9241 Internal hard drive replacement - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-01, 05:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
One of these days I really will pull a 9241+ apart to see what the Hard Drive is.......
Pinza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-01, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
@ Mr.X ---> I have drives from several 9400's (1 Terabyte Drives) and I have tried to slip them into 9242's and to no success did I myself get it to work. Now would it work in a 9241? That's a good test, mind you I don't have a 9241 to test it in and I am not sure if the same diagnostic features work as the 9242 to complete the install. Anyone have a 9241 to lend or test with? lol

@ Pinza ---> The 9241 has several models of drives inside the ones I have as spares from 9241's are as follows:

Segate Pipeline HD - ST3320310CS (320GB)
Segate Pipeline HD .2 - ST3320311CS (320GB)
Western Digital - WD3200AAJS (320GB)
m3repair is offline  
post #18 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-01, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 137
Yes please Pinza
Mr. X is offline  
 
post #19 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-01, 10:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
That 1tb seagate hd works good
Answers to seagate hd install. Oct 1 2013


Recording time in HD is over 150 hours. From showerx

So far I'm halfway through my first hockey game and no skips.

Again don't forget it's the seagate pipeline series. I hope this helps others.
showerx is offline  
post #20 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-02, 10:03 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 137
1TB seagate pipeline works in the 9241, and it upgrades the recording hours to 155HD hours, sweet jebus, i'm going to try a TB tonight if i can find one i think may work. I have some Seagate Server "ES" series TB drives here. I may try.

Any special tricks to replace this or follow the documented technique for the 9242?
Mr. X is offline  
post #21 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-05, 11:04 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
Smile

@Mr.X -----> It should be the same procedure as the 9242.

UPDATE: The 9242 now accepts 1 Terabyte drives as of V195. I just threw a Seagate Pipeline HD .2 1TB ST31000424CS in my 9242 and it picked it up right away without issue. This was tried by myself a few months ago to no avil as of V194. But we are now able to still have the Best PVR and expand its internal storage.
m3repair is offline  
post #22 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-06, 01:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
does anyone know if only certain model numbers of the pipeline 1TB drives work. My hard drive is starting to fail in my 9241. Don't want to waste funds ordering the wrong one.
Thanks
the_game is offline  
post #23 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 11:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
About that 1TB Seagate PIPELINE HD I installed.

I get over 500 hours of HD video recording.

Freezing and skipping on some hockey games are eliminated or improved but they are still there.

The worst skipping is when you are an hour late into the game and its still recording and you are catching up to real time.

SEAGATE Pipeline HD® 3Gb/s 1TB Hard Drive MODEL: ST1000VM002
showerx is offline  
post #24 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 04:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
I wonder how you get so much record space when the 1tb installed by Bell only gets 150Hrs of HD?
Blackloz is offline  
post #25 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 05:08 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 137
That's a good point, on Seagates website they boast the 4TB drive having the ability to store 480 hours of HD recordings.
Mr. X is offline  
post #26 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 05:58 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,109
Remember that anyone with the new firmware will see double the capacity for the HDDs because of MPEG4 compression. The drive has not changed, just the calculation. The people without the new firmware also have the larger amount of recording capability, but the calculation will be incorrect.

I believe 1 TB doesn't have 500 hours of HD though.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #27 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 06:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 137
yeah, but i have a 320gb in mine (stock) and i get about 50-55 hours of HD. It actually seems like its less though i always find my self with 30 min of HD space left lol.

So to go from 55Hours to 500 that is quite the jump. If its true, i'm ordering a TB right now. if not, I may as well just keep this 320 Pipeline i have as a spare right now.
Mr. X is offline  
post #28 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-07, 07:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply Showerx, That is one of the cheaper ones I found. I will be ordering one right away.
the_game is offline  
post #29 of 150 (permalink) Old 2013-10-09, 07:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I believe the 9400 out of the box shows 500 hours of SD or 150 hours of HD and it has a 1TB drive.
Pinza is offline  
post #30 of 150 (permalink) Old 2014-01-03, 09:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Patch
Posts: 7
Has anybody tried a Pipeline drive larger than 1TB?

I have a 9241 with a dead hdd and the 2TB Pipelines are only $40 more - but would it work. i.e. SEAGATE Pipeline HD® 3Gb/s 2TB Hard Drive MODEL: ST1000VM003


Anyone know? I dont know enough aboot the firmware to know.
Sir_Boagalott is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome