New Member Free-to-Air Satellite Discussion Thread - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-06-17, 10:36 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 5
The following link from Lyngsat show all the free FTA channels available in US. As many has commented, with a c/ku band system you can pretty much receive all.
http://www.lyngsat.com/freetv/United-States.html
slim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-06-18, 01:33 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 5
Has anyone on ku-band able to receive the 4 Denver major network channels in HD on EchoStar 5? According to Lyngsat, these four are MPEG-4 HD but on the clear. So would one use a PC DVB FTA setup to view these?

KMGH-TV
KCNC-TV
KUSA-TV
KDVR-TV

It's specified as Conus beam. Has anyone in Vancouver area able to receive these signals?
slim is offline  
post #78 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-06-25, 11:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Complete Total Newbie Question

Please bear with me.
I am totally new to FTA satellite.
What I would like is to know exactly what I should buy, what I should do, and anything else to help me set up.

Sorry its such a broad question, but understand I am somewhat clueless.

for what its worth I am in Regina, Saskatchewan
hitanktank is offline  
 
post #79 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-06-26, 02:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by slim View Post
Has anyone on ku-band able to receive the 4 Denver major network channels in HD on EchoStar 5? According to Lyngsat, these four are MPEG-4 HD but on the clear. So would one use a PC DVB FTA setup to view these?

KMGH-TV
KCNC-TV
KUSA-TV
KDVR-TV

It's specified as Conus beam. Has anyone in Vancouver area able to receive these signals?
Even if they are in the clear you’d still need a receiver that can decode Turbo FEC along with the MEPG-4.

I also doubt very much that Dish will leave these channels in the clear for very long. They only do this when the channels are being setup… once they are fully tested and ready to be sold to subscribers they will encrypt them.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #80 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-19, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Question FTA (free to air)

I am planning on setting up a FTA receiver and dish in northern Alberta Canada.I am presently subscribing to STARCHOICE.I was wondering if i can still use the same dish 30" and LNB and if not why not?
nicktherid is offline  
post #81 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-19, 07:49 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
The lnb you can reuse but the dish is a bit too small for FTA, especially given your northern location.
mr weather is offline  
post #82 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 10:23 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
When i mentioned 30" i meant 30 inches and not 30 centimeter.If 30 inches is too small what size would you recommend.
Thanks
nicktherid is offline  
post #83 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 01:10 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
He knew what you meant. Which town are you in?

Most FTA birds don't have strong beam patterns as you go farther northwards so a much bigger dish is sometimes required.



stampeder is offline  
post #84 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicktherid View Post
When i mentioned 30" i meant 30 inches and not 30 centimeter.If 30 inches is too small what size would you recommend.
Thanks
A few buddies (in Ontario) told me a minimum 36" is what they are using, up from 30", which had low signal issues
i hate tv is offline  
post #85 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 09:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
I use a 36" dish for my FTA setup.
mr weather is offline  
post #86 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-21, 12:57 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
I live in Edson,Alberta.
Latitude 533539
Longitude 1162929.

THANX
nicktherid is offline  
post #87 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-21, 11:14 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,307
Since you already have a 30 try it for awhile and see how it works for what you want, if it's still too small you can always upgrade to a 36. Some birds have a good signal where you are because they cover Alaska as well as the lower 48.
HT gearhead is offline  
post #88 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-07-22, 12:19 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Thank you very much.
NICK
nicktherid is offline  
post #89 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-08-13, 10:49 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Hello all

Sorry for the newbish question,
I live in NJ, USA and ive been reading a lot about FTA, but ive been finding a lot of posts from people aquiering sats from my area.
My question is what type of setup would one need in order to get channels from Colombia, South America.

Thanks for the help!

EDIT: in doing some research i found which satellites these channels are on.
Caracol is on: Intelsat 9 at 58.0°W

Hope this helps

Last edited by mayh3m; 2008-08-14 at 01:08 AM.
mayh3m is offline  
post #90 of 601 (permalink) Old 2008-08-14, 08:52 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
Intelsat 9 appears primarily to be a C-band satellite so you'll need at least a 10 foot dish and appropriate hardware to receive those C-band channels that are free-to-air.
mr weather is offline  
Reply

Tags
canada , free , fta , satellite , setup

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome