Bell TV 9241 HD PVR discussion thread - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 16Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-12, 11:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaspr View Post
Hi Senna088...I just checked my system info and my HDCP status is "yes".
Thanks gaspr. Would you mind telling me what make and model is your TV and are you using a 1.3 spec HDMI cable? My TV (Sony W4100) is new and should support HDCP but yet I'm getting negotiation problems with the 9241.
senna088 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 12:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by silcozot View Post
picked up my 9241 today to replace my old HD reciever and am very disappointed with the available outputs.
I just had the same experience. 9241 has no TV2, no HDMI audio and no PIP. It is also still buggy as you will see in other posts. I went back to my 9200.
gall3n is offline  
post #63 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
RJ-45 Network Jack is for...?

Just what is the purpose of the RJ-45 jack on the back of the 9241? Is this on some hidden page of the manual? I'm daydreaming that it'd be for NAS (ha ha ha, man, what a pipedream that'd be) but I just can't seem to find where it says "the RJ-45 jack on the back of the receiver is for..."

Mind you I did just have Lasik eye surgery.... maybe I just keep missing the obvious...
Tuckeye is offline  
 
post #64 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 03:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
It is for "Future Use"......
Pinza is offline  
post #65 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by gall3n View Post
I just had the same experience. 9241 has no TV2, no HDMI audio and no PIP. It is also still buggy as you will see in other posts. I went back to my 9200.
The 9241 DOES have HDMI audio.
Gimli is offline  
post #66 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 06:18 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
Hello, first time post. I received my 9241 Wednesday after following through on the model 6000 replacement program. The installation went fine and everything appears to be working fine so far but I must say I am very disapointed in the SD picture quality of this receiver. The quality isn't close to that of my 6000, it is extremely soft and borders on blurry. I have tried watching SD contenet on all 3 of the cables I am using, component, S-Video and composite. These are the same cables I used with my 6000 and are connected to my system in the same way as my 6000 was.

Have others noticed this? I called Bell and explained my situation, they said what I am seeing is not a fault in the receiver but how the current receivers deal with SD signals and there is nothing that can be done. I am just taken aback that a 7 year old receiver performs head and shoulders above that of the current generation receivers on SD content. The HD channels look practically identical to the 6000 when displaying HD content.

I asked if there was a way to keep my 6000 so I could use it for SD watching (which still is 75% of my viewing) since I purchased it when they first came out from a retail store and have never rented it but they stated it would not be able to receive any signals after the HD switch starting in April. I was under the impression the 6000 would still be able to get SD channels. One option would be to get the current SD receiver but it costs $100 or $3/month but since I have SW21 switches that makes it difficult to feed another line. If I were to split the line wouldn't that weaken the signal to both my 9241 and another receiver? Honestly the fact I have to look into such measures to receive the same quality service I have had for 7 years is ridiculous.

Any suggestions? I know leaving Bell is high on my mind right now.

Thanks,

Rod
BrystonUser is offline  
post #67 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-13, 07:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 16
[QUOTE=senna088;880469]Thanks gaspr. Would you mind telling me what make and model is your TV and are you using a 1.3 spec HDMI cable?

My TV is a KV34HS420 Sony and My HDMI cable is new from Blue Jeans Cables so I assume that it is version 1.3...
gaspr is offline  
post #68 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-15, 12:05 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
One other thing I forgot to mention is that the picture, both HD and SD is noticeably darker than the 6000, has anyone else noticed this and is there some way to adjust this (without increasing the brightness on the tv itself) that I have overlooked?
BrystonUser is offline  
post #69 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-15, 05:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
Double-check that you've set the 6000 to output at the same 720p/1080i setting that the 6000 was using. It could be that it's using a different res and your TV is storing per-res settings (my projector works that way). I can't say I noticed any difference in brightness when I went from the 6000 to the 6141 on 3 different displays.
rosenqui is offline  
post #70 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 08:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
Both the 6000 and the 9241 were/are set to 720p. The 9241 is set to 16:9 which the 6000 did not have (I don't think). It had 2 4:3 options. I tried both the 4:3 options on the 9241 but that didn't make a difference. The brightness drop on the SD channels (and HD for that matter) when watching using S-Video or composite is not as bad, it's the component that is really dark. I will eventually try HDMI, perhaps that will be normal.

My tv, Pioneer Elite PRO-150 does not have a setting like you describe.

Last edited by BrystonUser; 2009-02-16 at 09:56 AM. Reason: bad grammar
BrystonUser is offline  
post #71 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 08:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I have not come across a 9241 where the output is described as "dark". I would suggest a call to bell and have a replacement shipped out.
Pinza is offline  
post #72 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 09:57 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
Are you using component or HDMI for watching HD content?
BrystonUser is offline  
post #73 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 10:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I am only guessing here but when he said;
Quote:
I will eventually try HDMI, perhaps that will be normal.
I think he might be using Component right now........
Pinza is offline  
post #74 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-16, 02:11 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
Yeah that was me that said that

I don't have any HDMI cables right now. I plan on getting a BluRay player this Spring and will pick up some HDMI cables then.
BrystonUser is offline  
post #75 of 2634 (permalink) Old 2009-02-17, 09:08 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 141
I called Bell again last night to inquire about the darker picture as it is really annoying me and I was surprised to get the same answer as the issue with the SD quality. There is nothing wrong with the receiver, the darker picture is indeed normal with these receivers and like the poor SD picture quality there is nothing that can be done about it. They offered $25 off the price of the receiver
BrystonUser is offline  
Reply

Tags
9241 , bell tv , belltv , hdcp , hdmi issue , ppv , pvr , recording

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome