AZ BOX Canada Support - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-07-01, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
AZ BOX Canada Support

Quote:
Some pics courtesy of AzBox Canada
On the AZBOX Canada website, it lists this forum as a place for support. Is there a AZBOX Canada member who posts here or is just all through Dr. Sat.

Thanks in advance.



hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-07-07, 06:57 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 5,041
Exclamation

I performed a search, but could not find an answer to the OP's question in other threads. As such, the question is valid and the thread has been reopened.

Roof-top mounted Antennas Direct DB8e & C5, Channel Master 7777 preamp, Siemens surge protection. TiVo Roamio DVR
Jase88 is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-07-07, 09:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,991
The question was asked in the other thread.
notsure is offline  
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-11-08, 10:43 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Digby Co. NS
Posts: 117
AZBox Canada is Dr Sat and nobody can tell me otherwise :P. He just pretends it isn't, yet the two sites use the same CMS and everything :P
jsebean is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-11-14, 10:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 747
Hmm

When i was at Dr Sat store in the summer. He had no AZboxes at that time.
Even though i wanted one.

Read ya l8r,
Al

OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-11-14, 10:08 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario
Posts: 5,411
It was probably in the back.
DSgamby is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-11, 09:47 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
I went to his store a few months ago when I was looking for a c-band dish, and all I will say is that he is a weasel of a salesmand and tries to sell you a 6ft steel c-band package for $1250 CAD plus taxes.

Good thing I checked ebay. An 8ft mesh dish is only $200 and 10ft is $400.

He had no azboxes in stock at the time, but was pushing the Azmini...
cbandsat is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-13, 11:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,721
I don't see anything there listed for $1250...
Must not have been a single item.
Yes the hobby can add up over time..
I am not sure I would buy a new antenna at any price when they are so plentiful for free / used.

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-13, 02:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 985
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbandsat View Post
I went to his store a few months ago when I was looking for a c-band dish, and all I will say is that he is a weasel of a salesmand and tries to sell you a 6ft steel c-band package for $1250 CAD plus taxes.

Good thing I checked ebay. An 8ft mesh dish is only $200 and 10ft is $400.

He had no azboxes in stock at the time, but was pushing the Azmini...

Never had that kind of shopping experience at Dr Sat or any of the other sat dealers in the GTA area.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33” dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-13, 03:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I agree Jorgek, apart from not having the box I wanted at the time I called in, I always had a positive shopping experience. Always found him helpful with newbies, in the store too.

I would be curious to know what on earth he was selling for $1250, as it sounds mighty expensive.

Care to elaborate on what you would have got for that money, cbandsat ?
Pinza is offline  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-13, 09:42 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
He was trying to sell me a 6ft c-band package: steel dish, receiver, motor, positioner, LNB, cables and installation.

He kept going on about how I should have installed it in the summer because I missed the World Cup...yadayadayada. Interesting though, he also mentioned an "after-market" product that was coming out that he could get for me. I had no clue what he was talking about and said no to the whole deal.
cbandsat is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 02:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,721
sounds reasonable to me now that we know what was included.
For any industry, if ya take the cost of parts and double it, that is usually pretty close to what a complete job costs to have someone else do it for ya. Everything from Fixing your car, replacing windows, installing a driveway, whatever...
I remember when I first installed my Antenna, I had called around locally just to see what it would cost.
With myself providing all the materials, the labor to install / align my antenna would have been $750. And that was
over 15 years ago...

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 214
To me 1250 with all that gear and installation is a great deal.
frenchhomer is online now  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 2014-12-14, 10:15 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 108
If you can't do the install yourself, then it might be worth it. But remember, he is offering you a 6ft dish which will limit the number of channels receivable.

For $400 I was able to get a 10ft dish off ebay and did the install myself.
cbandsat is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 2015-01-28, 12:03 AM
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Digby Co. NS
Posts: 117
Really? 10ft? I've been having a heck of a time finding a dish larger than the 7ish foot dishes from Dr Sat, I'll have to look on eBay again.

Dr Sat's channel list is not up to date either, anyone know of a good list? Lyngsat? FTA list is Ku only.
jsebean is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome