Cozi/NBC off air? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-18, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 746
Cozi/NBC off air?

Is Cozi/NBC still broadcasting or is there something wrong with my alignment?

TIA

OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-18, 09:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,612
The Ku feed??
It's there, but seems a little weaker than usual here.
Maybe about 2 dB lower SNR than usual.
Usually about 13 dB snr here, closer to 11 dB right now.

Edit: 8PSK at FEC 5/6 will fail at 9.4 dB

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-18, 10:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 962
Receiving COZI but pixalating badly. Q about 50, normal at this end is 70.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-19, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 746
Ok, thanks.

So i may need to move the dish a little.

I guess i can wait til spring.

OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-20, 02:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kincardine ON.
Posts: 4,453
Is it not spring enough now?

Today, quite a bit north of you, it is 3 degrees and calm. I would not hesitate to drag out my stuff to play satellite outdoors.
classicsat is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-20, 11:02 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern Manitoba
Posts: 369
+2 and raining here... but I wouldn't wait till spring either. Been out in -20C setting up antennae. They work way better then the ones set up in the summer time!

SBGH @ 46', 10' C-band, & various home made projects...
Cham is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-22, 07:12 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 962
Today I had solid lock on COZI. Must be the change in the weather?

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-22, 11:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,612
tend to agree.
About 12.5 dB here on the fixed Primestar Antenna now.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 746
The ground looks wet & its cloudy. Looks like it can rain at any time. Plus, im lazy.

I need to move a TV, Fta Box, Cables & etc. It would take an hour of my time. To do everything.

OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 07:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,612
And that is why I like to use PC based satellite tuners.
Being PC based, everything remains in the house except the wrenches...all it takes is a phone to monitor the signal quality remotely as adjustments are made.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-25, 10:33 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 962
Be even nicer if there was an app to use the smart phone as a signal meter.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-25, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kanata
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorgek View Post
Be even nicer if there was an app to use the smart phone as a signal meter.
That's available (or at least, was) for EBSPro. It can continuously speak the C/N (aka S/N) ratio for a given transponder so you have your hands free for adjusting.
DXer is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2017-01-25, 06:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,612
yes, imagine something like this, with full control on your phone's touchscreen via vnc.
This is what I use when fine tuning.

https://bitbucket.org/updatelee/upda...ki/Screenshots

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome