Canadian FTA Channels? - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 91 (permalink) Old 2008-12-13, 09:14 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillDekkard View Post
Having Canadian OTA in HD does not keep Canadians from viewing US OTA in HD - It just gives them more choice.
If the choice is a fringe antenna, mast, amp and all those goods, vs a set-top rabbit ear antenna for the same programs basically, most people would choose the latter.

As for having the broadcasters broadcast their locals on satellite for free (not necessarily FTA though), although potentially cheap for the customer, it will cost the broadcasters, as they have to get satellite bandwidth, although working with the existing satellite companies something could get worked out. Anything would have to be universal though, as a TV viewer would have to be able to receive all their locals with one dish and receiver, and the receiver would have to be an "open market" thing.
classicsat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 08:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
canadian channels

I have a 36" dish and a linier lnb and just looking for a couple of networks and a couple of canadian channels on ku band satellites can someone help me out I went to lyngsat but I've been trying but linier is tough to tune unless I need a lnb for c band.
gordie69 is offline  
post #48 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-03-11, 10:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 928
Not much for Canadian content up there, few feeds here and there on c-band but they are 4:2:2. You would be best off with OTA for local stuff and satellite for everything else.

4DTV DSR922 HDD 200 VC 2+ GI2500R VC 2 Pansat 2500a c/ku/dbs feed 10.6ft Clearview mesh AMC-8 to AMC-12 24"Venture.
tdti1 is offline  
 
post #49 of 91 (permalink) Old 2010-03-15, 09:30 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,452
Except for some ethnic channels on G19, some which originate in Canada, there are no Canadian channels FTA on Ku; they are all pay on Bell and Shaw's satellite services.
classicsat is offline  
post #50 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 07:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perotte, Nova Scotia
Posts: 4
With CBC announcing the shutdown of all Analog Transmitters as of July 31, 2012, now might be a good time to campaign for CBC to be offered FTA.
OTAfred is offline  
post #51 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 07:52 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAfred View Post
With CBC announcing the shutdown of all Analog Transmitters as of July 31, 2012, now might be a good time to campaign for CBC to be offered FTA.
Save your energy and just tune in OTA. The digital OTA transmissions are superior to analogue and they are free too just like FTA.

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.
cyberham is offline  
post #52 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 07:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
OTAFred, CBC is available FTA now, no need to campaign. To take full advantage, just install a CBAND dish and get a new digital FTA receiver and your all set with 5 time zones of CBC (and more).

Cyberham, I think he's in rural Nova Scotia with no Digital OTA available.
Prime candidate for a CBAND antenna if ya ask me. Being rural NS, space should not be a problem.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #53 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by majortom View Post
OTAFred, CBC is available FTA now, no need to campaign. To take full advantage, just install a CBAND dish and get a new digital FTA receiver and your all set with 5 time zones of CBC.

Cyberham, I think he's in rural Nova Scotia with no Digital OTA available.
Prime candidate for a CBAND antenna if ya ask me. Being rural NS, space should not be a problem.
tvfool says that OTAFred down the valley can get digital Global and CTV OTA if he has a tower with outdoor antenna. I agree since he is rural, C-band is his best option unlike city folk who normally could not install a big dish.

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.
cyberham is offline  
post #54 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 08:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
I'm going by his post in the OTA Forum's CBC Status Thread...

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #55 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-16, 08:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 928
Ya cbc is free right now hope it stays this way, Canadian's and others in usa and South america have been waiting for this for years, ever since they took off there analog station that use to be free like what... 20 years ago?

4DTV DSR922 HDD 200 VC 2+ GI2500R VC 2 Pansat 2500a c/ku/dbs feed 10.6ft Clearview mesh AMC-8 to AMC-12 24"Venture.
tdti1 is offline  
post #56 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 06:40 PM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Digby Co. NS
Posts: 117
Is CBC still available C Band, some Channel lists I see show it, others don't. I see on LyngSat it's listed, it's why I want an FTA Receiver and decent C Band dish if it's available, anyone pick it up?
jsebean is offline  
post #57 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-26, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
I don't have C-band, but many have talked about receiving CBC HD from the different time zones via Anik F1R. A good reason to get C band.

See this thread for details: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=144572

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.

Last edited by cyberham; 2012-04-27 at 06:32 AM. Reason: Added link to CBC on C-band thread.
cyberham is offline  
post #58 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-04-27, 03:55 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Digby Co. NS
Posts: 117
That's the exact reason why I've been scrounging around for a C Band Dish to pick up Anik F1R and then a motor later to get other satellites, but first, Anik F1R :P. I want to get CBC, and even better, to have it in HD is a plus. I also notice Weather Network is on that, and even though I feel they advertise more then forecast weather that would be nice too :P.
jsebean is offline  
post #59 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-10-23, 09:55 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 31
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickk View Post
I still don't get this argument. why bother setting up a sattilite dish for CBC when you can use a set of rabbit ears to get it?
And just what privleged part of Canada do you live in...........Don't make assumptions that everyone can receive what you do because this is a big country and you obviously live in a very very very small part of it.
dael is offline  
post #60 of 91 (permalink) Old 2012-10-23, 03:02 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by dael View Post
And just what privleged part of Canada do you live in...........Don't make assumptions that everyone can receive what you do because this is a big country and you obviously live in a very very very small part of it.
That was posted back in 2008 by the looks of it, things have changed a lot since then. No digital OTA here so I watch CBC on my BUD.
skild1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome