prepared the next time. Thanks for your help.
Dean
dwest4277 is offline  
post #133 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-06-05, 11:58 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Still only 1TB, if you see another that is exactly the same, grab it now.
Allan B is offline  
post #134 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-09-27, 05:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
If you switch the HD does it have to be formatted a certain way or anything?

Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
calltrex is offline  
post #135 of 150 (permalink) Old 2018-09-27, 09:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 4
i just took a old hard drive out of a old computer i had laying around. It was a bit smaller so wont hold as much. It worked!

when machine first turns on it asks to delete or repair hard drive. after that it worked

it was a 2005 maxtor 250gig drive Model 6L250S0
calltrex is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome