Any decent FTA reusing DirectTV or dish network with dvb-s? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-08-08, 07:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Swanton, VT
Posts: 70
Any decent FTA reusing DirectTV or dish network with dvb-s?

Good evening,

We recently purchased or current house which has both a DirectTV slimline dish and an older dish network dual bird dish along with another one pointing at what I assume is their east coat location in the 60 degree neighborhood. I do have an old dvb-s card. Are there any decent programming available FTA English channels reusing the dishes pointing in their current locations and reusing the current lnb's? If consider getting a dvbs-2 card if that would make a difference.
JayG7800 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-08-08, 07:45 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
No, direct to home providers (DSS providers) use high power satellites using circular polarization allowing them to use small antennas at the consumer's home. FSS providers aren't broadcasting to home users, and use much lower power satellites with linear polarization, requiring completely different antenna designs.

Translation, wrong polarization, and the dishes are way too small!

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-08-08, 11:39 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
Additional previous similar discussions are available using the following link:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/57-f...ml#post2452466

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2016-08-16, 06:53 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern Manitoba
Posts: 366
A 24" dish would marginally get 97W but you would have to replace the LNBF with a linear 10750. Usually need a 30" dish or bigger for FTA... but some are able to get C-band on a 1.2m dish so you never know.

SBGH @ 46', 10' C-band, & various home made projects...
Cham is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome