IP based FTA receiver? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By majortom

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2016-12-17, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

Question IP based FTA receiver?

Although my preference is to find IPTV streams, I simply may have no choice but to consider FTAST as well. However I am not interested in the older design of having a TV wired to a receiver. I am interested in having a FTAST receiver with IP based output. I want that IP based output to be ingested by my server running software so that I can stream it to my various devices including smart TVs, cellphones, video game consoles, etc.

Being a complete newbie, I will commit to trying to find a bunch of previously posted good discussion on here, but that just said I am hoping to learn a few things quickly so I can figure out where to start focusing. So here goes:

• I live near Halifax, NS.
  • Looking for a few unencrypted FTA signals to supplement my two OTA I currently have.
  • Would like to mount one stationary dish; not interested in multiple dishes or motorized dishes at this point in time.
  • FTA receiver must have IP output.
  • I have some land but lots of trees so will need to understand at some point in time what my line of sight reality will be.

So can anyone give me any quick points to get me started? What options do I have for really good FTA receivers with IP output? How many clear channels could I get on one satellite from my location? What would those channels be? Can someone provide URLs to lists of satellites that are 'visible' from Halifax, NS? Anyone here in this forum already doing something very similar to what I am asking about? Any other web sites I really should be reading?

Thanks a bunch folks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2016-12-17, 08:10 PM
Rookie