Replacing 9242 Hard Drive Discussion - Page 13 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #181 of 192 (permalink) Old 2016-09-25, 01:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Success! Picked up the 1TB ST1000VM002 from NCIX. 35 min from unplugging receiver to up and running again. No issues at all. It formatted drive, downloaded guide and was good to go. Thanks guys! NCIX sows 9 in stock in their western warehouse. Told a friends of mine who has a 9242 to just pick one up and put it on the shelf for when his goes. Both mine and his receivers are form 2008, so happy to have gotten 8 years out of the HD.
vaneast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 192 (permalink) Old 2016-11-07, 12:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Smile Thanks for the Instructions

I had the 311 error and freezing problems on my 9242 satellite start a couple months ago. I lived with it for a while - it didn't happen often - and then late one night when unplugging the receiver didn't fix the problem, I made the mistake of phoning Bell. Of course, they were less than helpful. They would only tell me that I had to buy a new machine (this would be the third). I should have searched online first, but even though I was too late to add dish care, all the helpful posts on this forum on how replace the hard drive have fixed the problem and saved me at least $100.

I bought a Seagate Video ST1000VM002 1TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive from Newegg. It came in a couple of days. The satellite was working again, so I waited a couple of weeks to do anything. It was really easy to remove the old drive and the new one fit perfectly into the housing. I plugged it back it in and it took about 10 minutes to set up, without me doing anything. A couple of times I thought it had frozen again. The TV screen was blank and there were no lights or sounds on the receiver. I was patient, and when it finished setting up, everything but my old recordings (which I had archived to an external drive) and my timers were still there.

Thanks so much for the detailed shopping instructions. I really appreciate how strangers on the Internet can offer so much more help than a company I have given thousands of dollars to over the years.
Jdarling is offline  
post #183 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-02-10, 01:17 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 28
Hello All,

Apparently Seagate has replaced the Seagate Pipeline Video ST1000VM002 1TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive with a newer model, the Seagate SkyHawk 1TB Surveillance Hard Drive 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive ST1000VX005.

Curious to know if and when someone tries this new ST1000VX005 drive in a 9242 or similar.

Thanks,

Spidey
spidey is offline  
 
post #184 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-02-24, 11:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
It has been literally eons since I replaced drives in 5100s to make them into 5900s. Back then, it was a pain in the butt to find the proper 4R120L0 Maxtor hard drives as many drives online were 4R120M0 or the like. Then the replacement process required jtagging from my old Win98 box etc etc etc.

Now it looks like I can grab this drive https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...-553-_-Product and just plug it in after clearing the NVRAM? Is this drive on the approved list? The only lists I can find are from 2009.

My circa 2008 9242 is performing flawlessly still to this day but I picked up my cousin's (who switched to Fibe) 9241 which is constantly freezing and boot looping. As I type this, its freezing and reloading the "formatting drive" screen in a lovely loop. Oh, It just came back with a 311 error which means the drive is cooked for sure...

Any advice? Will that drive work in a 9241?
Jerico is offline  
post #185 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-02-25, 12:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 28
Jerico,

According to some members that posted in the 9241 hard drive replacement thread, they had success with the ST1000VM002. I personally don't have any experience with a 9241.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/58-b...acement-8.html

Spidey
spidey is offline  
post #186 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-03-05, 07:42 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
you should have no issues updating to the larger drive provided you clear the NVRAM first before swapping
m3repair is offline  
post #187 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-03-10, 09:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Swapped the drive I bought for my 9241 into the 9242 as 9241 wasnt recognizing it. Was maybe a 15 min total thing plus reboots. All my caps are pristine in my unit which was a replacement for my original back in Feb 2008 (my first one failed DURING the Super Bowl that year). I did have it in a custom cooling cabinet I built.

What is the HD recording capacity of the 9242 out of the box with the MP4 update? I show 117 hours of HD which feels like about what I had but I cant remember.

Conversely, all the usual suspect caps in the 9241 are toast. The 9242 drive wont do anything. Last chance to bring it back to life this weekend as I bought all the caps. This "free" 9241 from my cousin is costing me a lot of time!
Jerico is offline  
post #188 of 192 (permalink) Old 2017-04-02, 01:39 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1
Has anyone swapped out the hd of a 9242 with a Seagate Video ST1000VM002 1TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive? I see that the 3.0Gb/s ST1000VM002's have been successful. Newegg has new ST1000VM002 6.0Gb/s drives available and I was wondering if they can be used for 9242's? My mom's 9242 had died the other day so I'm looking for replacements.

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...-913-_-Product

Thx
UsedtabCaprice9 is offline  
post #189 of 192 (permalink) Old 2018-02-25, 06:29 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
So as of spring 2018, does anybody have any recommended drives that will replace the obsolete Seagate Pipeline Video ST1000VM002 1TB 5900 RPM drive recommended in 2015 as described above?

Thx

This is the replacement from Seagate, anyone tried it yet?

Seagate SkyHawk 1TB Surveillance Hard Drive 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive ST1000VX005

Last edited by kilohertz; 2018-02-25 at 11:43 PM.
kilohertz is offline  
post #190 of 192 (permalink) Old 2018-05-15, 07:23 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
well i just got the vx0005 and did the wipe and format and no dice, get the 024 error unable to access this feature at this time data not available.. tried the wipe and format twice... guess it will be to find an old drive

Last edited by 57; 2018-05-16 at 12:18 AM. Reason: UQR
bigmikeyyg is offline  
post #191 of 192 (permalink) Old 2018-05-15, 08:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,448
North_of_Calgary is online now  
post #192 of 192 (permalink) Old 2019-11-06, 09:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
9242 HD replaced with a maxtor 250 gb. Red lights are off. Format HD. Hdd test short and long both pass. Yet I am still
Getting error 311 and 024. Any suggestions please. I didn’t Erase nvram However.
Devo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome