Canadian FTA Channels? - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-20, 09:29 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern Manitoba
Posts: 366
One C-band transponder would be nice, many old C-band dishes are sitting unused on rural and small town settings where OTA doesn't reach. Sell a cheap receiver/dish combo with CA card for their services and no monthly sub charge like in Europe.

Customer responsible for setting up and maintenence... Can't get DBS installers to work on C-band, they would have no clue (would require re-training).

With rublings of CBC dropping their OTA services, there would be no less expensive way to distribute their signals directly to viewers across the country. Even cheaper if FTA, no encription required and more Canadian content.

The DBS providers here would fight this to the death though...

This would be an interesting business model for the commercial broadcasters as well.

SBGH @ 46', 10' C-band, & various home made projects...
Cham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-20, 03:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,123
Some people think that DBS providers should provide free basic TV to areas not served by OTA. The CRTC even made this a requirement for Shaw's acquisition of Global.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #78 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-21, 10:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Shaw Direct actually do that, it is/was called LTSS.

Here is the thread on the subject;

http://digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=143941
Pinza is offline  
 
post #79 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-27, 01:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 957
If CBC shuts down all their OTA stations across Canada, with the money saved could they not lease KU band space to blanket Canada? They could limit it to DVB-S. Lots of cheap used STB available as well as 18" dishes.
Jorgek is offline  
post #80 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-27, 03:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
Sure they could, assuming they could negotiate a suitable deal to meet their needs. When ya consider the cost of satellite time (unknown to me) I am sure it adds up quickly.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #81 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-09-29, 08:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
It depends if content rights would allow them. To date, it is content rights that keep their feeds encrypted.
classicsat is offline  
post #82 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-11-20, 08:20 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Are you finished yet?
dael is offline  
post #83 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-11-20, 08:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,123
Quote:
It depends if content rights would allow them. To date, it is content rights that keep their feeds encrypted.
There is a difference between FTA and freely available. For example, Shaw's LTSS is freely available to qualified people with Shaw Direct equipment, even though the signals are encrypted. The main thing stopping free availability are carriage agreements. If, for example, the CBC made free availability a requirement for carriage by BDUs then anyone with the right equipment should be able to receive the signal free of charge. Considering the signal carriage conditions the CRTC imposes on BDUs and the precedent set by LTSS, I wouldn't be surprised if it was within it's mandate to require this.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #84 of 91 (permalink) Old 2014-11-26, 09:42 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
Most Canadian TV is on satellite 107West (Anik).

CBC news is available on C band. Also, about 10 CTV HD channels from across Canada.

The Weather Network and 2 AMI HD channels also. The rest are French channels.

On the other Anik sat (111West), there is a City-TV channel.

This is enough Canadian TV for me! Lots of excellent American programming on the other satellites.

I recently stopped my Shaw subscription (getting too expensive) and ordered a C band dish.
cbandsat is offline  
post #85 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-01-24, 01:45 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Digby Co. NS
Posts: 117
What size dish do you have cbandsat, I'm curious to hear what your setup is to receive those two satellites.

I am angry that the CBC shut down in St. John. It's a city for crying out loud, they could have converted it to digital, then I would be able to get it over here on OTA in Digby, NS lol.

I'm hoping someday when we get a different government they'll make another raid to provide CBC at least to a few more cities.
jsebean is offline  
post #86 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-02-20, 01:12 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
You need a minimum of 36"(3') for KU band and 7.5' for C-band.

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
post #87 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-02-21, 04:42 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
I am using a 10ft mesh dish and it works reliably across the whole satellite arc. If you just want the Canadian sats, you could probably just use a 7 or 8 footer!
cbandsat is offline  
post #88 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-07-27, 12:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 504
With a 24 inch round Bell dish and a Avenger lnb, I easily get Anik F2 at 111W. If I am correct, TP is 11770 and there is a live_1, live_2 and occ_use_something but I fail to get SCN or City as listed at some sites. Is it gone or just that it's on another TP and my dish is too small or bad timing?
I also have no problem getting 97W. Which other satellites would give me some content with that small dish? I read that some get 30W with a 25 inch dish. Which TP is the strongest on 30W?
Thanks
nezdepain is offline  
post #89 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-07-28, 03:48 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 957
I've been using a round 25" dish to receive 30W for many years now. TP 11885/V/27500 is strong at Q 70 here in Mississauga.

Check with Satbeams.com for the footprint for your location. You may need a different size dish based on your location.

However for reliable reception a min of 33" dish works well for me.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #90 of 91 (permalink) Old 2015-07-29, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 58
nezdepain
CityTV and SLN at 111W are C-Band channels, 11770 is the only Ku-band signal there.

I don't know of anyone successfully using a dish smaller than 36" to get C-band channels.

-GA-

Kosmic SuperQuad 4-bay bowtie (SSW), ch6 dipole (E), RCA preamp and HTPC with HVR-950Q and Kodi. TVFool in Album.
Greenish Apple is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome