Replacing 9242 Hard Drive Discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-12, 10:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Did you buy this in Hamilton by any chance.?
Pinza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-12, 10:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
May have been...was shipped from London I believe...why? You got my drive? haha

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #18 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-12, 10:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
There was a Guy in Hamilton selling these not that long ago, again at half price, like yours. They were all missing the Hard Drives. I will see if I can locate the story and send you a PM. One buyer, went as far as getting a buddy to contact the Guy and meet up to get a unit, then he came out and demanded his money back. Story came with pictures of the thieves too.
Pinza is offline  
 
post #19 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-12, 10:58 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Wow...that sucks...have asked my reseller to search for either the Seagate ST3500830SCE or WDC WD5000AAJS. Hopefully I can find a match and get this thing goin.

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #20 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-13, 07:48 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,780
The WD won't work if it doesn't have the -57 designation and that version is virtually impossible to find. Go with the Seagate.
peano is offline  
post #21 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-13, 11:48 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Well contacted a supplier I know for IT parts....nobody has the Seagate drives anywhere....does anybody know of ANY size drive that is still made that works in the 9241??

Thanks

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #22 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-14, 12:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Do an internet search for the exact model number. If anyone has it, it will likely show up. I found a cuple of places that has the Seagate drive. One in GB and one in the USA. According to the GB site, the drives are optimized for PVR use so it will be the correct model. The US site was half the price though.
ScaryBob is offline  
post #23 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-14, 12:20 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Yeah ScaryBOB, the website is using the refurb seagates...apparently all the compatible drives on the list were discontinued a year or more ago. I was hoping that DISH/BELL would need to add compatibility for newer comparable drives in new firmware as I assume they will be running out of replacements for their repair center soon.

Guess I will just order the refurb from the US site. Thanks.

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #24 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-14, 12:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Quote:
I assume they will be running out of replacements for their repair center soon.
I expect that Bell and Echostar calculated how many drives they would need and have enough in stock. OTOH, Bell can just buy a newer drive and insert the new model number into the firmware. People have hacked the firmware to accept other models of drives but it gets overwritten when Bell does an update.
ScaryBob is offline  
post #25 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-16, 02:21 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Ordered the recertified seagate from "geek" retailer in US. Arrives tomorrow...so hopefully will have unit back up!

Thx again

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #26 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-16, 09:00 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Ok, Seagate drive arrived.

1. Can anyone take a picture of how it is supposed to install in the drive bay? As there was no original in for me I wasn't sure because there were just 4 plastic black things...temporary install for now.

2. Installed drive, turned on and the record light just flashes a slow red...is this normal?

UPDATE: After about 6 hours the red light stopped flashing. Turned receiver on and all the free programming was gone (haha knew that was gonna happen)...but receiver was working!! But when I pressed PVR said data not available...do you think that is because the receiver isn't activated yet?

I ran the short HD diagnostics...and instead of no hard drive found...test ran and all tests passed. Is that a good indication that the firmware is good with the drive? Phew...almost there!

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3

Last edited by ilyo; 2009-07-17 at 01:10 AM. Reason: Update
ilyo is offline  
post #27 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-17, 10:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
Well I spent all night messing with it. The following keeps happening:

1. Keep getting error 311 - Data not available
2. Sometimes get the drive corrupted need to clean drive

Short and long diagnostics say new drive is perfect. Channels are now back...but for whatever reason the receiver says data not available.

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
post #28 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-17, 02:16 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,780
Do you have a 9242 or 9241?
peano is offline  
post #29 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-17, 02:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
I would first reboot to reinitialize the guide data. You should be able to do a short test recording from one of the promo channels. If that doesn't work, try unplugging for several minutes to reset the hardware. You may need to reformat the hard drive, as discussed here. If that is not possible, try deleting the drive partitions on a PC and reinstalling in the 9242. The 9242 should try to reformat the drive again.
ScaryBob is offline  
post #30 of 192 (permalink) Old 2009-07-18, 09:45 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 369
It is a 9241. I have pretty much done everything but pull the drive out and connect it to a PC. All the tests...resets, formats...onle once did the drive not error out and allow me to test record...but then I turned it off and back on and bam!...data not available error.

Do I need any special software to access and delete partitions?

Sony Bravia |Bell 9241w/1TB EHD | Rogers Home Phone/Extreme Internet | Sirius Radio | XBOX360,PS3
ilyo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome