9242: Firmware update V184 (Jan 19, 2010) Please read post 1 for IR Spray Issue - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
9242: Firmware update V184 (Jan 19, 2010) Please read post 1 for IR Spray Issue

It appears the 9242 has received a new firmware update V184.

I noticed it when the Favourite List now is highlighted.

Any other changes?



Edit by 57. Many people are having problems with the PVR acting erratically - channels changing by itself, turning on/off, info/guide coming up, etc.

This is due to changes in the firmware which causes IR interference from other devices (like LCD TVs) to impact the PVR more than before. Read the following post on the problem carefully and thoroughly. It also outlines the many solutions discussed in this thread. Bell are aware of the issue and are working on a solution, however, in the meantime, if you have an LCD TV, using the proper settings will help with the problem (and provide you with better picture quality too). This is not really a new problem, but it has been exacerbated by the new firmware.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=64463



It would be nice if people were to post the other positive or negative changes that came with the new firmware.
.
.



hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Was going through the menu.

Found Self Serve (was that before?), Pressed on the ON DEMAND option and it said loading the interactive application. I pressed CANCEL and the whole thing crashed.

I now have a big black screen and a crashed unit.

EDIT: Wow. Pressed power button on 9242 but would not reset. Had to unplug the unit to get it working again.



hugh is offline  
post #3 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 103
Was it the "Channels on Demand" button you selected? I was able to load that application without problem on my 9242.

If you look under menu 6-1-4 (connectivity), you will see an option for broadband, which allows for ip callouts for pay per view etc assuming you have it plugged into a router.

Nobody makes me bleed my own blood
dc1977 is offline  
 
post #4 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugh View Post
I pressed CANCEL and the whole thing crashed.

I now have a big black screen and a crashed unit.
I have had that happen lots of times (not everytime) with any and everything interactive. Lottery, weather, etc. Pressing cancel makes it crash. been going on for a couple years.
Is there anyway to dis-able interactive completely?

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #5 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
dc1977, it was when I pressed Cancel that it crashed. Can't believe you guys at Bell didn't test what would happen if you pressed Cancel while it was loading!



hugh is offline  
post #6 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:51 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 181
V184

The new software enables the IP connection on the receiver. Customers can now connect a cable from their broadband router to the receiver allowing them to purchase PPV.

Caller ID and Interactive service (iTV) purchases still require a phone line.

The V184 upgrade also will help those 9242 users that had difficulty accessing their external hard drives when they were almost full.

We're slowly rolling out the upgrade to 9242s. All receivers should be upgraded by the end of next week.

I'll keep a closer eye on this thread for a bit to answer any questions you might have about it.

Drewsat
DrewSat is offline  
post #7 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:55 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,927
Quote:
The new software enables the IP connection on the receiver. Customers can now connect a cable from their broadband router to the receiver allowing them to purchase PPV.
Great upgrade. I will plug in my 9242 right away. It's not near a phone line.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #8 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Quote:
6-1-4 (connectivity), you will see an option for broadband, which allows for ip callouts for pay per view etc assuming you have it plugged into a router.
Plugged in an Ethernet Cable and it picked up an IP address. Can't set Receiver Nickname, It says enter nickname but nothing works and you have to cancel out. Why have the option if you can't set it?

Tried the Channels On Demand Application. Seems just like an app to order channels which seems like a waste when you can just call or go online. In addition, the screen is all messed up when it first loads.

I tried the Cancel again when loading and it failed gracefully. I assume they never tested Cancel on the first try suggesting it will fail on the first try and work on subsequent attempts. If so, then its a rookie testing mistake.



hugh is offline  
post #9 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 12:03 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
In summary, I can't find anything noteworthy in this update.

The Channels on Demand seems like a waste of programming time and effort and driven by senior marketing types. I would prefer to see some work being done on Slingbox or Archos connectivity.

I guess the order PPV without the need for a home phone connection is interesting but if folks don't have a phone line to their receiver, what makes you think they are going to have an ethernet connection at their box.

If it fixes some bugs then presumably that benefits some users so that's positive.



hugh is offline  
post #10 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 01:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,235
I guess the IP connectivity is for the folks that have abandoned their land lines altogether. At least they have another option now.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is online now  
post #11 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 04:25 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 690
The conspiracy theorist in me thinks the ethernet connection will also function as a "receiver locator" for Bell, although I guess this would require Bell to have some kind of IP address/geolocation software.
taxtwit is offline  
post #12 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
taxtwit, no conspiracy but to answer your question "yes it would" but I doubt Bell is monitoring to ensure that your IP address correlates to your physical address.

Anybody who is pirating or account splitting is not going to be plugging in their receiver to a phone jack or an ethernet port.



hugh is offline  
post #13 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 04:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Quote:
Is there anyway to dis-able interactive completely?
I locked out all the interactive channels. It works until they add a new one that needs to be locked out.

Quote:
The conspiracy theorist in me thinks the ethernet connection will also function as a "receiver locator" for Bell
The phone line requirement is actually more effective to determine receiver location and has been around for years. The IP will let Bell know who your ISP is though.

Quote:
In summary, I can't find anything noteworthy in this update.
That doesn't surprise me at all. For once, I would like to see an update that fixes all the outstanding bugs without adding more crud that creates new bugs or brings back old ones that were fixed on a previous update.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #14 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 04:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
Drewsat, do you think this update does anything to fix the digital audio dropout problem?
Bell CSR's are telling me to use the analog, but i paid over 500 bucks for a digital sat rcvr, advertised to have Dolby 5.1
Dolby should be on somebodys case, cause he's getting a really bad reputation.....

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #15 of 266 (permalink) Old 2010-01-20, 06:29 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 181
Hugh,

I've tried several times this afternoon to reproduce the crashing you're seeing and can't reproduce it. I'll bring it up to the software team to look into it. They might have better (un)luck. I'm sorry you're receiver's behaving that way.

Taxtwit: I don't think we're part of a large conspiracy to find out where your receiver is but it sounds like an interesting premise for a movie or novel. I would call it "The Net" and have somebody like Sandra Bullock star....Wait a minute....

Tom: Can we chat over PM? I'd like to get more details from you to find out about your set-up so I can help you get this resolved.
DrewSat is offline  
Reply

Tags
9242 , bell tv , firmware , hd pvr

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome