SES 1 at 101.0W TV Trwam GONE? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 2013-12-30, 02:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
SES 1 at 101.0W TV Trwam GONE?

Has this channel been moved off this satellite? Is anyone who has SES 1 at 101.0 able to pick up this channel? I am trying to pick it up today and I can't even find 101.0 so if this channel isn't even there then I am not going to bother hunting for this signal anymore. Please let me know. Thanks!
m3repair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 2013-12-30, 04:18 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
Read this thread: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=187362

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.
cyberham is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 2013-12-30, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
So your saying all of the channels that where free and clear are now gone from SES 101 as the thread is with regards to the a Dutch channel.
m3repair is offline  
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 2013-12-30, 05:05 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
Only thing left is 11820 H 20000 Pentagon channel. 12120 which had BVN and TRWAM is gone.

TRWAM moved to Galaxy 19 at 97W 12184 H 22000.

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.
cyberham is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 2013-12-30, 08:33 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 746
TVTWAM is on Galaxy 19 (97 W)
Plus, there area few good channels on it as well.

OTA: DB8 + Y5 2-6 + CM777. FTA: 30W + 72W + 87W + 97W
Emerald_Boar is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-01, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
This begs the next question for me, Whats the smallest dish I can use for 97 to pick that channel up? Also do I now need to change out my LNBF?
m3repair is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-01, 06:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,600
The real question is what's the largest dish you are willing to install?

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is online now  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-01, 08:28 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 957
What dish and LNB did you use on 101W will also do for 97W. Otherwise a 31" or 33" dish and linear LNB will work just find.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33 dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-01, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
I was using an older starchoice 24inch dish with stock LNBF without issue for that channel and an old Pansat receiver (dish used is similar the same as the one used) Would this just barely work to get 97 or should I consider something larger at this point.

m3repair is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-02, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 957
I have successfully used a 25" to receive 97w but you may not get all the TPs and you are at the mercy of weather especially rain fade. Also depends on how reliable a signal you want. Give it a try, 97W is quite strong and easy to find.

I am quite happy with the 31" and the Avenger PLL linear LNB.

Right now TVTRWAM is at a solid Q70 and it is lightly snowing and -18C.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33 dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.

Last edited by Jorgek; 2014-01-02 at 11:45 AM. Reason: Update
Jorgek is offline  
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-02, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
Thanks for the Reply, Just to confirm. Do I need to change out my LNBF is was it the same as 101 was? Thanks
m3repair is offline  
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-02, 05:25 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 957
Yup if the LNB worked with 101W it will work with 97W.

OTA, CM4221HD, 3410 amp, 4 way split, HW-150 PVR.
FTA, Openbox S9, 33 dish, PLL LNBF. Stab 90HH.
Jorgek is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-04, 02:04 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brandon MB
Posts: 80
I'm late to the party...
The entire transponder signal which had hosted BVN, TRWAM, etc is gone. It disappeared on Dec 1.
TRWAM moved to Galaxy 19, but BVN did not move because there was already another satellite carrying it for North America (SatMex 6).
SatMex 6 is a terrible satellite to try and receive in the Canadian Prairies, and completely impossible for Alaska and Yukon. Too bad for any Dutch living in those places...
Galaxy 19 is about equally easy to receive as SES-1. As always, 33 inches will provide perfect reception, 24 inches will give trouble in heavy cloud, and will be tougher to aim for stable signal on the weaker transponders. LNBF is identical from SES-1 to G19. just move your dish 4 degrees East, peak elevation, and enjoy!
sparkycivic is offline  
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-04, 02:15 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 858
Being in Brandon, maybe you just thawed? Not good sat dish orientation weather now.

Sony TV, Clearstream [email protected]' high, CM-7777 30 dB preamp in 3-channel universe; 1.2-metre Ku dish 8W to 30W, 87W to 105W.
cyberham is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 2014-01-04, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: GTA (Greater Toronto Area) , ON
Posts: 570
The LNBF that I was using was this one (Posted Picture), Will this be able to get all the transponders I need from 97? Just wanted to confirm before I head to the roof to complete this task.

m3repair is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome